Originally posted by jah_yout
Is "Oyinbo" A Derogatory Word?
Yes blu...you covered all bases...Shared the meaning, provided links pictures in tee shirts the works. The words were judged to be non-derogatory and yet YEARS later we have people trying to make an issue of it.
We went through the same thing with yt but people seem to have dropped that and focused on you. You need fe learn de art a war.
tropi dem even add discussion on addar boards bout itt. dat surprised miiOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostYes blu...you covered all bases...Shared the meaning, provided links pictures in tee shirts the works. The words were judged to be non-derogatory and yet YEARS later we have people trying to make an issue of it.
We went through the same thing with yt but people seem to have dropped that and focused on you. You need fe learn de art a war.
da da deeper qwestian is y dem doan waan fe be cawled white ar white people? y does dat affend dem so?
Really? Send me the links.
Originally posted by blugiant View Posttropi dem even add discussion on addar boards bout itt. dat surprised miiOriginally posted by blugiant View Post
da da deeper qwestian is y dem doan waan fe be cawled white ar white people? y does dat affend dem so?
It has nothing to do with that. It's about feeling that they have the right to:
- dictate terms of interaction at all times
- feel 100% at home and comfortable in their own skins wherever they go in the real or virtual world
It's called White privilege and it's very real.Last edited by Tropicana; 08-13-2013, 05:45 PM.
You have missed the point. Negro wants a color blind society, but only as it pertains to you rules.tropi dem even add discussion on addar boards bout itt. dat surprised mii
And every one of you topics starts with oyinbo or *******...First thing you do is point out race and segregate humans. It seems that you can't get over being born a negro.
If Oyinbo points out this contradiction and hypocrisy, negro claims confusion?
oyinbo use color blind argument fe defend racism. itt good fe chatt bout color blind ann ignore dat racist realitee dat blakk face.Originally posted by lonewolf View PostYou have missed the point. Negro wants a color blind society, but only as it pertains to you rules.
And every one of you topics starts with oyinbo or *******...First thing you do is point out race and segregate humans. It seems that you can't get over being born a negro.
If Oyinbo points out this contradiction and hypocrisy, negro claims confusion?
smart negro like mii doan chatt nunsense bout color blind society mii chatt bout oyinbo da structural racism dat oyinbo must elimate
ar yuh seyinn dat colorblind society ar natt segregated? awl da nunsense bout colorblind society wen blakk ar unemployed at a greater rate dan oyinbo, blakk povertee rate iigha dan oyinbo ann yuh chattinn bout colorblind society
colorblind argument iss nunsense ting wen blakk still livinn inn a racist society
Originally posted by LinSkinny View PostWill racism ever disappear in our lifetimes? Somehow I doubt it.
Arguing that oyimbo isn't derogatory is like arguing 'bout calling a chinaman, missa chin. I look at either term as a label. Can a label feed racism? IMO, yes it can.
yuh kno mii indian friend inn jamaica xxplained y usinn da c-wurd was badd ann mii stapped doinn itt.
still mii doan see da same negative meaninns attached to missa chin. please xxplain to wat wrang widd missa chin label.
label feed racism iff itt used bye da majaritee to defined peeps as da other. do jamaica useage aff missa chin assigned negative traits to asian peeps inn ja?
Blu, what's an oyinbo to do? What can oyinbo do to make the negro plight more tolerable? How can oyinbo improve the lot of the negro? Most negro children cannot compete academically on equal terms with oyinbo children based on testing results. The clearest path out of poverty is acheived academically. What would the negro want oyinbo to do? Negro seem to be unhappy because oyinbos are not doing the right thing for negro. What is the right thing? Oyinbo has thrown money at headstar programs, affirmative action etc and waisted countless millions trying to educate the negro with oyinbo taxpayer education money. Oyinbo handed the education system over to the negro in US cities to educate negro youth, and still the results have been nothing more than a disaster.smart negro like mii doan chatt nunsense bout color blind society mii chatt bout oyinbo da structural racism dat oyinbo must elimate
Oyinbo derive no pleasure from this disaster and failure, but what can oyinbo do about it? Oyinbo can't make negro children study, nor can oyinbo make negro parents make their children study. How can oyinbo get negro children to read, study and eventually prosper? It isn't that oyinbo don't want negro children to do well, but it impossible for oyinbo to achieve the result. There are some problems negro have to solve for themselves.Last edited by lonewolf; 08-15-2013, 12:59 PM.
I've been told that calling someone by their ancestry is no different than calling someone whitey, honky or yankee. To the particular person who is offended by the label, the name calling is offensive, but I think we can agree that not everyone is offended by a label. That is probably why I now consider any label as being possibly offensive, especially in the PC world we live in now. Someone said to me once, what is wrong with sir or maam? I guess we could call that brainwashing too, no?Originally posted by blugiant View Poststill mii doan see da same negative meaninns attached to missa chin. please xxplain to wat wrang widd missa chin label.
That's an interesting question. Remember the story/thread about how missa chin was complaining about increased taxes? Some people felt that due to corruption it was warranted. I agree if it was due to corruption, however, knowing all types of people that worked in their own business, and knowing how the long hours took a toll on them and their family, I have to question people that say it was warranted without knowing the whole story. This is true of anything we hear in the news. That said, we're right back to the label again. We don't know who is going to be offended by a label since not everyone is offended at the time the label is used.label feed racism iff itt used bye da majaritee to defined peeps as da other. do jamaica useage aff missa chin assigned negative traits to asian peeps inn ja?