None ah deh media out fits noticed this.... Javon Francis.....I notice in the papers he is getting props ah yard....But to me he is 18 years old in 5th form he is two years behind....
Hero's Welcome Awaits Francis At Calabar Higs

Corcho
Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter
Just hours after Calabar High schoolboy Javon Francis almost single-handedly motored Jamaica's men's 4x400m quartet to silver with an incredible anchor leg at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, plans were already being put in place to celebrate the outstanding junior athlete when he returns to his Red Hills Road-based institution.
Having received the baton in fifth position, the 18-year-old Francis outran his more experienced competitors to bring his country home last Friday in a season-best time of two minutes, 59.88 seconds.
The gold was won by the United States (2:58.71), with Russia taking bronze in (2:59.90).
"We saw the 4x4 race with Francis anchoring and we are so proud," Calabar's principal, Albert Corcho, said. "So we are on a high now and we can't wait for school to start. We have started planning some activities already for when he comes back to us.
"The administration met this morning (Friday) and there are some ideas, but we first have to bounce it by the board. But definitely, we want to plan a nice activity for him when he comes back home," the principal said.
Things will also be put in place to assist Francis with his academics next school term, as he will be progressing to fifth form.
"We want to get him back in school as he will be going into fifth form the second week into September, so we have to start doing some preparations now to make sure that he does well in terms of the academic subjects."
Motivating others
Achievements such as that of Francis will also be used to motivate the other students at the all-boys' institution.
"What we want to do for September is to use successes like those to say to our young men 'stay in school' and encourage them to work hard not only at athletics, not just at sports, but to couple that with academics as well," Corcho, who took over at the institution at the start of the year, said.
Coinciding with Francis' success, the school received a shipment of athletic training shoes from the Washington DC chapter - Class of 1985, which Corcho believes will go a far way in helping the two-time reigning Boys' Champs to defend their crown.
[email protected]
Hero's Welcome Awaits Francis At Calabar Higs

Corcho
Ryon Jones, Staff Reporter
Just hours after Calabar High schoolboy Javon Francis almost single-handedly motored Jamaica's men's 4x400m quartet to silver with an incredible anchor leg at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, plans were already being put in place to celebrate the outstanding junior athlete when he returns to his Red Hills Road-based institution.
Having received the baton in fifth position, the 18-year-old Francis outran his more experienced competitors to bring his country home last Friday in a season-best time of two minutes, 59.88 seconds.
The gold was won by the United States (2:58.71), with Russia taking bronze in (2:59.90).
"We saw the 4x4 race with Francis anchoring and we are so proud," Calabar's principal, Albert Corcho, said. "So we are on a high now and we can't wait for school to start. We have started planning some activities already for when he comes back to us.
"The administration met this morning (Friday) and there are some ideas, but we first have to bounce it by the board. But definitely, we want to plan a nice activity for him when he comes back home," the principal said.
Things will also be put in place to assist Francis with his academics next school term, as he will be progressing to fifth form.
"We want to get him back in school as he will be going into fifth form the second week into September, so we have to start doing some preparations now to make sure that he does well in terms of the academic subjects."
Motivating others
Achievements such as that of Francis will also be used to motivate the other students at the all-boys' institution.
"What we want to do for September is to use successes like those to say to our young men 'stay in school' and encourage them to work hard not only at athletics, not just at sports, but to couple that with academics as well," Corcho, who took over at the institution at the start of the year, said.
Coinciding with Francis' success, the school received a shipment of athletic training shoes from the Washington DC chapter - Class of 1985, which Corcho believes will go a far way in helping the two-time reigning Boys' Champs to defend their crown.
[email protected]

An elated Javon Francis (left) displays his silver medal won courtesy of his blistering anchor leg performance in the men’s 4X400m relay final inside the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow last Friday. Jamaica’s technical leder Maurice Wilson looks on shortly after the team’s arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday. (PHOTO: KARL MCLARTY)