Gay rights group launches campaign against Queen Ifrica performing in Canada
dem dutty abnarmal peeps a try fe censar awl jamaicans woo bunn fiyah pon dem slackness
da queen ifrica is lovinn maddar
wat shi sed iss dat jamaica shood natt fallaw international tredd ann legalized same sex marriage ann shi urge portia natt fe repeal da anti-sodomy laws
funnee peeps propagandacah shi neva bunn fiyah pon dem duttee abnarmal eyes forgot dem
j-fags neva like itt so dem gittinn dem homophiles international mafia fe targitt da queenLast edited by blugiant; 08-21-2013, 11:49 PM.
Queen Ifrica's Grand Gala performance disappoints JFLAG
In a release this afternoon, JFLAG said it was very disappointed by what it says were anti-gay expressions by reggae singer Queen Ifrica at the Grand Gala yesterday.
During her performance Queen Ifrica urged the Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, who was present, not to repeal Jamaica’s anti-sodomy laws.
While expressing her disagreement with homosexuality, she stressed that Jamaica should not follow international trends in decriminalising homosexual activities and same-sex marriage.
However, JFLAG says the expressions should never have been allowed.
JFLAG says it is surprised at the utterances, especially after the Prime Minister's Independence Day message urging respect for every person so that Jamaicans can feel a sense of belonging in the society.
The group says, Jamaica will not become the place of choice to live and raise families until respect and dignity can be given to all.
The lobby group wants the government to follow the example of reggae and dancehall promoters and their sponsors by requiring artistes to sign contracts prescribing penalties for the use of indecent language, discriminatory rhetoric and the incitement of violence.
bigg chuneOriginally posted by evanovitch View Post
now dem startinn fe ovatand y wii call ar da fiyah muma cah shi strong and intelligent
queen ifrica reallee ovatand da issues ann oww fe address dem
nuff respekk shi reallee cancious dat y mii buy ar cds inn storesLast edited by blugiant; 08-22-2013, 01:51 PM.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postit point to oww blakk canadians ar politically weak ann not respected
wear iss da blakk jamaicans inn canada outrage?
iff dem refuse fe protests dem itt pint acceptinn racism
Look from when I have been
gainst de denial up here....now you getting it?
In response to JFLAG, Queen Ifrica explained that she merely expressed what she had believed in, and that it was unfair for them to make her into a villain
"Like myself, I think they are exercising their right to speak for what they believe in. However, I think it is unfair for them to incriminate me when there is no incrimination there. I simply spoke for what I believed in. They should simply speak from what they believe in but not try to tarnish my character in the process," she said.
"I never caused the beheading of anyone. If I did then there would be a problem. Until a member of the gay community can give birth from their union they should not be abrasive to heterosexuals, because they came from that union," she said.
Executive Director of J-FLAG, Dane Lewis, expressed that the use of the word 'vitriolic' in the release that was made to describe Tony Rebel'ssame sentiments last year was harsh but that the group stood by their comments, noting Queen Ifrica's latest statements as inappropriate and devoid of diplomacy.
Tony Rebel also weighed in on the situation, stating that "Queen Ifrica was not inappropriate nor was it offensive."
"It was not offensive, it was not, it was kindly put together. She could have said it a million different ways. It was very kind," he said.
RECAP
During her Grand Gala performance Queen Ifrica urged the Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, who was present, not to repeal Jamaica’s anti-sodomy laws.
While openly stating her disagreement with homosexuality, she stressed that Jamaica' should not follow international trends in decriminalising homosexual activities and same-sex marriage.
'
I am not seeing anything in what she said that was inciting violence. She expressed her opinion. Are performers no longer permitted to express their opinion.Last edited by Tropicana; 08-25-2013, 02:25 AM.