Safeway - Racial Discrimination in Action
wat mii wood ave dunn iss wait till dem check ann make sure dem canfirm mii check okay. den mii wood putt awl da groceries pon da counter ann ask fi mii check bakk ann go find annadda store
neva figgit wen mii went to wan store gave dem a check ann itt bounced. da owner aff da store was so nice bout itt. mii add to go to da bank ann ask oww mii check bounced since mii paycheck was deposited inna mii account. bank sed bankinn error ann gave mii wan letter pon bank letterhead fe canfirm itt. wen mii show da store owner da letter imm sed mii neva add fe show imm da letter cah imm know fe ears ann knew itt add to be sum mistake. mii supported dat man bizz until im retired
Discrimination in Action
My mom was like the sister-in-law in the video, and like her had a strong opinion and radar for discrimination. She was a kid in the '20's and 30's, and was often mistaken as being white. Once she was an adult, it was obvious how her treatment by co-workers changed once they found out she was not. Even in death, on her death certificate, she was listed as "white". My sister and I know she is turning in her grave; that is the last thing she would have wanted to be.