NY Case puts N-WORD use among blacks on trial
Originally posted by LinSkinny View Posthttp://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories...09-03-13-51-13
I hope this helps to illustrate what I've been saying all along. Labels (no matter what type) in today's society should be carefully considered before use.
context is everything...any word can be anything depending on its context;
in this case it's pretty silly to think that a 'black' person using the word "ni66er" is using it to be racially offensive to a 'black' person....
even though i don't think this or certain other words that are considered offensive to many have any place in the job worldLast edited by jah_yout; 09-03-2013, 08:06 PM.
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postcontext is everything...any word can be anything depending on its context;
Originally posted by jah_youtin this case it's pretty silly to think that a 'black' person using the word "ni66er" is using it to be racially offensive to a 'black' person....
"But 38-year-old Brandi Johnson told jurors that being black didn't make it any less hurtful when Carmona repeatedly targeted her with the slur during a March 2012 tirade about inappropriate workplace attire and unprofessional behavior."
So that goes back to being careful when labels are used, or goes back to an old thread where I talked about terms we used to use in JA. We never know who is going to be offended, no matter the context. That's my point.
according to his lawyer he is a black man of puerto rican descent
Carmona blubbered like a baby in Manhattan federal court yesterday as he tried to defend his use of the N-word during the punitive- damages phase of the case.
“I come from a different time . . . and this showed me that I really have to take stock of that at my age ,” he said, wiping his eyes
Originally posted by Gen View Postaccording to his lawyer he is a black man of puerto rican descent
reminds me of a manager i once had...told her something regarding a black puerto rican lady & she told me you can't be black & puerto rican at the same time....weh shi get dat foolishness from??
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postwhy the eye brown?
reminds me of a manager i once had...told her something regarding a black puerto rican lady & she told me you can't be black & puerto rican at the same time....weh shi get dat foolishness from??
Reminds me of the time I attended a function when some black Americans had just returned from a jazz festival in Havana, Cuba. Hear one of dem, "I never knew there were black people in Cuba." May I just tell you these were some rahtid educated people?
yeah, I could see how you would be one of 3 people on yah that would get that from my raised eyebrows
i am 100% certain the other 2 deh pan meds
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postwhy the eye brown?