I can't find an official definition of "bhutto". Bhutto from my understanding it refers to behaviour that is inappropriate, coarse, vulgar, slack, crude, backward, ignorant etc. all rolled into one.
Thought I would see how the Jamaican media uses it.
I must express my profound disappointment in Mrs Portia Simpson Miller's behaviour recently while watching the 7 o'clock television news on Monday, in response to Mr Golding's comment on the People's National Party's boycott of the CARICOM summit.
I used to look up to Mrs Simpson Miller as an intelligent, decent woman, who knew how to show respect; now I realise she is nothing but a brawling, disrespectful person, who does not know how to conduct herself.
Probably what the PM said upset her, but that gave her no reason to lash at him in that way. When she passes comments related to the PM and his party, I look at the manner in which he answers - maturely.
Beyond words
The way Mrs Simpson Miller responds to him is beyond my words. This type of 'bhutto' behaviour, as we Jamaicans would call it, has been going on for a while and she needs to stop. It's sickening! She is a prominent lady in the country and must strive to set an example for young girls growing up. I am a young girl and I dropped her as my role model a few years back when I saw her on a television ad, ranting, raving and reeling her head like someone of an insane nature. Her mildly profane language is also distasteful. I implore Mrs Simpson Miller to reassess herself and see where she is going wrong, so she can be emulated by the upcoming women of the society.
The Editor, Sir:I must express my profound disappointment in Mrs Portia Simpson Miller's behaviour recently while watching the 7 o'clock television news on Monday, in response to Mr Golding's comment on the People's...
Mi seh dem reparation/freeness looking people like Carolyn Cooper love taak bout people “badmind and grudgeful” yuh si. Like a nuh mainly di badmind an grudgefulness weh a consume dem cause dem fi tink like how dem tink!
Now hear this bhutto, head of the ghetto intellectuals a chat bout the late Motty Perkins grudgeful and badmind because she have formal education from the “intellectual ghetto” aka University of the West Indies (Mona) and him was a college drop out (like Bill Gates of Microsoft and Michael Dell of Dell Computers, I might add)….. KMDT (kiss mi damn teeth). Carolyn Cooper is the reason why people like my father used to proudly boast seh dat him graduate from Coronation Market University….. Because she is the epitome of an EDUCATED FOOL!
With all the education that she has and from what I heard about Motty…. whether or not he was a JLP mouthpiece, Carolyn Cooper could never make a step eena Motty Perkins shoes! She is a damn dutty hearted, hold down har own, wicked *****! Without even hearing what Motty Perkins had to say about her, I 100% concur Motty and Mrs. Motty!
She a boast bout di education that was taught to her in the Queen’s English, the education that has now allowed her to travel the world speaking to people who fully understand the Queen’s language but would have never understood a word if she was speaking to them in patois. However, this daughter of a ***** is advocating for Jamaica’s children to be taught in patois instead of the Queen’s English and to make patois be Jamaica’s national language! Patois which outside of Jamaica would be referred to as a “language barrier”….. SMDH!
Yes, I agree Mrs. Motty, Carolyn Cooper “should do something worthwhile with herself. Go and cook!"
When Black people like Carolyn Cooper who are privileged to have had a formal, higher level education and instead of helping their fellow Black men and women to shine and outshine in the 21st century and beyond, the only ting she cya fine fi help dem wid is to guh start the futile fight of trying to get reparation for the time their ancestors were slaves FIVE HUNDRED YEARS AGO! Yeah man yuh need fi put yuh *** in the kitchen and not your personal kitchen…. yuh need fi put yuh *** eena backra massa kitchen!
Just like Motty, Black people like you, Carolyn Cooper irk me to the core! Imagine in an interconnected world, yes, the one in which we are coexisting, you want to tell me that someone “educated” like you would be advocating that Jamaican children be taught in patois and to make patois be the national language for Jamaica when beyond Jamaica’s shore patois is of no use! SMDH…… Yeah man, your *** needs to be put back in backra’s kitchen!
“And how could I be bright enough to think I'm qualified to be a professor? Only at a ghetto university.”
Damn right! There’s no way I would encourage a student that I know personally to take your class…. Frankly such student would be strongly discouraged from learning the crap you have to teach…. I’d choose a class at Coronation Market over your class at the University of the West Indies (Mona) any day…. KMDT….
“I know I've done 'something worthwhile' with myself for the three decades I've taught literature and popular culture at the University of the West Indies. Just last week, at the last class for the semester on 'Reggae Poetry', I asked students what they had really learnt in the course. One of them said, "I'll never look at reggae the same way." Another said, "I didn't know it was that deep." That's good enough for me. I'll just keep on cooking.”
LMAO! If I were to ask a question like that, yes “what they had really learnt in the course”, answers like “I'll never look at reggae the same way”or “I didn't know it was that deep” would not be acceptable answers for me!!!!! Dem did haffi tell me weh dem learn!!!! Mi nuh tell yuh….. before mi even read dis part a Carolyn Cooper Gleaner article mi did write weh mi write up a tap deh bout strongly discouraging any student to take her class.
Last Wednesday, CVM TV aired an intriguing documentary on the life of Wilmot Perkins. The sinister title of the programme promised high drama: Unmasking 'Motty'. Presumably, Motty had been masquerading all along as everything but himself. The TV programme was, apparently, designed to blow the dead man's cover.I did see a new side of Motty. He was very much a self-made man. The most memorable mental picture from the documentary is the room full of tools for the many trades Motty mastered. According to his widow, Elaine, Motty had a passion for shaping his world with his own hands. He built several houses from scratch, a challenge that would stump his less clever detractors. As it turns out, all of us who agreed to be interviewed for the documentary unmasked ourselves to some degree. Our view of Motty was defined by our own angle of approach. D.K. Duncan was deadly. He pulled no punches. By contrast, P.J. Patterson was rather restrained. Much attacked by Motty, P.J. was, nevertheless, quite gracious in his final judgement of the man. I thought I'd behaved myself. All the same, I ended up in trouble with Mrs Perkins. In response to a question from the presenter, Andrew Canon, about why the University of the West Indies, Mona (UWI), was constantly attacked by Motty, I offered this opinion: "Well, I saw Motty as a man who didn't get a chance to get the formal education that he wanted. And I felt that having dropped out of, ahm, the seminary, and didn't, you know he didn't get the opportunity to go back to university, he 'carried a little feelings' against university-educated people. He used to 'throw word' on the University of the West Indies - the intellectual ghetto. And, you know, you don't want to say is because he didn't come to UWI; but he sounded like a lot of it was just 'bad-mind an grudgeful'." Elaine Perkins was not amused. Staunchly defending her husband's contempt for the intellectual ghetto, this is what she had to say: "Well, if it produced her, it is indeed a ghetto. He's not wrong. You know, why doesn't she go and, you know, do some good work for her country? She should do something worthwhile with herself. Go and cook!" Miss Hottas And there I was thinking I was already cooking! My students in the intellectual ghetto like to call me 'Miss Hottas'. I tell them I can't leave all the hotness to them. I have to keep 'lickle fi miself'. So I just laughed when I heard Elaine Perkins trying to relegate me to the kitchen in a most classist and unfeminist way. But so many people have commented on what they saw as her deliberate rudeness, I felt obliged to become aggrieved. I didn't want to disappoint my defenders who were winding me up. But before getting all hot and bothered, I thought I should ask Mrs Perkins exactly what she meant by cooking. Perhaps, she simply wanted me to have a nice diversion from intellectual work. I called CVM TV and asked the producer of the show, Garfield Burford, to put me in touch with Mrs Perkins. She told him she didn't want to talk to me. And I could write anything I felt like about her. Living with Motty must have its rewards. You learn how not to give a damn. So here's how I deconstructed Mrs Perkins' off-the-cuff remark. The 'ghetto' bit didn't bother me. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, 'ghetto' is an abbreviation of the Italian word 'borghetto', meaning 'the quarter in a city, chiefly in Italy, to which the Jews were restricted'. True, the word implies discrimination. But people who are culturally isolated often turn disadvantage into opportunity. They are forced to become self-reliant and very creative. Last Thursday, as I watched Kevin MacDonald's magical documentary on Bob Marley, I kept thinking of just how many talented people have emerged from Trench Town! That ghetto has certainly been a centre of intellectual ferment. If the University of the West Indies could find a way to recharge and transmit the creative energies of Trench Town in its heyday, we'd definitely be cooking. Flying past my nest Elaine Perkins appears to have unmasked herself by sending me off to the kitchen. Throughout the documentary, she tried to present a pretty image of Motty as a defender of poor people. He was a heroic figure who wanted to see the underprivileged rise up to claim their rightful place in a truly democratic Jamaica. And Mrs Perkins' seemed to share her husband's love of the oppressed. But her dismissive 'go and cook' comment could reasonably be interpreted as a sign of vexation that I had flown past my nest. My branch of work clearly ought to be domestic service. Even so, are helpers not entitled to pass judgement on Motty? And how could I be bright enough to think I'm qualified to be a professor? Only at a ghetto university. For the sake of my supporters, I must defend myself against Mrs Perkins' charge that I'm good for nothing but cooking. By the way, I'm a pretty good cook. The problem I have with cooking is that the fruits of one's labour are so quickly consumed. You cook for half a day and it's all over in a few minutes. I know I've done 'something worthwhile' with myself for the three decades I've taught literature and popular culture at the University of the West Indies. Just last week, at the last class for the semester on 'Reggae Poetry', I asked students what they had really learnt in the course. One of them said, "I'll never look at reggae the same way." Another said, "I didn't know it was that deep." That's good enough for me. I'll just keep on cooking.
Last Wednesday, CVM TV aired an intriguing documentary on the life of Wilmot Perkins. The sinister title of the programme promised high drama: Unmasking 'Motty'. Presumably, Motty had been masquerading all along as everything but himself. The TV programme was, apparently, designed to blow the dead man's cover.
A REX Nettleford speech can be like the first encounter with an exotic dish; highly anticipated though slightly intimidating, with familiar ingredients presented in unexpected ways and mixed with exciting unknowns, utterly delightful and with a long-lasting aftertaste.And even if you are not quite sure it is good while you are having it everybody else who should know seems enthused, so you make the correct sounds and dig in. Afterwards you can never quite remember what the hell you ate, but you do know it was something special. And although you are not sure that the damned thing won't poison you, it was so worth the risk. Somewhere in the 1980s, though, Nettleford served up the exquisitely simple instead of the exotic as he summed up Jamaican's class issues, materialism, flawed self-perception and tendency to confuse a circle with the shortest distance between two points in nine unforgettable words: 'A bhutto in a Benz is still a bhutto'. Those were, of course, the days when a Land Rover was the closest thing to an SUV and the German tri-spoke cum circle insignia was the epitome of having 'arrived'. SLIPPERY CHARACTER Now, a bhutto is a very slippery character to define, but easy to physically identify. It is as someone once told me when they went to Wolmer's Girls' in the late 1980s and they were warned to be wary of the bhuttos. "What is a bhutto?" she asked. "I can't tell you, but I can show you one," was the reply. And so it is even today, when we see bhuttos banging tables on Duke Street and other bhuttos banging brownings who look down on them, when some bhuttos drive flashy cars with the headlights on and other bhuttos buy expensive outfits to hear a Luciano sing at King's House, thinking that they are going to hear 'It's Me Again Jah' and ending up listening to someone called 'Pavarati' and asking other bhuttos what the songs mean. Suffice it to say a bhutto buys an expensive painting and can appreciate only the frame. The Benz may have been joined by other cars as the 'bhuttobile' of choice, but the confusion of wealth with sophistication and the truly finer things of life, which are hardly ever expensive, clutches the steering wheel of an SUV or huge van with the same feverish determination to be 'smaddy'. I find many drivers of this avalanche of large, expensive vehicles on the roads of this supposedly poor country to be generally uncouth and downright nasty in their driving habits. They use this symbol of their arrival in life to show their disdain of less expensive vehicles and their drivers and while it is open season all year round, the drivers of bhuttobiles are really in their element when it rains. EXPENDITURE Then they can speed and splash in gleeful justification of their expenditure, whether it is 99 per cent owned by the bank or not. Of course, this does not apply to all drivers of Such Unnecessary Vehicles (SUVs) and such the like, but when my wife showed me a man in a large one who she had seen come out and examine his vehicle carefully after a collision with a pedal cyclist who was writhing on the ground, it sounded all too familiar. And everything that is said about the vehicles that is not immediately and effusively complimentary is translated by the bhutto into 'dem grudge me'. In fact, no comment is also perceived as a 'grudge', because a true bhutto of whatever complexion always makes themselves believe that someone grudges them their crass materialism and much prefers to create friction than go unnoticed. A bhutto always confuses being annoying with being important, cost with value and size with significance? But you all should know that often with a motor vehicle, the more cubic inches under the hood the shorter the dipstick.
Recently I read an article by Lloyd B. Smith in the Jamaica Observer entitled “Butuism is alive and ugly” and I had to chuckle through every paragraph. He is right….BUTUISM, “which can best be defined as a deliberate distortion or wanton disregard of the true Jamaican culture in order to display and bring out the worst in us”, is really alive and well in Jamaica. Please do not confuse the definition with utter disrespect for those in lower socio-economic circles, because the biggest butus live uptown, more so now than ever before. The general crass behaviour from the streets to the formal dining area is wanting. Each week I have a 3 hour class and in between there is a coffee break where we have 2 sandwiches, one unit of pastry and a refreshing juice drink. Each week I have to bear the 7 men barring the 5 women from being served first, while inhaling 4-5 sandwiches and 3 units of pastry and if we’re not careful, we are left with a teaspoon of drink. Finally I mustered up the courage to speak about this behaviour in the class and how uncouth it looks. To my horror, most said “ah nuh nutten”. These so called educated people see nothing wrong with their actions and behaviour and proclaimed that they don’t eat like that in public…..as if we are not in public. It clearly indicates that “education doesn’t make a man”…..I mean with all the elocution and etiquette seminars that UWI offers on a Thursday, it is clear that none of these people bothered with such courses.Anyway, while Smith has written about “butuish” type behaviour examples, such as stopping in the middle of the road to chat to friends, honking of the horns, the perpetual lateness of Jamaicans (Jamaica time), the inappropriate gesture towards the Duchess of York, Lady Hall being addressed as “honey” and “sweetheart”, he should have been there to experience what I experienced at Carib 5 last night. A friend and I decided to go to an early movie yesterday so that we could get home early and not have to deal with the late night crowd. We paid for our Box Seats and proceeded to same. Before the movie started, a group of young men jumped the rope and seated themselves in the Box Seat section. My friend and I looked at each other and shook our heads. The usher appeared and shone the flashlight right in their faces and said “go back down deh fi mi please”. The problem started with 3 young ladies sitting at the end of our row, who, from the moment they entered were on top of their lungs. Ok….we thought “the movie hasn’t started so they can bellow all they want”……were we in for a surprise. All through the National Anthem these 3 women (not ladies) were laughing and chatting with their feet placed squarely on the back of the chair in front of them. Throughout the entire movie they chatted and even when the volume was extra loud they raised their voices above it, which in my opinion is a great feat since Carib theatre’s sound system is VERY loud. We could hardly hear what the storyline was about. In fact one of them had the audacity to answer her cell phone and speak on top of her lungs in the theatre. When people started giving her the evil eye, she toned down the conversation for a moment and then it was back to competing with the movie sound.
During intermission I went to an usher and asked them to speak to the patrons as it was very disturbing to be sitting a few seats away from them. He indicated that he would come up to speak to them, but alas, he didn’t show. I then turned to one of them (cell phone user) and asked that she and her group tone it down as it was very disturbing. She looked at me and shouted “Who yuh a chat to? Yuh hear mi and mi fren dem a chat?”. I just ignored the imp as she could never be addressing me. She asked her friends if they were chatting and they said “afta dem cyan hear wi. look how di movie loud”. On that note she stood up and said “Go suck yuh mumma! Ah soon sail di juice in a mi han’ and mi bag over inna yuh face”. I just looked at them and laughed to myself. Why am I telling this story? It is because I rarely go to the movies and when I do, it is usually Carib 5 because Sovereign is WORST than this. Now I have every reason never to return. In the past Carib has had problems with patrons and the noise and it has even been documented in the newspaper. Even the gossip columns have hinted to them to do something about this kind of behaviour. But, the truth of the matter is, Mr. Lloyd B. Smith better get used to the fact that it is BUTU time now and they are everywhere. From now on I will await the DVD. Carib 5: your ushers need to be more vigilant! Remember, the woman told me she would have sailed some liquid from her bag into my face because I asked her to tone down the chatter. Well that’s it for me as I leave this type of behaviour to fester and become the norm. I won’t be beating them and even worst: JOINING THEM!
This is the Jamaica Observer article to which she was referring.
Butuism' is alive and ugly Lloyd B Smith Tuesday, April 08, 2008
There is a new class base emerging on Jamaica's socio-economic landscape. It can best be described as the "butuocracy" and there are "butuocrats" to be found just about everywhere, starting, not surprisingly, in Gordon House! Just watch how some of our parliamentarians behave in those hallowed halls. All these people adhere to the principle and practice of "butuism" which can best be defined as a deliberate distortion or wanton disregard of the true Jamaican culture in order to display and bring out the worst in us.
Some years ago, Professor Emeritus of the University of the West Indies, Rex Nettleford, hit the nail on the head when he pointed to what he referred to as the "butu in a Benz", no doubt seeking to highlight a new breed of Jamaicans who by virtue of their material wealth ("bling bling") ostentatiously and rudely foist their anti-social behaviour on the rest of us.
Last week, while driving along a busy thoroughfare in Montego Bay, I had to halt for some minutes while a young man hopped out of his "crissas" in the middle of the road in order to go and talk to a friend. If I had reprimanded him for holding up the traffic in such a crass and selfish manner, he would have abused me in the worst possible way. This is but one of the many examples of "butuism" that are to be found on our roads where numerous "hurry-come-up" motorists flaunt themselves in a most despicable manner.
Another "butu"-type behaviour is the honking of horns the moment the traffic light changes from red to green. It is as if these impatient drivers expect you to take off like a jet the moment the light changes! And as if that is not enough, if you dare to proceed with caution you are cussed out and told to "tek yu warra self" off the road. I once saw an elderly woman almost have a heart attack when the driver of this huge trailer behind her honked his horn so vociferously, she panicked and ran into the back of the vehicle in front of her.
These days, too, protocol is many times not observed in even the most formal of situations. Imagine a Master of Ceremonies referring to the governor general's wife, Lady Hall, as "sweetheart" or "honey" during a function. Then there is that "czar of the west" who put his arm around the Duchess of Cornwall's waist whilst greeting her during the recent royal visit, which sent her security detail into a frenzy. And why have so many of our public officials, including Prime Minister Bruce Golding, bought into the "butu" practice of being "fashionably late"? Former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller was not much better. So much for leading by example. The "soon come" mentality is too much with us.
To put it bluntly, "butuism" is the tyranny of the minority at work, because the majority of Jamaicans are not "butus". The harsh reality, though, is that too many of us have become cowards and so prefer to go with the crowd. Jamaican reggae music has been used outside of Jamaica to inspire, motivate and uplift peoples of the world. In its homeland it is oftentimes used to promote promiscuity, violence, intolerance and bigotry. Isn't it time the true, real Jamaicans stand up and tell the "butus" among us to tek whey dem self"? Red Stripe has now taken a stance. The Broadcasting Commission is struggling to help us define what is decent and prudent, but the popular view, it seems, is that "anything is anything". To hell with standards, to hell with values and attitudes, let mediocrity and poor taste be the order of the day.
Well, this is one Jamaican who will never subscribe to "butuism", even if it costs me my life. Of course, there will be those who will hasten to suggest that "anti-butuists" like myself are really acting in a manner based on class prejudice. Rubbish! There are thousands and thousands of Jamaicans who continue to behave courteously and kindly to everyone they come in contact with, whose mannerisms and cultural practices reflect the true Jamaican spirit. In other words, most of us are civilised, God-fearing, decent, patriotic individuals, but we are being overshadowed by the "butus" who have captured a large section of the media in their bid to create a Jamaica in which anything goes.
Whatever happened to good taste? Whatever happened to chivalry? Whatever happened to having an appreciation for the finer things of life? And one does not have to be rich and famous to acquire these attributes. Lest we forget, "the essence of culture is the consideration for others". The Jamaican culture is one of the richest in the world. That is what attracts the thousands of tourists who come here every year, not just for the sand, sea, sun and other "esses", but to bask in the legendary warmth and hospitality of the Jamaican people. That is our greatest asset. However, must we reserve and preserve this national treasure only for the tourist?
Almost daily, many well-thinking Jamaicans bemoan the massive deterioration in standards and taste, yet these voices remain for the most part like John the Baptist in the wilderness. Regrettably, if not tragically, "butuism" is being passed on to the current younger generations of Jamaicans as the norm. They have been forced to believe that to be bad is good. And if you don't believe me, travel on a minibus with schoolers or get your hands on one of those sex tapes featuring teenage students.
Once again, it must be stressed that it is the responsibility of every concerned Jamaican to stand up against this rampant "butuism". This country is being overrun by too many rats - bureaucrats, technocrats, kleptocrats, fat cats (oops, I mean rats of the two-foot kind) and now "butuocrats"! God help us!
Clothes dont make the bhuttu..... the action made the bhuttu.. when the saintly well dressed manley shook his fist at the gleaner that was Bhuttu... when Ciaga said that Tivoli before Jamaica that was Bhuttu.. when a teacher kick expells a girl for being pregnant... the sexual is not bhuttu... the teacher is bhuttu...
I have two funeral plans:
A cosmic joke in other words!
You know how much time mi waste searching fe official bhuttu and bhutto definitions?
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.