What's up with the "hate-on" for pageants?
I heard a rumour that there was a Miss Jamaica contest in Florida at one point but I don't know anything about it.
Did you know that the winners of Miss Black Ontario and Miss Caribana won a modelling courses at Penny Noble Talent which was at the time the top modelling agency in Toronto. The course was expensive and not all Jamaican parents would have been in a position to afford it so it was a great prize. Penny Noble herself was a judge sometimes. Opened doors for many young ladies. For example, Tonya Lee Williams was with them at one time and I believe Gloria Reuben was too. Tonya had started in modelling and she had done commercials before that with Eleanor Fulcher I believe.
There was a Jamaican born winner names Jennifer Fentum who did very well in modelling after winning the contest but I can't find any information about her. She did not transition to acting. There were others too. The contest opened doors when it was tough for Black women to break into modelling. So did Jennifer Monteith who was a Miss Caribana finalist. Here you go.
There was a time when one would open a catalogue or flyer in Canada and all of the faces would be White. Cindy Reyes (also from Jamaica) organized a campaign to change that....it was hard work. She is married to Hamlin Grange, former CBC reporter and brother of Babsy Grange.
Born in Kingston Jamaica, hailed to Canada in 1964, and what a diverse career this devotee to the Power of Positive Thinking has had.Jennifer Monteith started out in the Fashion Industry and was the first Black model to appear in the Eaton's catalogue in the 60’s.Later, she appeared in other catalogues such as, JC Penny, Sears & Roebuck, King Patters and Bride & Groom Magazine. Jennifer also enjoyed a successful runway career doing Eaton's Young Toronto Shop shows across Canada.Miss Jamaica/Canadian Association - (1st Runner Up – 1969)
Miss Caribana - Finalist
Miss Metro Caravan – Finalist
Jennifer eventually set up her own businesses including an agency to open doors for Black, Asian, East Indian, and Native Canadian in modeling and trade shows. TNot sure what she is doing now. Her husband was some reggae musician...can't remember his name ...Kirk maybe but I believe he was with The Flames. I was not familiar with their music but my ex told me and knew him to speak to. I will ask him the next time I speak to him.
The doors had been closed shut really tight. You would not even see one Black face in a commercial or on TV in Canada. So, pageants did play an important role in giving young ladies access to opportunities.
Did you know that Miss America has a huge scholarship programme and there have been some Black winners..not enough
but it is better than when they were all White:
So what was the harm? I am not seeing it.Last edited by Tropicana; 09-17-2013, 10:45 AM.
I am not sure what is going on with the bathing suit competition these days.
How the swimsuit competition was explained to me was that is is very challenging to walk in eels and wear a swimsuit. It takes a lot of poise and grace to carry it off and gives the judges a chance to assess carriage, posture, fitness, etc. Of course this was when the swimsuits were modest. Today they look like hookers parading for prospective clients at a brothel
but it was not always so.
If they are going to continue in that direction, they may as well get rid of them.
Interesting, the first pageant I competed in, the organizer spoke about bringing it in that year, The previous year, when the winner had gone to Jamaica, she was a guest with Miss Jamaica at an event. When they went swimming, the winner from Canada had some scars on her legs...I guess from playing during childhood. The contestants objected including me all objected and the organizer backed down. One even said there naturally if little girls are going to run up and down and play they may end up with scars.
Maybe I need to start a pageant that is wholesome like pageants used to so that when my granddaughter comes into being she will have a place to compete.
I would not have the bathing suit competition. It would be academics with a certain level of academic performance required to compete, charity work, presentations, fashion show, evening gowns, talent, skill testing questions, scholarships. No weaves
no slutty attire
and the talent would have to be of substance, not just shaking and whining your bottom 
If they are well done, pageants can have a number of benefits especially for Black young ladies. The key is the contestants should not look like Vegas show girls.
It was NEVER like that and I am not sure when it changed.
I admit, I used to love watching pageants growing up but as I got older that changed and now believe it is a waste of $$. Too much emphasis is placed on physical appearance in this society. Scholarships should not be awarded based on looks. What message is that conveying? I think pageants should be banned.
JamBrit...the scholarships were not awarded on looks..it was the total package. A well balanced, wholesome, intelligent, and talented young lady who was also attractive.
I honestly don't know WHAT is going on with some pageants today. For the life of me, I can't figure out when they changed. Wid boobs hanging out, slutty looking gowns with slits up to the waist, weaves dung to dem kimba, skimpy bikinis, lingerie modelling in the Miss Universe
, some of the women look like dem going to lap dancers or hookers convention fi true. 
I don't believe that pageants should be banned. They need to return to what they once were minus the racism and ethnocentrism.

Miss World 1965 and her court.

Miss World 1976...not a boob in sight.
Last edited by Tropicana; 09-17-2013, 02:02 PM.
Nope. I didn't find anything to be out of order about his comment. If he intended it to be out a ordah and it went out over my head, I am sure that he will come and clarify so that mi can ketch im inna one cornah and gi im 2 good...
Even though he flew in here like a bat out of hell as soon as I clicked "Post" I don't think he could be trying to start the pageant wars. After all, the ganja wars are still very much in progress.
He sent out a powerful
the other night
but I ducked just in time. 
Hard to avoid wars with him as we both have SUCH thick heads and strong opinions on SO many topics.
Last edited by Tropicana; 09-17-2013, 03:25 PM.
This is more like it and post 2001 too. Notice you don't have to be skinny to enter either.
The Miss Black Collegiate USA Scholarship Pageant ™ was developed to assist young ladies of African descent with the following:
1. Procurement and maintenance of a healthy self-esteem
2. Always believe in yourself, even when others do not
3. Empower to "stay the course" especially in the face of adversity
4. Have wholesome fun
Miss Black Collegiate USA Queen will receive up to $10,500.00 in gifts and scholarship money; 1st Runner Up will receive up to $2,500.00 in gifts and money.
Not sure what year this is from:
The Miss Black America Pageant was founded in 1968 by J. Morris Anderson, and presented as a national TV Special in 1969 from Madison Square Garden.
From 1968 to 1995, the Miss Black America Pageant has been staged on either a local, state or national level, as well as outside the U.S. in exotic locales as Cancun, Mexico; Jamaica, West Indies; and Barbados, West Indies.
For over 30 years, MBA has been telecasted in every major city in the U.S. Thousands of women have been contestants, numerous corporations have participated as sponsors, and a multitude of film, TV, and recording stars-as well as business, civic, and social leaders- have served as hosts, judges, and award presenters.

. Shame on you for trying to start a