PHOTO: US stop complaining...Jamaica under shut-down since 1962
As I pondered this image below (which is a joke)....I had a serious question in my mind which I can't seem to answer. What are some of the major legislation passed by the Jamaican Government since 1962 that has positively impacted all Jamaican on the island towards growth.
- Bauxite Levy
- Minimum Wage Legislation
- The Status of the Children Act 1976 that got rid of legitimacy vs illegitimacy as legal concepts - IMHO don't stigmatize the children for the sins of the parents
"Children who were born out of wedlock in Jamaica could not inherit property until Michael Manley abolished the illegitimacy law in 1975, so that “no bastard no deh again”.
Also children born out of wedlock did not quality for Parish scholarships no matter how bright and hard working they were.
- Bauxite Levy
- Minimum Wage Legislation
- The Status of the Children Act 1976 that got rid of legitimacy vs illegitimacy as legal concepts - IMHO don't stigmatize the children for the sins of the parents
"Children who were born out of wedlock in Jamaica could not inherit property until Michael Manley abolished the illegitimacy law in 1975, so that “no bastard no deh again”.
Also children born out of wedlock did not quality for Parish scholarships no matter how bright and hard working they were.
couple points that I know will get the reaction it aint true.....and is ancedotal...
After the CEE replaced the parish scholarships ended...CEE came in the 50's or early 60's....The GSAT replaced CEE over 10 years ago... GSAT will be reformed because it was never a selective tool it is an assesment tool... and CEE put less stress on the young to what is assesed....it is still a pass fail system... (I cant beleive I said less stress than the CEE)... There are now more educational support s where kids whos paretn work for goverment and non goverment organisation get financial help which is tragic given that those students whos parents dont work have less chance to get into the tradtional schools and who need more assistance get less...
Education was never free... tuition was, there was a huge difference....I was having this conversation with a guy about the social disconnect of passing the CEE us sons of the soil (as sister p calls us) ... and the real costs of education, the social impact of dealing with sophisticated urbanites, the social displacement, the insecurities that developed ect...The self destructive skills that had to be developed to particiapte, the non formal sytems that what blu calls Mzungu man put in place, bus systems, book buy back systems.. all of what the minister now calls for
When minimum wage came in, the wage of day laborers felll! Because prior it was 10 dollars a day and minimum wage was 7....
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.