the reality that is Jamaica....not the tourist haven we advertise
there was a slow down in murder early this year and late last year but there is now an upturn... There was a summary of teh killing that took place last week and the striking thing was that it was island wide...over the years my complaint has been that Jamaica is a violent place has always been counteracted that there is only pockets of violence....But now violence has spread out across the island and not just in the sink communities...
Alot of this is economic IMHO. i dont propose any solution except that the same christian led morality is no longer applicable and saying we need mre christianity is not the cure. People do anything to acheive material security, that is a driver. How can IMHO the social contract has long changed.. The stealing of electric is a case in point.. Everyone does it buisness country city... And it is not a new phenomena.. I had a conversation with a migrant in London who left Jamaica sixty years ago who told me how he use to do it! the difference is it use to be the remit of the poor. now every one does it...from up town to deepest country....businesses .. Man ah throw up wire literally..
I suggestt that we stop seeing the state as largesse, abucket swill from which we all eat without making a contribution... Maybe re introduce civics as part the curriculum to demonstrate the role of the citizenry and goverment.. there has been too much of a disconnect between government and citzenry. but then there always has been...
this is the point I make... gun men terrorising every where..
We're tackling crime spike
Police assure St Elizabeth Parish Council
BY GARFIELD MYERS Editor-at-Large South/Central Bureau [email protected]
Monday, October 14, 2013
BLACK RIVER, St Elizabeth — The police command in St Elizabeth is assuring residents that it will be moving swiftly to counter a spike in criminal activity in sections of the parish, most notably Santa Cruz.
Deputy Superintendent Lanford Salmon, who directs anti-crime operations in St Elizabeth, told parish councillors at their monthly meeting last Thursday that despite the recent spike, major crimes in the parish, including murders (21) are actually down, compared to the same time last year.
"What is happening is that there are some little pockets, particularly Santa Cruz, where there have been some issues recently (including robberies and shootings)," Salmon said.
BLAKE… some police are lazy, POWELL… some police stations are treated unfairly in terms of the allocation of vehicles & SMITH… brought the hike in crime to the attention of the council in September
According to Salmon, the criminal perpetrators are "known" to the police who will be mounting operations targeting them, despite "challenges with terrain".
Salmon said armed criminals were using the rugged terrain at the base of the Santa Cruz Mountains "as cover".
Over recent days there have been multiple reports of gunmen terrorising bars and households in and around Santa Cruz.
Salmon urged councillors to keep their "ears to the ground" and to report what they know to the police.
Santa Cruz apart, he listed Lacovia and neighbouring districts, Burnt Savannah and Junction as areas of greatest concern.
The police operations chief said the trade in ganja for guns was a major problem. Equally, he said, the flight of hardened criminals from urban centres, including Kingston — as a result of police pressure in those areas -- to quiet rural communities such as are to be found in St Elizabeth was a huge challenge.
He reiterated the need for residents to report to the police the presence of strangers in their midst.
While pledging their support for the police, several councillors spoke out strongly about what they perceived as a lack of proactivity on the part of police personnel in dealing with reports from residents. They also condemned breaches of confidentiality.
Mayor of Black River Everton Fisher (PNP, Balaclava division) cited a personal case where confidentiality was breached and urged the St Elizabeth police to take steps to tighten up in that area. Fisher also questioned what he saw as the failure of the police to take action against "known" drug bases in Santa Cruz.
Councillor Vinceroy Blake (JLP, Lacovia division) told of a personal experience in which he felt the police had failed to act swiftly after his car was broken into and personal items stolen.
Blake said he believed the inadequate response was the result of laziness. In another instance, he said, the police had failed to take action against a known wrongdoer, despite repeated reports.
"You have some lazy policemen," said Blake.
Salmon reminded councillors that the police needed adequate proof before people could be arrested and charged. Further, he said, it was often very difficult to gather the required evidence for cases involving crack and cocaine.
Salmon also challenged councillors not to give up when frustrated in their attempts to assist the police but to find another police source or "call another number".
"Move on to another level," said Salmon. "If you don't trust Lanford Salmon there are other numbers you can call. Work it," he said.
He also reminded councillors that police personnel were products of their environment; and often with many faults.
"We must realise that policemen and women are products of the society, and if a man a 'tief', six months can't change him. But bear that in mind... we can sit or we can talk but we must decide what we want. Whether or not we want this parish to clean up, whether or not we want to attack the criminals, so if you try one number and it don't work, try another one...," he said.
Some councillors, including Layton Smith (PNP, Myersville division), who brought the perceived hike in crime to the attention of the council in September, and Daren Powell (PNP, Malvern division) spoke out strongly about what they felt was an unequal distribution of police vehicles.
They argued that while some police stations were well equipped in terms of mobility, the needs of others were being ignored.
Cetany Holness (JLP, Junction division) told the meeting that he and the residents of his community were actively assisting the police in fighting crime.
"I am not working as a councillor alone; I am working as a justice of the peace," Holness said to laughter and applause.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2hhFHsulb
and the nation reacts as if dem soooo surprised as to wat a clock a strike a yaad
A teenage girl (shown here) who was incarcerated in the Horizon Adult Correctional Centre has given the Jamaica Observer a shocking description of what she said was the real story behind the suicide of 16-year-old Vanessa Wint inside the penal facility in November last year.
The nation was shocked to hear of Wint’s death which caused consternation among civil society and ramped up calls for wards of the state to be housed in facilities that are built to accommodate junior offenders and children deemed to be uncontrollable or in need of care and protection.
Wint was a troubled teen who ran away from home on numerous occasions after being sexually molested by an older male in her community, who threatened to kill her parents if she told the tale.
The teen, who was incarcerated at the time Wint took her own life, told the Observer that despite desperate cries to warders by teenaged girls who occupied the cell block that Wint was about to commit suicide, the warders took no action until it was too late.
“Is long time we was bawling out to them and telling them say Vanessa tie the sheet around her neck and going kill herself. All dem do is answer say is attention Vanessa want,” the teenager told the Observer.
Wint, she said, had been in a fight with another girl earlier that day and was punched in the eye. Before she could retaliate warders broke up the scuffle and the child was left to seethe.
According to the teenager, the girl had punched Wint because Wint made a suggestive call to a male warder earlier that day while she was let out of her cell to do laundry.
“She thump Vanessa in her eye and before Vanessa coulda lick her back dem bruk up the fight. Vanessa swear say she must lick back the girl,” the teenager said.
Correctional officers have long been accused of improper conduct and the teenage witness said a warder later came onto the cell block, prompted both girls to fight again and offered the winner of the fight a bag of candies.
“Him say whoever win the fight get the bag a sweetie. Mi bawl out and ask him if a dat him a go catch the people dem pickney with. Him just look pon me and smile,” she said.
Wint, the teen said, lost the second fight and the victor was presented with the bag of candies.
“Vanessa was my friend. She couldn’t fight, she could only use her foot and the next gal beat her up. She did vex bad,” the teenage witness said.
The loser did not take kindly to the defeat and later in the day when prison officials attempted to lock her in her cell for the night, the child fought them off and refused to go into the 10 x 6-foot cage.
“She hold on to the grille and no care how dem try to put her inside her cell she never budge. They sent for some male warders and they beat her with mop sticks. One of them punch her and cut her pan her hand. A so she go inside the cell,” the teenager said.
Wint’s wound was looked after and she was returned to her cell.
But a bigger drama was about to unfold as the child started telling her fellow wards that she wanted to slit her belly and sleep with her tripe, the teen said.
“She walk pan a small ledge and tie the sheet on a big factory fan. She put it round her neck and say she going kill herself. We beg her hard fi come down but she never business. We start call out to the warder dem that Vanessa going kill herself but them say is attention she want. She stand up pan a bucket and when the bucket turn over we start bawl out louder but them never business,” the teen said.
“When dem do come she dead already. And dem start tell we say she no dead but one man come and say @#** she dead,” the child said.
The teenager told the Observer that even after two male inmates from another section of the adult remand centre came and removed the body, warders were constantly telling them that Vanessa was alive and recuperating in hospital.
“But we see police and INDECOM come and investigate. Is so we know say Vanessa dead. Dem too wicked, ’cause one woman warder come and laugh and say a long time she no like Vanessa. Is pure wickedness go on inside there. The girl kill herself in front of all a we and no care how we did a bawl out to the warder dem nobody pay we any mind,” the child said.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2hiaD05V2
KINGSTON, Jamaica -- Ardenne High School has kick-started a programme to clamp down on members of its student population who loiter in the Half Way Tree Transportation Centre.
School officials, reacting to a story in the Jamaica Observer Sunday that students from several prominent schools including Ardenne were loitering in the centre, this morning placed personnel from the institution in the hub, and deployed the school bus to transport students.
"We have been informed about the problem and we want to ensure students from the school are not involved in that group," said Hyacinth Miller, Vice principal of the school.
Today school officials were seen removing some students from the centre who were late for school.
The vice principal has warned that the school will also be carrying out the removal programme in the afternoons.
Kimmo Matthews
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2hibQLcnx
Originally posted by evanovitch View Posthow do we even begin to help....our island is in crisis...these r the future of the island n this is their reality....how do we stop this insanity?Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Originally posted by Xavier View PostEvan, a very complicated question to answer because there is so many layers to this. Do you start top down (leaders) or bottom up (people). I typically say start with me. I think I have posted an article or video a while back where a gentleman started from the basics. Throw garbage in a trash can and stop paying bribes. Some basic stuff to build on pride and law & order. The hope is that type of effort help with the overall upliftment...
Xavier, just considering where to start is overwhelming....every day it seems we descend into further mire n muck....these children r to the leaders in every sense of that word...how will they behave given their socialization in these , their formative years...it is soooooo sad n disheartening...
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postboth...but they keep electing useless leader-politicians...no chance these guys will bring any progress...but are there real leaders in a country that is not really independent?
You don't support any Government, any political system in the world.
You largely favour the Comrade Party in Jamaica but since their are a manifest failure you cannot defend them.
Therefore there is no political solution for you. By your way of thinking no leader yet unborn can lead Jamaica to a better place. I only mentioned you. But there are many Jamaicans such as yourself. All that is left is to report and comment on the bad news till Selassie I/God/Jehovah comes round again.
I am a PNP supporter, I don't know one Labourite in the flesh, but as bad as Governments have been in Jamaica, for the little time the Labour Party has formed the Government it has done better on crime and the economy.
Originally posted by jah_yout View Postboth...but they keep electing useless leader-politicians...no chance these guys will bring any progress...but are there real leaders in a country that is not really independent?
therein lies the rub...the character of those who rise to leadership coupled wid the stagnant economy...we really not independent in many a way fi real..
You know your kind is just pure hypocrite.
You don't support any Government, any political system in the world.
You largely favour the Comrade Party in Jamaica but since their are a manifest failure you cannot defend them.
Therefore there is no political solution for you.
By your way of thinking no leader yet unborn can lead Jamaica to a better place.
I only mentioned you. But there are many Jamaicans such as yourself. All that is left is to report and comment on the bad news till Selassie I/God/Jehovah comes round again.
I am a PNP supporter, I don't know one Labourite in the flesh, but as bad as Governments have been in Jamaica, for the little time the Labour Party has formed the Government it has done better on crime and the economy.