If you nuh waan mark the event of Remembrance Day and your workplace announces that it is 11 o'clock and for everyone to stand up and observe a moment of silence,what yu do? Do yu conform, stay seated, slip out of the office, hide in the bathroom until it is over LOL! Not judging, just asking!
For those that nuh want to wear a poppy, wha yu do at 11 o'clock?
I have never worked anywhere where everyone is compelled to stand at 11:00. I have been at events and services and also back at school we would stand at 11:00. I would just stand with everyone else. Remaining seated would just draw attention to myself and attract questions about why I didn't stand. The answers would hurt the feelings of those who lost loved ones in the war. Real life is not a discussion board where one has to be constantly pushing their own POV. There is a time and place to "take a stand" and a time and place to respect the feelings of others over and above one's personal opinions.
When I was there, you weren't compelled to stand, but a moment of silence was observed, some would stand, others would sit wid dem hand by dem side. 11am was when lunch stawt and since it is my time mi nah geet tuh anybody else. I got in arguments wid ppl who tell mi seh mi disrespectful bout how these ppl faught for my freedom yada yada an foolishness. At this time I let them know that no one fought for any freedom I have and until the day when we are all on a level playing field when babylon nah pull mi ova fi driving a nice veekle, when ppl don't rush mi anymore when mi cross de threshold a dem store ("can I help u"), when blk student don't have problems seeking housing in a university town like dis, when I can count how much blk ppl did wukk a gm etc, den I may show a likkle respect but until den all yall can eff-off.Originally posted by My Looh View PostIf you nuh waan mark the event of Remembrance Day and your workplace announces that it is 11 o'clock and for everyone to stand up and observe a moment of silence,what yu do? Do yu conform, stay seated, slip out of the office, hide in the bathroom until it is over LOL! Not judging, just asking!
See what I mean Emperah. Time and place. Sensitivity. Suppose one of your co-workers had burst into tears as they lost someone close to them in the way...a sweetheart, a father, a brother. Time and place man.Originally posted by EmperahI got in arguments
It's always about you....why do you have to make everything about you IRL..that is what discussion boards are for.