Originally posted by Wahalla
Crabs in a Barrel: Jealous and on the Attack
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostWill have to come later with answers to the rest of your questions.
How can you compare Soledad O'Brien to Beyonce? Is Soledad dressing like a flippin slut and sticking her batty out in public for people to slap?
Will have to leave this for later but perhaps you can explain why you ...and yes you are one of the chief offenders....hardly ever has anything positive to say about ANY Black person who has succeeded in a mainstream organization?
me ave more respect fe armstrong williams. imm oyinbo benefactors gave imm sum tv stations. imm kno dat imm a blakk sellout ann neva put awn no facade
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostNo wonder we can't progress as a race. Other groups support and encourage each other. All we do is tear each other down.
There was a time when you would hardly see Black people on TV. Certaintly it took a long time to see Black news anchors and TV reporters. One would think that we would be happy for them but no....
Soledad O'Brien for example has done really well. Why can't we be happy for her? Three people have attacked her in the past day. I notice on here hardly anyone has anything to say positive about any Black person who is successful. Any effort that any Black person makes is criticized if they are successful. Now why is that? Are we that petty and jealous? We face enough obstacles in the society at large without also having to face being attacked in our own community,
Glad the folks at the Jamaica Observer aren't so petty
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lifes...#ixzz2kP1vow1E
Good for her.
so yuh tink blakk shood bigg upp sellouts, mzungu playtings
mii sey dem a de crabs dat yuh push down att da bottom aff de barrel ann use dem fe tepp laddars
realitee iss dat blakk peeps ar natt critical enuff dat y sellout, mzungu playting go to da front aff da line
tell mii yuh doan tink da reason y cnn gave such iigh profile iss cah shi cood pass fe oyinbo wild seyinn shi reallee blakk
Originally posted by blugiant View Postdiss mekk mii laff
so yuh tink blakk shood bigg upp sellouts, mzungu playtings
mii sey dem a de crabs dat yuh push down att da bottom aff de barrel ann use dem fe tepp laddars
realitee iss dat blakk peeps ar natt critical enuff dat y sellout, mzungu playting go to da front aff da line
tell mii yuh doan tink da reason y cnn gave such iigh profile iss cah shi cood pass fe oyinbo wild seyinn shi reallee blakk
As for your other point, definitely the media does tend to give preference to light skinned Blacks. That is a whole other issue.
Jamaicans should be the last people to criticize anybody else on that score. See the thread where mi did bun fiyah pon de history of selecting white and near white Miss Jamaicas.
Originally posted by blugiant View Postshi iss a mzungu playting dat livinn inn ar penthouse dat gawn like shi ovatand wat itt iss fe blakk.
cah shi married to oyinbo muss be y shi felt comfartable chattinn to oyinbo bout race inn merikka
see da irony
itt neva bout shade cah sum liter skinned blakk more cancious dan darker skin blakks
Originally posted by blugiant View Posteveree sister aint a sister too.Originally posted by blugiant View Post
yuh saw dat soledad gitt da rite to ar show ann usinn itt fe mekk money
da qwestain iss oww dat benefit blakk peeps?
Are you kidding me? Do you honestly not see the benefit of issues related to Black people being discussed in the mainstream media during prime time?
Last edited by Tropicana; 11-12-2013, 11:43 PM.
Originally posted by Emperah View Postthis is an ignorant statement, but your whole makeup is bout black models, ppl in tv, commercials, movies etc as if that is real life.
Originally posted by Emperah View PostHow long have blk ppl been on tv now and in 2013 if all we do is accept someone because they look like us we are worse than those blk ppl who do offensive things.
Seems you automatically discount ANYONE who work for a mainstream White owned station and brand them as sellout....and blugiant and jah_yout are NO bettah.
This is a tad hypocritical coming from you though you are also a media personality who has a show on a White controlled station. I guess people should just reject you and put you down because of that.
Originally posted by Emperah View PostYou're doing the exact same thing as those who support a blk president who never speaks of the poor, whoo murders ppl overseas, and because he look like us and even in his wrong doing we should be happy and accept it.
Originally posted by Emperah View PostA dis dem teach yuh at church?
Yes just support smaddy caz dem blk and everything will be alright
Originally posted by Emperah View PostAs fi de show pan CNN it look like a jus now yuh seet and if u cyan si de agenda behind it and still celebrate it yuh inna nuff problems more den str8 hair.Last edited by Tropicana; 11-13-2013, 12:07 AM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostYou seem to think that any Black person who works for a white media out let is a a sell-out. How has Soledad O'Brien sold out? I'm not seeing it.
As for your other point, definitely the media does tend to give preference to light skinned Blacks. That is a whole other issue.
Jamaicans should be the last people to criticize anybody else on that score. See the thread where mi did bun fiyah pon de history of selecting white and near white Miss Jamaicas.
What does who she is married to have to do with whether or not she is competent at the job?
Are you kidding me? Do you honestly not see the benefit of issues related to Black people being discussed in the mainstream media during prime time?
mii even ear dem chatt bout sellout media peeps widd no spine so imm dem wukk ann saw da game mii beelieve dem
tell since yuh watch soledad program pon race dat itt neva ave no stereotypikkkal blakks pon itt. da program wass bout appeallinn to oyinbo natt blakks.
garvey chow a latt aff criticism pon lite skin ann oww itt was bout privileges blakks woo felt superior cah dem were closer to oyinbo inn color. so dat y jamaicans can chat cah garvey a national hero
da furst pan afrikkan congress meetinn was organized by blakk man widd oyinbo wife ann delegates force imm fe step aside cah blakk man espousinn pan africcanism wild marry to oyinbo is flawed. itt raise qwestian bout social locateshan fe chatt bout race fram a blakk perspective
no mii doan see da benefit aff wan oyinbo lookinn ooman discussinn race wild claiminn to be blakk