Not going to fall for your usual attempts at derailment and personal attacks Twiney. I asked a perfectly legitimate question and if you can't see that....that is your problem not mine.
Is this taking inclusion too far?
This topic is closed.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostNot going to fall for your usual attempts at derailment and personal attacks Twiney. I asked a perfectly legitimate question and if you can't see that....that is your problem not mine.
Meet “Twitchy” – A Uniquely Inspiring Speaker With Tourette’s
Sunday night, a LinkedIn request from a chap named Stuart Ellis-Myers popped into my inbox.
“Hi Sandy – I just spoke at the Winnipeg Mental Health conference – May I Please Link In with you?
- Stuart Ellis-Myers”
After connecting, he immediately followed up:
“Thanks Sandy
Winnipeg . . . . icy cold brrrrrrr
the conference focus was on suicide
I live with Tourette’s and the buffet table of disorders that comes along with the diagnosis so know the depression driven suicide experience well
The audience were awesome, everyone from parents, practitioners, government . . even a school district leader I shone the light of recognition for attending.
may I send you a YouTube shot from the conference? I just need your real email
mine is
cheers and all the best
would love to speak with you sometime soon
Twitchy”
The first thing that jumped out was that Stuart said he “lived with” Tourette’s rather than “suffered from” it. I loved that.
He signed his note “Twitchy.” I loved that, too.
We “live with” all kinds of stuff. We don’t have “to suffer.”
We all “live with” all kinds of stuff, problems and issues – mental, physical, psychological, emotional, financial, professional, personal – but we don’t necessarily “suffer” from them. I hate that term “suffer from.” Say it often enough and you begin to believe it. Then what?
When you “suffer from” anything, you’re giving into it. “Living with” whatever challenges you, helps you face it and deal with it. It’s a state of mind. An attitude.
But to be honest, I didn’t think much more about Stuart Ellis-Myers a.k.a.”Twitchy” on Sunday night, and the last thing I expected was that phone call “soon.”
Well, guess what!
Yesterday morning, a B.C. area code showed up on my iPhone and there he was – Stuart Ellis-Myers a.k.a. Twitchy himself – excited, enthusiastic, animated, his voice pulsating with so much energy, my iPhone practically shot out of my hand. He sounded like me on one of my really hypomanic days. I felt instantly at ease.
“I twitch all over the place, but I can control it,” Stuart said.
I asked him if he considered Tourette’s a mental illness, and even though it’s mentioned in the DSM (what isn’t these days?) he clarified my quandary. It’s anxiety-based, “more of a neurodevelopmental disorder, like ADD or ADHD,” he said, adding that he did not have the “swearing kind. I twitch all over the place, but I can control it.”
He asked me about my public speaking and I asked him about his. He’s a powerhouse. A former actor, among many other avocations, and on his vibrant website – he’s known as Twitchy, The World’s Only Professional Speaker living with Tourettes Syndrome.
Stuart brings a vast array professional experiences to his keynotes and presentations – engineering, tourism, real estate development, human resources, and information technology specializing in sales, marketing and operational excellence.
Twitchy shows people they already possess everything they need to succeed, even if they believe they cannot succeed.
What really drives him in all his keynotes and presentations at conferences all over the world is helping people, showing them that they already possess everything they need to succeed, even if they believe they cannot succeed.
He knows how to play and “Wow!” an audience, how to perform and connect, inspire and empower.
“Overcoming stress, anxiety, achieving results and inspiring others to do the same,” is Stuart’s gift. He’s passionate because he’s lived it all his life.
He doesn’t take himself or his “disorder” all that seriously. He’s wildly entertaining, theatrical, charming and engaging, but his messages are serious, hard-hitting and geared to rev up his audiences and motivate change.
More: http://blogs.psychcentral.com/coming-out-crazy/2013/04/meet-twitchy-an-inspiring-man-with-tourettes
Shows that any hurdles can be overcome with the right strategies.Last edited by Tropicana; 11-13-2013, 01:08 PM.
tell wi nuh.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOh dear. I just received a notice for a conference and the closing keynote speaker has Tourette's Sydrome. This should be interesting.
My oh my. I wish I knew about this in advance so that I could have asked for a pass to cover it.
Seriously though...isn't this taking inclusiveness just a bit too far?
12-year-old boy with Tourette Syndrome becomes motivational speaker and anti-bullying activist
Overcoming the odds: 12-year-old Jaylen Arnold was bullied for the uncontrollable tics he experiences from Tourette Syndrome but now he is an activist against bullying
A 12-year-old boy from Lakeland, Florida with Tourette Syndrome has been the target of bullies at school for the uncontrollable tics he experiences due to his condition. But now, Jaylen Arnold is an anti-bullying activist and has started a foundation to speak to kids across the U.S. about overcoming adversity.
With wristbands that declare 'Bullying No Way!' this youngster is on a mission to end the vicious teasing and taunting rampant in schools.
Arnold began demonstrating symptoms of Tourette at the the age of two.
'The diagnosis came at age 3. The OCD followed by age 4 and the Aspergers was diagnosed at age 8. I am what some might refer to as 'an alphabet kid,'
He describes that his condition means that he experiences 'vocal and motor 'tics'. They interrupt my daily living and are quite troubling.'
The charismatic youth mainly attended private schools, where his teachers and classmates accepted him and understood his condition.
But when he started attending public school, taunting from his classmates began. Under the stress of the ridicule, Arnold's disorders started to become worse.
The stress was so intense that his tics started to become violent and he started to bruise from uncontrollable movements.
His doctors said he needed to leave school and he spent time at home to get the tics under control.
He is now back at his old school and thriving and now he is traveling around the country to show other kids that they too can overcome whatever adversity they are facing.
He has started a foundation, Jaylens Challenge, and hosts events to encourage young people to accept their classmates despite their differences.
He also has a yellow and blue wristband that declares, 'Bullying No Way!' and encourages kids to take that message to heart.
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...#ixzz2kXwyAgKI
Last edited by Tropicana; 11-13-2013, 01:17 PM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostThere we have it. Inspiration from 3 individuals who have overcome incredible odds. So clearly, inclusion can never be taken too far and the experiences of people with physical challenges can be a great inspiration to all of us.
i watched one UTube video about tourettes camp. these were english kids and the only tic they really had was to scream out "nig*er".
I did not change my mind...I posed a question, presented material that was relevant to it and answered it. We could have really had a productive discussion if people had not (as usual) been so intent on attacking me no matter what topic I start.
Anyway, there you have it. 3 inspirational stories. If even one person finds them inspirational my goal has been achieved.Last edited by Tropicana; 11-13-2013, 01:40 PM.
Originally posted by CeaBee View PostAs RichD always tell us "is not what u say is how"
The way your post started off like you were making of people with Tourette's is why it end up like that.
Anyway, I do hope some people find the videos and articles inspiring.
Mi gawn and yes I will be hearing the speaker this afternoon.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostShould teach onoo not to jump to conclusions...but I know it won't.
Anyway, I do hope some people find the videos and articles inspiring.
Mi gawn and yes I will be hearing the speaker this afternoon.
and maybe you would lear.....oh never mind..i know u won't
I am leaving soon also. going to target.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOh dear. I just received a notice for a conference and the closing keynote speaker has Tourette's Sydrome. This should be interesting.
My oh my. I wish I knew about this in advance so that I could have asked for a pass to cover it.
Seriously though...isn't this taking inclusiveness just a bit too far?
What a way you come full circle once u get call out eh? ai sah
Wi ketch a sale pon padlock so ago use one fi dis thread nowIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.