White editor poses on 'naked black woman' chair
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/20/dasha-zhukova-black-woman-chair-buro-247-editorial_n_4633544.html
Says it all doesnt it?
How's this for a happy MLK Day?
The online magazine Buro 247 has published a story about Dasha Zhukova, the Russian editor-in-chief of Garage magazine, which shows the editrix perched atop a chair designed to look like a half-naked black woman. Ugh.
Note: the image has since been cropped on the website to only show Zhukova and not the chair. We have reached out to Miroslava Duma the editor of Buro 247 for comment.

Claire Sulmers, the editor of FashionBombDaily.com, alerted us to the unfortunate feature and calls the image an example of "white dominance and superiority, articulated in a seemingly serene yet overtly degrading way."
We couldn't agree more. Although the chair also comes in "white woman," we can't help but be filled with anger and frustration over the onslaught of negative imagery, constant disregard and unabashed bigotry that continues to plague the fashion industry. From Bethann Hardison's crusade to end racism on the runway to ourattempt to educate society over and over and over again about the nonsense that is Blackface -- the stories of racially insensitive absurdity are never ending.
Sulmers goes on to point out that the chair appears to be inspired by a collection designed by British pop artist Allen Jones in 1969. Yet this specific use of a black woman's figure strikes a deeper cord. "The art and fashion industries are the few bastions of society where blatant racism and ignorance are given the greenlight in the name of creativity," Sulmers writes.
Well it certainly seems that way, and this Buro 247 editorial is just another layer of icing on the cake.
And here are just a few of the outraged messages regarding the article we found via Twitter:
pics of the chair in 'white woman' are located here
http://fashionbombdaily.com/2014/01/20/russian-socialite-garage-magazine-editor-in-chief-dasha-zhukova-sits-black-woman-chair-buro-247-interview/If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Of all the white people who must have see that picture before it was published/posted, hell, even the dozens who must have been present when the picture was taken, not one of them had the sense and sensibility to say "We might want to re-think this one." Their stupidity never ceases to amaze me.
Originally posted by Blackstar* View PostOf all the white people who must have see that picture before it was published/posted, hell, even the dozens who must have been present when the picture was taken, not one of them had the sense and sensibility to say "We might want to re-think this one." Their stupidity never ceases to amaze me.
They thought it was absolutely fabulous and would generate traffic to their web pages..
oyinbo oomen settinn pon blakk oomen a feminist ting
shood reallee chatt bout racism inn da fashion industree?
blakk brazillian models add a topless protest ann sum blakk model waan fe boycot inn merikka
neva figgit oww sojouner addressed oyinbo oomen
Sojourner Truth (1797-1883): Ain't I A Woman?
Delivered 1851
Women's Rights Convention, Akron, Ohio
Well, children, where there is so much racket there must be something out of kilter. I think that 'twixt the negroes of the South and the women at the North, all talking about rights, the white men will be in a fix pretty soon. But what's all this here talking about?
That man over there says that women need to be helped into carriages, and lifted over ditches, and to have the best place everywhere. Nobody ever helps me into carriages, or over mud-puddles, or gives me any best place! And ain't I a woman? Look at me! Look at my arm! I have ploughed and planted, and gathered into barns, and no man could head me! And ain't I a woman? I could work as much and eat as much as a man - when I could get it - and bear the lash as well! And ain't I a woman? I have borne thirteen children, and seen most all sold off to slavery, and when I cried out with my mother's grief, none but Jesus heard me! And ain't I a woman?
Then they talk about this thing in the head; what's this they call it? [member of audience whispers, "intellect"] That's it, honey. What's that got to do with women's rights or negroes' rights? If my cup won't hold but a pint, and yours holds a quart, wouldn't you be mean not to let me have my little half measure full?
Then that little man in black there, he says women can't have as much rights as men, 'cause Christ wasn't a woman! Where did your Christ come from? Where did your Christ come from? From God and a woman! Man had nothing to do with Him.
If the first woman God ever made was strong enough to turn the world upside down all alone, these women together ought to be able to turn it back , and get it right side up again! And now they is asking to do it, the men better let them.
Obliged to you for hearing me, and now old Sojourner ain't got nothing more to say.