Re: Best "Suspense" writers
A Dangerous Road (A Smokey Dalton Novel) (Paperback)
by Kris Nelscott
this is his first book which won the mystery award..he has several others in the same vein....ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS READ...
this first one is set in Memphis during the assassination of MLK who is a childhood friend of the main character....the book is sooooooooooooooooo engrossing because it delves with black history sort of ...i.e. the scenarios etc r contemporary
i just discovered this author and have alllllll his books on my living room floor as i am reading them one after the other
First off: Isn't Kris Nelscott a 'she'? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Ok, mi finally done. I picked up this book on the 3rd of August and it took me almost a month to complete... bloody hell...
I had difficulty maintaining an interest - at first. My interest was peaked early on (by the play) but ebbed rapidly after that. And so I put it down and would read maybe a paragraph or two before bed...
Somewhere around the middle of the book it started to come alive again - thankfully - and then the ending came at me like a freight train! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/ooo.gif[/img]
And I have to say, because of the ending (maybe the last 50 pages or so), my faith was reborn in your recommendations [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] and I would purchase another of her books with this Dalton character as the main protagonist... ( and also if the storyline with Laura gets some pagetime...)
Pity Nelscott couldn't or didn't use the same energy throughout...
btw, dat deh book deh nuh fit eena de 'suspense' category.
A Dangerous Road (A Smokey Dalton Novel) (Paperback)
by Kris Nelscott
this is his first book which won the mystery award..he has several others in the same vein....ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS READ...
this first one is set in Memphis during the assassination of MLK who is a childhood friend of the main character....the book is sooooooooooooooooo engrossing because it delves with black history sort of ...i.e. the scenarios etc r contemporary
i just discovered this author and have alllllll his books on my living room floor as i am reading them one after the other
First off: Isn't Kris Nelscott a 'she'? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Ok, mi finally done. I picked up this book on the 3rd of August and it took me almost a month to complete... bloody hell...
I had difficulty maintaining an interest - at first. My interest was peaked early on (by the play) but ebbed rapidly after that. And so I put it down and would read maybe a paragraph or two before bed...
Somewhere around the middle of the book it started to come alive again - thankfully - and then the ending came at me like a freight train! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/ooo.gif[/img]
And I have to say, because of the ending (maybe the last 50 pages or so), my faith was reborn in your recommendations [img]/forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif[/img] and I would purchase another of her books with this Dalton character as the main protagonist... ( and also if the storyline with Laura gets some pagetime...)
Pity Nelscott couldn't or didn't use the same energy throughout...
btw, dat deh book deh nuh fit eena de 'suspense' category.