i've been known to put silk plants outside in the flower beds and change them seasonally
sevs...honey, sweetheart, cupcake .... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img] You not in New York anymore... this is Florida now.....
you gotta adapt baby!! No need for silk flowers, in your new climate you can grow buckets and scads of REAL fresh flowers so easily - even if you just get one a them 'roll out mats' with the seeds already in them. gettem at Home Depot, just cut to the size you want, lay it down, and water it and BOOM! --loads of riotous color wiht almost no fussing. Then you can cut bunches, place them all around the house to spark it up with fresh color & fragrance.
My color palette is pretty much the same as yours, all dark woods and African art (except for my 'tropical blues' bedroom)
My accent colors against the browns are burgundy (a bright-ish shade, not too dark, but not bright reddish needa), with some bronze and gold bits - like in picture frames, the tie-backs for the curtains.... hints of gold thread in curtains, and that same sage-y green (which i LOVE). I use rich fabrics like burgundy silk for the curtain swags, with cream-colored sheers underneath so it's only a likkle bit of the dark silk as a 'frame' for the bright sheers, which lets nuff light in. Tie-backs are these cool strips of beads i got at the fabric store; they're actually meant to be used as clothing trim, but they are so cool and work great as tie backs - black teardrop beads, alternating with burgundy & amber-colored rounds, and tiny likkle gold beads in between; sofa-pillows are burgundy velvet. I use just a hint of the fancy stuff, not too much otherwise yuh feel like it's granmom's house. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] The little bits of burgundy, bronze, & gold REALLY freshens up the dark palette, wihtout making it look too 'precious' (ugh, gag!) -- and also really picks up that dark red in the African masks. Plus it makes me feel like i'm living in a Queen's castle!
And yu know what else seveen - we really MUST meet. i think me and you will get on so well, I really really do. Shoots, the stuff we both have in our houses looks nearly the same!
LadyZ my favorite color is blue too, ALL kinds a blue, my gentleman friend AND my boss's favorite too - & we all Gemini babies. Must have somethin fi do with our hearts being so close to the sea...... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
i've been known to put silk plants outside in the flower beds and change them seasonally
sevs...honey, sweetheart, cupcake .... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img] You not in New York anymore... this is Florida now.....
you gotta adapt baby!! No need for silk flowers, in your new climate you can grow buckets and scads of REAL fresh flowers so easily - even if you just get one a them 'roll out mats' with the seeds already in them. gettem at Home Depot, just cut to the size you want, lay it down, and water it and BOOM! --loads of riotous color wiht almost no fussing. Then you can cut bunches, place them all around the house to spark it up with fresh color & fragrance.
My color palette is pretty much the same as yours, all dark woods and African art (except for my 'tropical blues' bedroom)
My accent colors against the browns are burgundy (a bright-ish shade, not too dark, but not bright reddish needa), with some bronze and gold bits - like in picture frames, the tie-backs for the curtains.... hints of gold thread in curtains, and that same sage-y green (which i LOVE). I use rich fabrics like burgundy silk for the curtain swags, with cream-colored sheers underneath so it's only a likkle bit of the dark silk as a 'frame' for the bright sheers, which lets nuff light in. Tie-backs are these cool strips of beads i got at the fabric store; they're actually meant to be used as clothing trim, but they are so cool and work great as tie backs - black teardrop beads, alternating with burgundy & amber-colored rounds, and tiny likkle gold beads in between; sofa-pillows are burgundy velvet. I use just a hint of the fancy stuff, not too much otherwise yuh feel like it's granmom's house. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] The little bits of burgundy, bronze, & gold REALLY freshens up the dark palette, wihtout making it look too 'precious' (ugh, gag!) -- and also really picks up that dark red in the African masks. Plus it makes me feel like i'm living in a Queen's castle!
And yu know what else seveen - we really MUST meet. i think me and you will get on so well, I really really do. Shoots, the stuff we both have in our houses looks nearly the same!
LadyZ my favorite color is blue too, ALL kinds a blue, my gentleman friend AND my boss's favorite too - & we all Gemini babies. Must have somethin fi do with our hearts being so close to the sea...... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
we may have been separated at birth [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
i'll be "home" December 23 for 2 weeks
when will you be there again
oh and i have the gold going in my bedroom [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
"separated at birth" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] BOAL!
don't know when next ima be anywhere near lovely Jamaica [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
then again i usually don't have advance plans, so i may just 'up and go' when i'm able.
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] One never knows.... does one - ! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.