I am hoping they will be fine but there is something in me that can honestly say to you I don't feel good about how this went down.
I don't agree with how dad handled the situation by blaming you ..but I can see that he is angry and wanted his daughter to be in a diff situation before entering marriage. The same feeling you have quite frankly. I would have wished for your daughter to be getting married in a situation where both parents have her blessing... both parents were there to support her... and her solidifying her independence with her education ..
It's not my child and following this story, I wanted so much more for her. But what's done is done. The circumstance is what it is. I will try to do what I am about to tell you do to do and that's - <span style="font-style: italic">Keep the faith</span>!
Aye sah. MG as a woman that has never followed a "traditional path", I will say that what I appreciated most about my father and mother is that they simply allowed me to be. Now that I am a mother, I have come to understand the enormity of that gift.
As parents we see and understand so much more than our kids. At the same time, I believe that kids are here to teach us as well. I understand what you wanted for your daughter, but feel comfort in the fact that you have given her the best. <span style="font-weight: bold">That best is you</span>. Now the trick is to allow that gift to grow. We can pray that the mistakes she will make are minimized. We can pray that when she makes them that the gift you have given her will allow her to pick up and learn from them. In no way am I saying that this union is a mistake, I am just saying that the lessons to be learned from this are to come.
We each have our own paths to lead...your daughter must now lead her own.
I wish her (and you) all the best in this new facet of her journey.
(((MG))) Mi very late but mi feel yuh. Having the opportunity to hang around you and your girls a few times, without a doubt, you raised them well. My prayer is that this marriage that will be extra-ordinary. Hugs to you and her.
As parents we see and understand so much more than our kids. At the same time, I believe that kids are here to teach us as well. I understand what you wanted for your daughter, but feel comfort in the fact that you have given her the best. <span style="font-weight: bold">That best is you</span>. Now the trick is to allow that gift to grow. We can pray that the mistakes she will make are minimized. We can pray that when she makes them that the gift you have given her will allow her to pick up and learn from them. In no way am I saying that this union is a mistake, I am just saying that the lessons to be learned from this are to come.
We each have our own paths to lead...your daughter must now lead her own.
Your daughter is lovely - really great cheekbones. Her hubby is handsome too.
I believe in commitment, but I also believe in baling out when you make a mistake. I'm not sure what "don't ask" means, but it is better to leave earlier than later.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.