<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz_Obama</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What other types of food do you just LOVE (apart from Jamaican)
do you know how to make any of them?
Do you prefer any of them over Jamaican food? if yes why?
share recipes if you have. </div></div>
I good southern food (soul food) collard greens an cornbread an NYD noh reach mi an mi noh mek mi pot a blackeyed peas wid ham hock fi bring mi good luck fi di year
Mi like di white people dem chicken an dumplin but di one time mi did try mek it di dumplin dem did melt weh
Mi can mek shepherds pie to but fimmi taste waaaay better than dese Canadians
Love Thai, food from Louisiana (sp)Portugal and Spain food southern soul food especially fry chicken and biscuits made with butter milk (food a bit salty though)- missed former MIL's cooking - she was from Georgia.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz_Obama</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What other types of food do you just LOVE (apart from Jamaican)
I good southern food (soul food) collard greens an cornbread an NYD noh reach mi an mi noh mek mi pot a blackeyed peas wid ham hock fi bring mi good luck fi di year
Mi like di white people dem chicken an dumplin but di one time mi did try mek it di dumplin dem did melt weh
Irish Stew
true ting bout the dumplins tanyer, mi granmere dumplin dem used to so soft and gummy no likkle grip but hey nevva know no different. now when I make dumplin the jamaican way the relatives and friends say stormmey.....
what are these
me: dumplin
dem: really dem so hard.....brite
bwile dumpling suppose to be firm doant.
Jamaicans knead the dumplin, Canadians use a spoon to mix and spoon it into the water when it is still really puke puke looking. So as a result it is very soft nothing really to bite into.
Soon come with a good recipe Jazzie me working an iglin same time on here
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Love Thai, food from Louisiana (sp)Portugal and Spain food southern soul food especially fry chicken and biscuits made with butter milk (food a bit salty though)- missed former MIL's cooking - she was from Georgia. </div></div>
Lawd mi goh a wan bizniz lunch/tour last week at dis restaurant an mi si "southern fried chicken with grits" pan di menu soh a dat mi order it came wid a honey chili sauce
Mi partner siddun cross from mi an him seh di look pan mi face when mi tek di first bite was rapturous mi seh di sittin nice noh rhatid
This is one of my faves; you can practically eat <span style="font-style: italic">peas and rice</span> by itself. It's not called <span style="font-style: italic">rice 'n peas</span> but <span style="font-style: italic">peas and rice</span>...a major difference.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Peas and Rice</span>
1 cup pigeon peas
2 whole cloves garlic
5 sprigs of fresh thyme
2 cups rice
1 red pepper, diced
2 scallions chopped
1/2 cup of cut bacon
1 tablespoon of tomato paste
salt and pepper to taste
<span style="font-weight: bold">Directions</span>
Boil peas in a medium saucepan with 5-6 cups water
Cook peas 45 minutes or until tender and set aside.
Fry bacon in a medium pot with scallions, garlic, and red pepper
Suate for 3-5 minutes and add salt, pepper, thyme, and tomato paste.
Add peas and along with 4 cups of the water used to boil the peas.
Bring to a boil and add rice.
Reduce heat, cover tightly, when most of the water has evaporated.
Clean portion wings in vinegar and warm water.
Place wings into pot containing 8-10 cups of water... (this will ensure that all remaining oils and other particles are removed).
Let wings boil for about 5-8 minutes.
Remove from pot and place into a bowl containing cool water, rinse well with water and lemon juice. Place wings into pot with about 8-10 cups of water or until wings are completely covered.
Slice onions, pepper, celery, carrots, and potatoes. Add salt, onions, celery, lime , pepper, lemon juice and all-spice seeds. (Boil for about 45 minutes). Add potatoes and Carrots.
Boil for another 15-20 minutes.
Serve with home made bread or Johnny Cake (Bahamian style...like a bread), if desired.
Thai food, Indian food, Some Greek food, Italian food, some Chinese food AND some American food.....best dish I think I ever had was in a Thai restaurant...deep fried whole snapper in a sweet-hot sauce that was to die for! ....also love most Northern Italian fish or chicken with Francese or Marsala sauce.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz_Obama</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What other types of food do you just LOVE (apart from Jamaican)
Irish Stew
I think the only thing I have has southern is fried chiken... I need to go to the south to smaple the real stuff I think...
Never had the white people chicken and dumplins
My Mom used tro mekshephards pie... I think I don't like it
nevva taste irish stew... guess mi need to broaden my horizon
I try just about any type of food overall....just cant take that scottish haggis business
love Asian food especially
vietnamese
chinese
japanese - sushi
korean
thai - when I can get it made w/o peanuts
philipino - they make these stuff soft buns with pulled pork/beef that is glorious beyond words!
and I love ethiopian food that stuff is hot like fire but really tasty
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Love Thai, food from Louisiana (sp)Portugal and Spain food southern soul food especially fry chicken and biscuits made with butter milk (food a bit salty though)- missed former MIL's cooking - she was from Georgia. </div></div>
I LOVE Thai food - hopefully nex year i'll make it to New Orleans and can sample that food live then mi will give my opinion on Louysiana food... oohthe biscuits sound goodthough!!!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.