Re: Foods from other cultures...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz_Obama</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thai food, Indian food, Some Greek food, Italian food, some Chinese food AND some American food.....best dish I think I ever had was in a Thai restaurant...deep fried whole snapper in a sweet-hot sauce that was to die for!
....also love most Northern Italian fish or chicken with Francese or Marsala sauce.
Thai - check, Indian - some, LOve Greek food!
, Italian - check, Chinese hmmmm *lol* - check, Mi nuh know wat mi would really call americanfood??? 
OH Gosh Ja. JEWEL that is my FAVORITE Thai dish - OMG - it is to die for - I forget what the dish is called - but they call it crsipy fish sumting suymting...
I forgot to add Mexican food....by some "American food", I mean things like backyard picnic food...bbq chicken on the grill, good, good potato salad, nice, fresh green salad and every once in a while, love a good cheeseburger (on a charcoal grill) with fresh tomato and mayo on a toasted bun.
Also love things like oven roasted veg.with fresh garlic, oven roasted chicken with potatoes, olive oil & rosemary....really don't know the ethnicity of that one!
My recipe for a good potato salad that everyone here seems to love is:
Apx. 3 lbs. potatoes (boiled, but not too too done, quartered & sliced
3 or 4 hard boiled eggs, chopped
1/2 sweet pepper, diced
1/2 onion, diced
1 scallion, sliced (green part too)
1 or 2 stalks celery, diced (I omit this a yard because it's hard to find, but better with it)
lots of black pepper
salt to taste
either fresh or dried dill (a good amount)
A good squeeze of yellow mustard
Mayonnaise, enough to mkae it all hold together.
Enjoy! </div></div>
Thanks Ja Jewel
- tell me something do you know of anything that can be substituted for the mayonnaise??? I just cannot acquire a taste for it no matter how i try...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jazz_Obama</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thai food, Indian food, Some Greek food, Italian food, some Chinese food AND some American food.....best dish I think I ever had was in a Thai restaurant...deep fried whole snapper in a sweet-hot sauce that was to die for!
....also love most Northern Italian fish or chicken with Francese or Marsala sauce.
</div></div>Thai - check, Indian - some, LOve Greek food!
, Italian - check, Chinese hmmmm *lol* - check, Mi nuh know wat mi would really call americanfood??? 
OH Gosh Ja. JEWEL that is my FAVORITE Thai dish - OMG - it is to die for - I forget what the dish is called - but they call it crsipy fish sumting suymting...
</div></div>I forgot to add Mexican food....by some "American food", I mean things like backyard picnic food...bbq chicken on the grill, good, good potato salad, nice, fresh green salad and every once in a while, love a good cheeseburger (on a charcoal grill) with fresh tomato and mayo on a toasted bun.
Also love things like oven roasted veg.with fresh garlic, oven roasted chicken with potatoes, olive oil & rosemary....really don't know the ethnicity of that one!
My recipe for a good potato salad that everyone here seems to love is:
Apx. 3 lbs. potatoes (boiled, but not too too done, quartered & sliced
3 or 4 hard boiled eggs, chopped
1/2 sweet pepper, diced
1/2 onion, diced
1 scallion, sliced (green part too)
1 or 2 stalks celery, diced (I omit this a yard because it's hard to find, but better with it)
lots of black pepper
salt to taste
either fresh or dried dill (a good amount)
A good squeeze of yellow mustard
Mayonnaise, enough to mkae it all hold together.
Enjoy! </div></div>
Thanks Ja Jewel
- tell me something do you know of anything that can be substituted for the mayonnaise??? I just cannot acquire a taste for it no matter how i try...
no self respecting Jamaican would nyam a fish widout de head...