Re: Should I Hold Her Hand or Kick Her in the Head ...
So Mary (yep, let’s just call her Mary) calls me at work one day as usual and tell me, she’s not going to have the baby. I think she’s joking. I mean – c’mon – she’s over 4 months preggers at this point.
Do you all remember the dumb show with Steve Irkle? Irkle – that geek guy? Family Matters? Well, one of the girls on that show who had a crush on him, had sickle cell disease. She dies actually, of cancer a few years aback. Her real name was Michelle Thomas and she played Myra on the show. She was also in some other tv shows but most notably, The Cosby Show as Theo’s girlfriend.
Hennywho – somehow my girlfriend learned of this fact and it completely rattles her cage. I don’t get it – it’s not like Thomas died from sickle cell?
No matter – she says she’s made her decision NOT to have the baby.
In my mind, I’m wondering – how is that even possible. Well – she explained it to me and without going into detail, let’s just say that 1) it is possible, even at over 4 mths pregnant, to not carry the baby to term and 2) it’s a three day procedure.
(and yes – since this is a family/G rated board I ain’t goin no further!)
I implore her to rethink her decision.
I tell her – she has no idea how bad, if bad at all, this child’s sickle cell anemia will be.
I told her that if when my mother was pregnant with me, if there was a test that would’ve told my ma that I’d be diagnosed with breast cancer in 2002, my mother could’ve terminated me right then and I wouldn’t be here today!
I tell here there’s all kinds of treatment out there for this illness ...
I see it going no where and ask her, what’s her husband’s take on this. Turns out, according to her, hubby will support whichever decision she makes.
(sigh)
I’ll be honest – I was INCENSED – FURIOUS that she would do this.
And it gets better, she wants me to come down and help her thru the procedure and the recovery.
Lawda gad!
So – I’m asking you – am I being judgmental here?
Am I crazy or is this or is this not, selective breeding?
Are people going to next, terminate babies who test positive for bandi leg or lisp? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
Oonu really, really hexpek mi fi bi tikit pon Jet Blue – fly dung ah Flarida – guh dung deh guh ole im han ah geem kummfaht?
Mi frill?
According to my sister – I need to put my feeling aside and do just that.
Mi jeezass – duh – oonu tell mi seh mi nuh mad!
So Mary (yep, let’s just call her Mary) calls me at work one day as usual and tell me, she’s not going to have the baby. I think she’s joking. I mean – c’mon – she’s over 4 months preggers at this point.
Do you all remember the dumb show with Steve Irkle? Irkle – that geek guy? Family Matters? Well, one of the girls on that show who had a crush on him, had sickle cell disease. She dies actually, of cancer a few years aback. Her real name was Michelle Thomas and she played Myra on the show. She was also in some other tv shows but most notably, The Cosby Show as Theo’s girlfriend.
Hennywho – somehow my girlfriend learned of this fact and it completely rattles her cage. I don’t get it – it’s not like Thomas died from sickle cell?
No matter – she says she’s made her decision NOT to have the baby.
In my mind, I’m wondering – how is that even possible. Well – she explained it to me and without going into detail, let’s just say that 1) it is possible, even at over 4 mths pregnant, to not carry the baby to term and 2) it’s a three day procedure.
(and yes – since this is a family/G rated board I ain’t goin no further!)
I implore her to rethink her decision.
I tell her – she has no idea how bad, if bad at all, this child’s sickle cell anemia will be.
I told her that if when my mother was pregnant with me, if there was a test that would’ve told my ma that I’d be diagnosed with breast cancer in 2002, my mother could’ve terminated me right then and I wouldn’t be here today!
I tell here there’s all kinds of treatment out there for this illness ...
I see it going no where and ask her, what’s her husband’s take on this. Turns out, according to her, hubby will support whichever decision she makes.
(sigh)
I’ll be honest – I was INCENSED – FURIOUS that she would do this.
And it gets better, she wants me to come down and help her thru the procedure and the recovery.
Lawda gad!
So – I’m asking you – am I being judgmental here?
Am I crazy or is this or is this not, selective breeding?
Are people going to next, terminate babies who test positive for bandi leg or lisp? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
Oonu really, really hexpek mi fi bi tikit pon Jet Blue – fly dung ah Flarida – guh dung deh guh ole im han ah geem kummfaht?
Mi frill?
According to my sister – I need to put my feeling aside and do just that.
Mi jeezass – duh – oonu tell mi seh mi nuh mad!