<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">There is a time fi restraint an dis was not one a dem. Im shoulda use im superior strength an hol har wrist dem an push har whe...
Bwoy, mi tell mi son neva eva lik a ooman except if she stawt lik im.
If she big enough fi gi lik, den she big enough fi tek ie [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] </div></div> nuh betta him jus walk away
Had he been late twenties or older, me woulda kinteet, walk way. But age is a factor here. At 17 or 18, I don't think he know what to do because of lack of experience with women. Especially agressive women. He could have easily restrianed her, he is about 6 foot and she about seven inches shorter. They are both black.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs. MarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body">my mother seems to think that boys being beaten actually affects their rationale when it comes to abuse and insists that they either become victims of abuse or become abusers.
The younger the easier it is for them to get trapped in teh cycle. If he grew up in a house where the MOTHER yelled and berated him that is what he will expect from a woman.
this is what concerned me. he was so passive. Just kept his head down and let her bax him dung til har done. She taunt him before she walk off. dyam, I wish I had the right words to say to him.
Lord, I am just imagining a man in my family going through this. Mi wudda haffi gather bail money. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and i bet it won't go reported because you know the cops are gonna laff at him [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] </div></div>
Exactly. That is why a lot of women/girls think they have the right. It is a sad situation for real. If that man had retaliated, he would most certainly be looking through bars right now, dressed in a uniform. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
How many men who are convicted of abuse are the abused who've had it? I don't know the answer but I am pretty sure it is not a low number. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: sistacaf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i agree too in principle - but public perception being what it is, if him lick har dung - even if it's in return - and justifiably so .....there's no WAY it woulda ever be understood for what it is. That would only get ugly, and VERY ugly, if he gave her back jus what she deserve.
<span style="color: #3333FF">I agree that he shouldn't have hit back, that it would have been blamed on him in the end. I think from the first hit he should have walked away. Anything more than that, then he should have called the police. That's where the strength comes in, knowing that he might be laughed at or mocked but seeing it through anyway.
I don't believe boys/men should hit girls/women, but I also don't believe that girls/women should put their hands on boys/men. If a person makes you so angry that you feel you need to use your hands, walk away. This is not the relationship for you. </span>
Calling the police might not have been a considerable option for him...considering the history of po-po and the blk man. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Blueness</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="color: #3333FF">I agree that he shouldn't have hit back, that it would have been blamed on him in the end. I think from the first hit he should have walked away. Anything more than that, then he should have called the police. That's where the strength comes in, knowing that he might be laughed at or mocked but seeing it through anyway.
I don't believe boys/men should hit girls/women, but I also don't believe that girls/women should put their hands on boys/men. If a person makes you so angry that you feel you need to use your hands, walk away. This is not the relationship for you. </span> </div></div>
Blueness, I understand what you are saying, however, an abused person (man or woman) cannot buy into the "ghetto" mentality that the police will arrest you first, that is not always the case. On the other hand, just as women do, go to the cops and get a restraining order against her, at least file a police report, that way, if it happens again and you lose yuh tempa, it deh deh pon record that she has a history.
Walking away is easier said than done [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Zarah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and i bet it won't go reported because you know the cops are gonna laff at him [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] </div></div>
Exactly. That is why a lot of women/girls think they have the right. It is a sad situation for real. If that man had retaliated, he would most certainly be looking through bars right now, dressed in a uniform. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
How many men who are convicted of abuse are the abused who've had it? I don't know the answer but I am pretty sure it is not a low number. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] </div></div>
I agree. and even though I was there to see her pound him, it would not have helped if he defended himself and hit her. No, she couldn't hurt him like a man using her fists, but I'm sure it still hurt.
Vi, had you been willing to make a statement it would have helped. he would NOT have been arrested and even if, had you chosen to get inolved then even if he was arrested he'd have been cleared.
Ok, Vi I don't know what you could have said to the boy [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
But I must interject a story here:
My half sister was raised in a very abusive home with her mother. Our Father had married my Mom by then, and I was raised very differently. So my sister and I are two very different people...
Well, she married a black man, and they had problems... One fight was in a public parking lot and my sister started punching him. Her husband (a very wonderful man) did not hit back once. He tried to hold her off.. but he never once hit her...
The cops were called and my sister (a white woman) went to jail.... She was charged with domestic violence and had to pay fines and go to anger management classes... Eventually they divorced [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
So it does happen [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
But there are good strong men who don't hit back and do get justice... if you can call it justice anyway [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.