Re: "Black People, Babies, And Breakups"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Funny I see it as the black men in prison's fault,but I see a much greater aspect of that fault with the educated black men, who refuse to aquire even the tools to understand why these black men are in prison.
What percentage of financially secure black men are unmarried?
What percentage of them does not suppoer their children?
How does that compare whit financially secure white men?
I believe every person have a right to an opion,but I would not ask a carpener to do my plumbing.
Unless you recognize that there is an appropriate tool to measurethe reality of of the situation and make the effort aquire it.
So that you can really understand the problem,you are not contributing to the solution. and all of us are contributors.
If we are not a part of the solution we are a part of the problem.
Why didn't they make sociology mandatory in all high school!!
Whatever we do we certainly will need it to understand society.
The reason why the educated need to study the cause,is because we are all paying to keep them there withe our taxes..
By paying for their behavior while they are outside and unemployed,either with the lack of security or as victims of crimes perpetuated by them.
Or we pay psychologically by being identified as them and seen by society as similar to them.
Yes it is our fault more than it is their's. That is wht it cost use more than it cost them.
And we have the opportunity to do something about it.
Why have we done nothing,but sit and curse the darkness instead of light a candle? </div></div>I agree, Dr. Dudd. Perhaps too much of our well-educated, middle-class, church-going time and money are being spent on ourselves and others like us.
When I go to Florida, I see some churches big like stadiums being built and I have to ask myself what and who it's all for. Some of them will even have vans to pick-up worshippers, but how about providing car-pools for inner city commuters who may be hard hit by rising gas prices. Wouldn't it be nice if filthy, rich black reverends (like Creflo [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] set up job-training programs for ex-convicts, or shelters for the homeless and victims of domestic abuse?
How about instead of (or in addition to) issuing statements against racism, the NAACP lobbied state legislatures for better financing of minority schools. So much of our energy is mis-directed.
The biggest problem our underclass brethren and sistren may have is us!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlakICE_Queen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Garvey mussi a read dis yah board an jussa kinn ovah inna him grave. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] </div></div>
On the same note, I feel that we have forgotten the ideals of "uplifting the race" and black "self-sufficiency".
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Funny I see it as the black men in prison's fault,but I see a much greater aspect of that fault with the educated black men, who refuse to aquire even the tools to understand why these black men are in prison.
What percentage of financially secure black men are unmarried?
What percentage of them does not suppoer their children?
How does that compare whit financially secure white men?
I believe every person have a right to an opion,but I would not ask a carpener to do my plumbing.
Unless you recognize that there is an appropriate tool to measurethe reality of of the situation and make the effort aquire it.
So that you can really understand the problem,you are not contributing to the solution. and all of us are contributors.
If we are not a part of the solution we are a part of the problem.
Why didn't they make sociology mandatory in all high school!!
Whatever we do we certainly will need it to understand society.
The reason why the educated need to study the cause,is because we are all paying to keep them there withe our taxes..
By paying for their behavior while they are outside and unemployed,either with the lack of security or as victims of crimes perpetuated by them.
Or we pay psychologically by being identified as them and seen by society as similar to them.
Yes it is our fault more than it is their's. That is wht it cost use more than it cost them.
And we have the opportunity to do something about it.
Why have we done nothing,but sit and curse the darkness instead of light a candle? </div></div>I agree, Dr. Dudd. Perhaps too much of our well-educated, middle-class, church-going time and money are being spent on ourselves and others like us.
When I go to Florida, I see some churches big like stadiums being built and I have to ask myself what and who it's all for. Some of them will even have vans to pick-up worshippers, but how about providing car-pools for inner city commuters who may be hard hit by rising gas prices. Wouldn't it be nice if filthy, rich black reverends (like Creflo [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70379-moneyeyes.gif[/img] set up job-training programs for ex-convicts, or shelters for the homeless and victims of domestic abuse?
How about instead of (or in addition to) issuing statements against racism, the NAACP lobbied state legislatures for better financing of minority schools. So much of our energy is mis-directed.
The biggest problem our underclass brethren and sistren may have is us!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlakICE_Queen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Garvey mussi a read dis yah board an jussa kinn ovah inna him grave. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] </div></div>
On the same note, I feel that we have forgotten the ideals of "uplifting the race" and black "self-sufficiency".