<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mountaingal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is it that orange product, sue? texturizing wax or sittn like that?
BTW, mi head really a cratch mi now. how long before mi can wash it again?
yes, that's the orange stuff. maybe in the next couple more days. you can also use the come teeth to make the little ringlets like pepper put up in the picture deh. you should continue oiling your scalp.
den rubbup yu head and neaten it as much as possible, like pat pat pat your head down neat till they start. just don't comb it out. don't oil the hair oil only the scalp if you have a scalp issue.
the hardest thing to learn when dreading is "do nothing"
washing, oiling and twisitng do not make the dreads come any faster - can actually slow down progress
you can also start by doing a two or three strand twist on your hair and then palming rolling it for neatness after that - one of your daughters can probably do that
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the hardest thing to learn when dreading is "do nothing"
exactly. i suggested the rolling and making them lie flat from waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay uppa tap. and everytime she washes her hair she'll haffi du dem agen till dem set. i can see why this locktician ting is so popular. it's easy to become discouraged, because locking takes time, patience and the odd snide remark from some of our sistren.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the odd snide remark from some of our sistren. </div></div>
... and from our family. i'm running into some turbulence, let's say.
seveen, you're right about the patience thing - it's hard because life still have to go on, and this start-up phase is the ruffest.
did i ask areddy if mi no spose fi wash mi hair fi 3wks? or is it three months? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you can also start by doing a two or three strand twist on your hair and then palming rolling it for neatness after that - one of your daughters can probably do that
if i start to manipulate the hair from now into locks won't that get in the way of them being stronger?
[i]sarry if mi soun confused but i am a bit still[/]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mountaingal</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the odd snide remark from some of our sistren. </div></div>
... and from our family. i'm running into some turbulence, let's say.
seveen, you're right about the patience thing - it's hard because life still have to go on, and this start-up phase is the ruffest.
did i ask areddy if mi no spose fi wash mi hair fi 3wks? or is it three months? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70361-embarassed.gif[/img] </div></div>
try not to wash it for as long as you can - rinse it but don't try and SCRUB it
i found after i locked that i didn't need as much oil on my hair and i no longer have dandruff
i can go about 4 months or more without washing - and no complaints about smell
the reason i suggested the twists is so you can decide where and how thick you want the dreads
after you twist it the first time - don't take them out - just palm roll them with that brown gel stuff after you wash it - to me the "wax" was nasty - too greasy and clumpy - i still use gel to tighten at the scalp - when necessary
your daughters should be able to help - the locktitician will want to do those swirl things and they don't last anytime
and remember to wear a scarf on your head at night and in the morning just fluff your hair slightly with your fingers
i started mine from braids (just to hold them together) while waiting for the dreads to take good hold (about 6 months)
my mother resisted when i started - now she loves them - says it makes me look younger than the boofanant (sp)hairdo - i would probably have [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
and my worst nightmare is that i have a perm again :vamit:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mountaingal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is it that orange product, sue? texturizing wax or sittn like that?
BTW, mi head really a cratch mi now. how long before mi can wash it again? </div></div>
use some witch hazel to clean u scalp until the locks stawt to tek an u can wash it...den use olive oil on the scalp since the witch hazel is an astringent....tie u head a nite time in cotton so dat no fuzz no get fi set een pon di new locks...if dem set een di locks n u haffi use tweezer later fi tek out di fuzz, di strent of di lock weaken...
anodda yaad woman tek di plunge.... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img]
hi, vannie. well right now mi have a mat on mi head consisting of short uncombed afro. so me'da haffi pour di witch hazel over mi head fi mek it reach mi scalp. which somehow i don't think is what you're recommending (right?!?!).
mi a go do di pat pat bizness weh sue seh, pluck mi yeyebrow and wear mekkup fi tek attention away from kaya mattrass pan mi head, and hope fi di bess! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/dance01.gif[/img]
u can do dat if u want yes...juss pawt pawt di hair an massage di witch hazel wid u finga dem....den massage een likkle ile fi offset the dryniss...dats all....plus di witch hazel wi mek sure seh u head no smell...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.