No TV personality, journalist or entertainer has ever successfully sued but that is coming I am sure. Ditto for pageant contestants. It's only a matter of time.
ahhh good ole firs world problems
Yes dis is weh de big fight fi de blk ooman must be
Frankly I don't care about your respect. I have no respect for people who are dishonest and walk around with rose tinted glasses and that sure sounds like you missy. I know what I have had to do to earn a living and keep a rough over my head so unless you plan to bankroll me....I do what I have to do. If you don't like it you can just bite it.
Whether you want to admit it or not, Black women still face discrimination due to hair choices. Blugiant and I have posted NUFF articles about that so you tan deh. It will be interesting to see how some of the legal cases that are in the pipeline turn out.
No TV personality, journalist or entertainer has ever successfully sued but that is coming I am sure. Ditto for pageant contestants. It's only a matter of time.
I apologise for offending you with the truth and my opinion. Africa's history has been stolen and until the children of Africa home and abroad recognise that the way to success is to reclaim our history and not subscribe to European ideals we will never see success. I remember taking a class with two of the Joseph's children back in Jamaica and when asked why are they doing the program they said to learn the skills needed to manage the business they plan to set up. Our people are being taught to go to school to get a good job. We need to start creating our own opportunities and stop allowing ourselves to defined by the outside.
Don't judge me, you don't know me. You do not know the choices I have had to make based on my beliefs so stop making assumptions about things you don't know. I have had very few regrets in my life and non of them are based on going against something I truly believed for the almighty dollar. Just to make it clear my post was not directed at you, however if the cap fit, you can grab it and wear it.
I apologise for offending you with the truth and my opinion. Africa's history has been stolen and until the children of Africa home and abroad recognise that the way to success is to reclaim our history and not subscribe to European ideals we will never see success. I remember taking a class with two of the Joseph's children back in Jamaica and when asked why are they doing the program they said to learn the skills needed to manage the business they plan to set up. Our people are being taught to go to school to get a good job. We need to start creating our own opportunities and stop allowing ourselves to defined by the outside.
Offending PUH-LEASE! Start our own opportunities. Ironic that you would say that when you are working as it were for the man and I am the one who is running a business. Businesses don't run on their own. Depending on one's client base, you better believe that how one carries themselves makes a difference on how many clients one secures.
If you are going for the corporate market unless you are offering a creative product or service where they will cut you some slack, you still have to conform to corporate standards re: dress code and hair.....even in the Caribbean and Africa.
Anyway, it would be good to see you do something with your baking skills. There is a shortage of reliable caterers and bakers for the corporate market and people will pay a premium for high end designs and I don't think they will care that much about hairstyle if the designs are truly innovative.
Don't judge me, you don't know me. You do not know the choices I have had to make based on my beliefs so stop making assumptions about things you don't know. I have had very few regrets in my life and non of them are based on going against something I truly believed for the almighty dollar.
It's great that you have not had to make any choices based on the need to earn a living. Must be nice. Some of us are not so fortunate. Some of us have to make tough choices at time and this is reality.
Seveen has been working in corporate america as both employee and consultant for donkey years. Seveen has had locks for Donkey years and it has not limited her opportunities. She knows a few others as well. She does not work in a creative field.
I can't speak to particulars of individual situations. However, I have right here on this board posted about a lawyer with locks hired by a bank in the Caribbean but the man who hired her had to FIGHT to get her in there. I also posted about a TSA employee with locks and a waitress at LaGuardia. I spoke to a couple of guys who work for a transportation company in Toronto which I won't name and they told me that while they were hired, it will be tough to get promoted.
There may be exceptions but they are hardly the rule.
Even White people don't get a free pass when it comes to how they dress and style their hair in the corporate world. What in the world would make you think that Black people do.
Things are changing very slowly. There are still court cases in the USA and other parts of the world where people have been fired for wearing locks and natural hair. It is a fact that natural hair will limit your opportunities in certain fields and locks are still a huge career limiting move not only in the USA but also in the corporate sector in the Caribbean and Africa. If you don't want to accept that...go on wearing your rose tinted glasses. If some have overcome these limitations, all power to them. But, I believe if they say they have never had any issues dem a People need to be honest about the challenges they face and how they have overcome them.
You know what, if you and others are naive enough to think that people can wear their hair however they like and it won't have an impact on their career prospects in certain fields....go on and believe it. I certainly hope that you and others aren't conveying this message to young people just starting out in their careers. You are doing them a huge disservice.
I did not create this reality. I just post about it. It is better to speak the truth and let people know their options so that they can make informed choices than to persist in the lie that everything in the garden is fine and beating up anyone who speaks the truth.
You know what, if you and others are naive enough to think that people can wear their hair however they like and it won't have an impact on their career prospects in certain fields....go on and believe it. I certainly hope that you and others aren't conveying this message to young people just starting out in their careers. You are doing them a huge disservice.
It is not a matter of wearing hair, however they like, it is about wearing the hair in a healthy way sans chemicals or weaves. Low afros were/is the lick with elegantly tailored accessories. Those who wore their hair longer had it in natural buns. Honestly, I have seen so many weaves that I perceive them as less able to work their positions since dem cant tek care of them own hair!
What I want my hair to do-- in the spring when it not so cold
It is not a matter of wearing hair, however they like, it is about wearing the hair in a healthy way sans chemicals or weaves. Low afros were/is the lick with elegantly tailored accessories. Those who wore their hair longer had it in natural buns. Honestly, I have seen so many weaves that I perceive them as less able to work their positions since dem cant tek care of them own hair!
You're not telling me anything I don't know. I have done it all low natural, medium natural, cornrows, long braids. My hair was natural from when I worked from the airlines at university until about 11 years ago. I was one of hte few with natural hair.
My family has been trail blazers in this area. Way back my aunt was one of the first in Montreal to have an afro and I am the only one in my immediate family who has gone back to relaxing.
Like it or not, it does present some limitations on career opportunities. Still I did manage to work for an airline and in a number of other industries with natural hair but I was bypassed for many other opportunities in favour of the hair hat, horse's tail wearing crew. Even had one blonde not use my services when I turned up for our meeting with wash and wear hair and comment that my hair did not look like my photo. Told that story already and one day I will write it all up formally but not for here.
Wha' you role your eyes fah... Facts are facts. I know how long my hair can grow when natural before tangling becomes an issue. I ain't no mulatto you know. After a certain length it has always become a choice of braids or trim...
The most manageable styles for me with natural hair are low natural, medium natural or braids.
Thanks to my diligent research, I have a whole thread with natural hair alternatives and ideas. I definitely would not be able to wear it loose like in the photo for any length of time though if my hair was that long and natural. It would shrink, matte and start fe locks.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.