Originally posted by SandiF:
[qb]
Suesumba, no more giant sun flower for me either and I hope this one I had last year does not come back automatically. I thought Sun Flowers were annuals. Pepper, could it because you've got a tropical season that it comes back year round in Florida?
Pepper, how yu so show off! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] The strawberries came out eh?
[/qb]
I had the sunflower plant when I lived in NY. I planted 2 and even after we cleared up the garden in the fall, it came back the following spring. The second year, I pulled them out (root and all), and they still came back. I just gave up and eventually they didn't come up again.
Strawberries are doing fine. We lost some during a rare 2 weeks of cold weather, but now new growth is all over the place. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
I have a smallish narrow long backyard, it is mostly taken up by a big deck and garden shed, so I was going to plant a lawn on the left side of the sidewalk, like 4ft/30 (BUT now there is a dog!) Plan B, forget the grass/ going to do somekind of crush rock (dogs just kill lawns anways) Put in a pond with shale rocks on the sides and hostas all around, and get some fab. flowers in containers and up on the fence. Then the dog will not kill them. I have a garden spot on the side of the house, for tomatoes/peppers etc. and sunflowers, they do good here 10ft easy I brought Callilou seeds back from Jamaica this yr too. The front yard has nice green lawn and a medium size perinial flower garden. Can hardly wait to see how brilliant the yellow /red tulips will be !!!
I also love poppies/zinnias. Have been buying little packages whenever I see them.
Gonna get up to 56 on Satuday, just reach down and pull them flowers up, no wait pon spring.
Need to make a Permenant Garden thread jus to go to all year. Gonna have lots of questions
By the way G-ma & RedJ--
The pond a frezze over and fish they die big time. Have to wait till all the ice is gone to see how many I lost. Sheewww wiiii! Bumbed
I would like to start a windowsill garden- i was hoping for thyme, basil, and scotch bonnet pepper- I didnt know whther or not the pepper would be feasible. I live in a dorm so I figured that if I wanted to do any gardening, a windowsill would just have to do. Any ideas or tips?
The thyme is growing like crazy. It's nice to go out back and cut thyme, wash it and drop it in my pot. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] [/QB]
Mi really digust wid oonu peeps inna warm climate, bout yu go outta back an cut frsh thyme an drop iina pot, cha do betta - or a hot yu wan hot up peeps head dats still have snow
I got out to the gardens today;gave the lawns their first cut of the season, moved the lavender (even now they smell devine). All the shurbs and leyendi are healthy. The only plant that did not survive the winter was the thyme. The lemon thyme, sage and mints doing well, I'll be off to the garden centre in a week or two to buy some anuals, but for now its preperation time. Hope all my fellow garenists are well.
My dog was very ornery today and I didn't get to do my gardening work as planned! I had to keep a keen eye on him as he was intent on wreaking havoc. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Anyway, mi got some Blackberry (thornless) and Raspberry pieces and don't have a clue how to plant them. The Blackberries start fruit in August, don't know about the Raspberries. If anyone have experience planting and growing these, let me know all the get go.
Bwouy a plenty gardeners in here. Well I went around and checked to see if any of the new cuttings from roses that I started in the late summer had survived the winter. Looks like two died and the others still have green canes. My soil is sandy and this year I wanted to clear a spot for my favorite CALLALOO any tips folks. Also noticed a lot of rocks in my beds [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] looks like the top soil from two years ago sunk now I have to redo it. Might let the landscaper take care of that since I can't do any heavy lifting this year. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
hi SandyF i have both, i planted them lass year. now mi brother has dem for years.
he says to plant them to a South/West sun they like lots of sunshine. the black berry will need a harbor. the raspberry will bare starting late spring to late summer.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.