Re: Welcome JAH YOUT - F&R SUMMER FEATURE
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">2)Do you ever have doubts about your current beliefs, or lack thereof?
i suppose every once in a while humans get weak but i and i have grown stronger in my faith as time goes on</div></div>
Jahyout!!
Quite a few folks would not admit to having doubts regarding their beliefs/lack thereof, so thanks for honesty....I don't consider doubt a 'bad' thing and its also natural to have some moments; it can lead to questioning, which could mean stronger faith/stronger conviction......
That being said:
1. You implied having some doubts at some point. In what areas have you questioned the rastafarian belief?
2. Once someone made this statement on the board, and I have wondered on it:<span style="font-style: italic">"Things have changed,expectations have changed,times have changed,what it means to be a rastafarian for one man is an entirely different thing for a next man."</span><span style="font-size: 8pt">](mi run goh find di chread
)</span> I had asked before, but did not receive an appropriate response. So, What does it mean to be a 'true' rastafarian in these times?
Tonks
seen...give thanx;
first let me say rastafari goes against the grain of what 'society' finds acceptable in this time so it's a struggle...
when i first decided to locks it was a struggle...even some family turn against you...jobs turn against you...some women turn against you...
at the time i was about 18 so i was just coming into manhood and just starting to question the world and the system...
i have to give credit to my good bredrin R.T. who was the first yute to really put it to me in a way that made me look further...also have to thank pace university library
i read for fun stowed away in that library for hours on end- deciphering the mysteries of ancient egypt & ethiopia...more led to more and my thirst for this missing info grew by leaps and bounds- you know: all the stuff they didn't teach in school...
but it was my unique experiences and bloodline that made me drawn to rasta teachings (rasta is born not made)as i began to dig into it...i had the experience of coming from jamaica into a mostly white school in america without knowledge of self...
this is the most dangerous thing for our young men and why they exhibit all this self hate...
so to embrace rasta culture was a struggle no doubt and it is hard to keep strong when everyone else thinks you're a madman...
but knowledge brings power and the more i learned the stronger my faith got...
as far as doubt...even jes-us was attacked by sat-an trying to shake his faith...even mother teresa admitted to having her faith tried...
but the important thing is that i came out of it a stronger rastaman than ever before...
i can't speak for what it may mean for another man, but for i man it means everything...
it means being found after being lost...it means sight after being blind...it means hearing after being deaf...
it means i have somehow through all of this managed to hold on to a piece of my culture even when the vultures tried to wipe it out and have me praise their god...
so god is good all the time...yeh man
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">2)Do you ever have doubts about your current beliefs, or lack thereof?
i suppose every once in a while humans get weak but i and i have grown stronger in my faith as time goes on</div></div>
Jahyout!!
Quite a few folks would not admit to having doubts regarding their beliefs/lack thereof, so thanks for honesty....I don't consider doubt a 'bad' thing and its also natural to have some moments; it can lead to questioning, which could mean stronger faith/stronger conviction......That being said:
1. You implied having some doubts at some point. In what areas have you questioned the rastafarian belief?
2. Once someone made this statement on the board, and I have wondered on it:<span style="font-style: italic">"Things have changed,expectations have changed,times have changed,what it means to be a rastafarian for one man is an entirely different thing for a next man."</span><span style="font-size: 8pt">](mi run goh find di chread
)</span> I had asked before, but did not receive an appropriate response. So, What does it mean to be a 'true' rastafarian in these times? Tonks

seen...give thanx;
first let me say rastafari goes against the grain of what 'society' finds acceptable in this time so it's a struggle...
when i first decided to locks it was a struggle...even some family turn against you...jobs turn against you...some women turn against you...
at the time i was about 18 so i was just coming into manhood and just starting to question the world and the system...
i have to give credit to my good bredrin R.T. who was the first yute to really put it to me in a way that made me look further...also have to thank pace university library

i read for fun stowed away in that library for hours on end- deciphering the mysteries of ancient egypt & ethiopia...more led to more and my thirst for this missing info grew by leaps and bounds- you know: all the stuff they didn't teach in school...
but it was my unique experiences and bloodline that made me drawn to rasta teachings (rasta is born not made)as i began to dig into it...i had the experience of coming from jamaica into a mostly white school in america without knowledge of self...
this is the most dangerous thing for our young men and why they exhibit all this self hate...
so to embrace rasta culture was a struggle no doubt and it is hard to keep strong when everyone else thinks you're a madman...
but knowledge brings power and the more i learned the stronger my faith got...
as far as doubt...even jes-us was attacked by sat-an trying to shake his faith...even mother teresa admitted to having her faith tried...
but the important thing is that i came out of it a stronger rastaman than ever before...
i can't speak for what it may mean for another man, but for i man it means everything...
it means being found after being lost...it means sight after being blind...it means hearing after being deaf...
it means i have somehow through all of this managed to hold on to a piece of my culture even when the vultures tried to wipe it out and have me praise their god...
so god is good all the time...yeh man
hmmmm