<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">u know, there's a reason why politicians use patwa when campaigning. and is not cause dem want to seem "down" wid ppl. </div></div> what is di reason?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">u know, there's a reason why politicians use patwa when campaigning. and is not cause dem want to seem "down" wid ppl. </div></div>That is exactly why they abuse Patois!
simple. is so ppl can understand dem. standard english fi nuff ppl is not dem first language. patwa is more than just broken english. and mi no really getting this notion of patwa "at its most basic". to mi that would probly be english with a jamaican accent, not patwa.
see rich, i believe u don't speak patwa. i think red said the same thing.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">simple. is so ppl can understand dem. standard english fi nuff ppl is not dem first language.
</div></div> i dont buy that at all
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">simple. is so ppl can understand dem. standard english fi nuff ppl is not dem first language. patwa is more than just broken english. and mi no really getting this notion of patwa "at its most basic". to mi that would probly be english with a jamaican accent, not patwa.
the beauty about English and the bane of it to non speakers trying to learn it, is the abundance of the words therein
u can speak standard english to one who neither reads nor writes in Jamaica , an he still will understand if u use simple words..i.e. not nuff multisyllable wuds etc etc...afta all, bwoy still gi u di sound of boy
an the basic pawt is as i have opined....original African, french, chinese wateva, incorporated wid di english encountered....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">simple. is so ppl can understand dem. standard english fi nuff ppl is not dem first language.
</div></div> i dont buy that at all </div></div>
not surprised. but it's true. i've even had experience of that here in Canada, where to communicate the full extent of a situation, i've had to resort to patwa.
an the basic pawt is as i have opined....original African, french, chinese wateva, incorporated wid di english encountered....
the english is grafted onto an african semantic structure. semantic structure is one of the key criteria for language.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
not surprised. but it's true. i've even had experience of that here in Canada, where to communicate the full extent of a situation, i've had to resort to patwa. </div></div> speaking to french canadians?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
not surprised. but it's true. i've even had experience of that here in Canada, where to communicate the full extent of a situation, i've had to resort to patwa. </div></div> speaking to french canadians? </div></div> no, although dem and the newfoundlanders do the drop-aitch, add-aitch bizness like jamaicans.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiny</div><div class="ubbcode-body">love to hear a newfie ... them sure give jokes </div></div> yes an when dem drunk yu naw goh understand a single word dem seh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">simple. is so ppl can understand dem. standard english fi nuff ppl is not dem first language. patwa is more than just broken english. and mi no really getting this notion of patwa "at its most basic". to mi that would probly be english with a jamaican accent, not patwa.
</div></div>Remember Patois is not new and concurrent with Jamaicans Patois the English Language was undergoing serious changes as well. Most of the Euro-Peoples that African Slaves would have dealt with spoke little or no Queen’s English.
That is the reason for the Queens English because there were so many varied examples of English been used all over the BE.
My argument is that the African and other influences modified the base, which was English, just as the Celtic and Germanic Languages modified same.
It is for that reason the fourteen Parishes in Jamaica have a different take on Patois, it all depended on what modifiers were more prevalent.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and grow a Jamaica (left Jamica when i was 26) i cant talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent but don't speak patwa) </div></div>
i have to confess that even doah mi bawn and london mi grow a jamacia i can talk patwa ( i have a Jamaican accent and I speak patwa, yanky & cockney fluently)
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.