an yu dun knoe..mi cyaan..leave out Mary Poppins [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
In ev'ry job that must be done
There is an element of fun
you find the fun and snap!
The job's a game
Nad ev'ry task you undertake
Becomes a piece of cake
A lark! Aspree!
It's very clear to me
That a...
Spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down
The medicine go down-wown
The medicine go down
Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down
In a most delightful way
A robin feathering his nest
Has very little time to rest
While gathering his
Bits of twine and twig
Though quite intent in his pursuit
He has a merry tune to toot
He knows a song
Will move the job along
For a...
Spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down
The medicine go down-wown
The medicine go down
Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down
In a most delightful way
Um diddle diddle diddle um diddle ay
Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You'll always sound precocious
Because I was afraid to speak
When I was just a lad
My father gave me nose a tweak
And told me I was bad
But then one day I learned a word
That saved me aching nose
The biggest word I ever heard
And this is how it goes:
Oh, supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!
Even though the sound of it
Is something quite atrocious
If you say it loud enough
You'll always sound precocious
So when the cat has got your tongue
There's no need for dismay
Just summon up this word
And then you've got a lot to say
But better use it carefully
Or it may change your life
One night I said it to me girl
And now me girl's my wife!
This is a favorite of my husband and son (de pickney know every line [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img])
It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World - (1963)
After a long prison sentence Smiler Grogan is heading at high speed to a California park where he hid $350,000 from a job 15 years previously. He accidentally careers over a cliff in view of four cars whose occupants go down to help. The dying Grogan gives details of where the money is buried and when the witnesses fail to agree on sharing the cash, a crazy chase develops across the state.
i cried at the ending of this. with the little boy running across the prarie calling "shaaaaaane" "come back shaaane" [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
He rode into our valley in the summer of '89. I was a kid then, barely topping the backboard of father's old chuck-wagon. . . . In that clear Wyoming air I could see him plainly, though he was still several miles away. There seemed nothing remarkable about him, just another stray horseman riding up the road toward the cluster of frame buildings that was our town. Then I saw a pair of cowhands, loping past him, stop and stare after him with a curious intentness."
(from the opening lines of the 1949 novel Shane,
what i love about westerns is that there was always a good reason to kill someone. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
This is a favorite of my husband and son (de pickney know every line [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img])
It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World - (1963)
After a long prison sentence Smiler Grogan is heading at high speed to a California park where he hid $350,000 from a job 15 years previously. He accidentally careers over a cliff in view of four cars whose occupants go down to help. The dying Grogan gives details of where the money is buried and when the witnesses fail to agree on sharing the cash, a crazy chase develops across the state.
i remember loving that movie. haven't seen it in a while, and don't know if i would still like it, though. i also love The Simpsons' spoof of it.
That Shane movie - a favorite of David's... ah couldn tek it! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
I can't remember why though... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
editted to add: I remember why - ah couldn stand de female lead!.... but I can't remember why mi couldn stand har... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Watched this movie after Oprah recalled her book club because this book (or was it grapes of wrath? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]) was the greatest book ever written... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img] I gotta say that Jimmy Dean was very good...
East of Eden - (1955)
In the Salinas Valley, in and around World War I, Cal Trask feels he must compete against overwhelming odds with his brother Aron for the love of their father Adam. Cal is frustrated at every turn, from his reaction to the war, to how to get ahead in business and in life, to how to relate to estranged mother.
here's one classic oater that i love, sue, Blazing Saddles, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Amazon.com
Mel Brooks scored his first commercial hit with this raucous Western spoof starring the late Cleavon Little as the newly hired (and conspicuously black) sheriff of Rock Ridge. Sheriff Bart teams up with deputy Jim (Gene Wilder) to foil the railroad-building scheme of the nefarious Hedley Lamarr (Harvey Korman). The simple plot is just an excuse for a steady stream of gags, many of them unabashedly tasteless, that Brooks and his wacky cast pull off with side-splitting success. The humor is so juvenile and crude that you just have to surrender to it; highlights abound, from the lunkheaded Alex Karras as the ox-riding Mongo to Madeline Kahn's uproarious send-up of Marlene Dietrich as saloon songstress Lili Von Shtupp. Adding to the comedic excess is the infamous campfire scene involving a bunch of hungry cowboys, heaping servings of baked beans and, well, you get the idea. --Jeff Shannon source
2. how very young and innocent the young boy sounded. i don't think a portrayal of a young boy like that would pass in today's movie world.
kinda like the young girl in The Outlaw Josey Wales. she must have been 15 in the movie lusting after josey wales. when josey finally rides off leaving her, my thought was "damm, gotta escape before them have mi up pan charges". although at that time, bit would have been perfectly normal. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/ooo.gif[/img]
a lot of things couldn't fly now a daze. gone is the innocence indeed.
there's also one really funny cowboy movie, starts with S
damm old age [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] it's almost at the tip of my tongue and mi can'tmemba [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.