Re: i live in Jamaica and u don't
I often times feel like *some* folks (on and off the board) try to make Jamaicans who live abroad feel guilty for living abroad.
Sort of like a "i live here and u don't so ur not an authority on Jamaica" kinda thing...
if u talk bout politics, crime, education, jobs, man, anyting, seems the question will find it's place somewhere in the argument - "well, i live here, where do u live?"
or - "i chose to stick it in JA an yu decide fi run go a farrin"
was readin di breddrin chread wah day bout uptown.
and i got that kind of attitude coming from certain posts...
am i jus readin wrong into it all? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
sometime ppl a farrin love runnawf dem mout bout tings dem know nutten about. like pj a do good fi jamaica, manley was di greatest ting since slice bread, dem fi get fi vote from ova farrin, yadda yadda yadda. while he who feels it actually knows it(mosttimes!)
This is correct and it is expressed very subtly, at times.
What also happens sometimes is a non-welcome for returning residents. Again, it's very subtle thing and you have to live in the culture to pick up on it. Good thing the returnee will not see it right away...but eventually ...
It's almost two sides of the same coin, I think.
I often times feel like *some* folks (on and off the board) try to make Jamaicans who live abroad feel guilty for living abroad.
Sort of like a "i live here and u don't so ur not an authority on Jamaica" kinda thing...
if u talk bout politics, crime, education, jobs, man, anyting, seems the question will find it's place somewhere in the argument - "well, i live here, where do u live?"
or - "i chose to stick it in JA an yu decide fi run go a farrin"
was readin di breddrin chread wah day bout uptown.
and i got that kind of attitude coming from certain posts...
am i jus readin wrong into it all? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
sometime ppl a farrin love runnawf dem mout bout tings dem know nutten about. like pj a do good fi jamaica, manley was di greatest ting since slice bread, dem fi get fi vote from ova farrin, yadda yadda yadda. while he who feels it actually knows it(mosttimes!)
This is correct and it is expressed very subtly, at times.
What also happens sometimes is a non-welcome for returning residents. Again, it's very subtle thing and you have to live in the culture to pick up on it. Good thing the returnee will not see it right away...but eventually ...
It's almost two sides of the same coin, I think.