mi come up after mi done cxc and go straight a college, what got to mi was
1)people talk anyway to teacher, even college professor
2)People who you see in class will walk by yu like yu no exist outside a class, mostly yt students did this (mi tink dis was racial and a NY mi go under grad)A jamaica no matter wha yu still hail up people in a yu class, especially if yu sit beside dem.
3)How young pickney want grow up so quick get car and apartment at 18, mi a 16 in a college still a ask fi lunch money and bus fare from parents a wonda if mi should a ask fi car too. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
4) Christmas just annada day to most people, no church mass or nutting
5)How divided americans were along racial lines. Mi swear to god some people in a school a tell mi tings bout yankee dis and dat, and mi have to ask dem how would I know, both of unu americans [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img],
6)Nuff people have mouth but when yu tep to them..no backative..... and is more dan one person mi had to cho two lick unda fi chat too big in a mi face.
But regardless, this place change fi mi life because of education and opportunity so it was both good and bad.
when mi was 18 mi guh fass ask mi madda if mi can guh movie wid mi friend dem...7.00pm movie...the ooman seh no....dat too late...and ogle certain type a people walk pan street dem time a nite deh... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Flaggin down the train is a classic [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] The guy on the movie Farrin did the same thing.
I've heard of these:
The snow dirty
The food no good
My son's gradmother said she couldn't sleep for a month when she first arrive, she couldn't believe no grill on the doors or windows!
children lazy or not independent at such and old age a 4, they should be fixing their own breakfast, walking to snd from school alone and having chores..
Hummmm...I wonder if my parents were Jamaican in a past life cause:
1. They would NEVVA stand for me talking back to ANY adult (teacher, neighbor and especially THEM!!!)
2. We bathe and brush teeth morning and night - NO QUESTION
3. Hand wash de undies
4. No drinking/eating after nobody
5. "Be Polite!"
6. Answer "mam" or "sir" when called upon (nah, that's a Southern thing)
BUT
1. we always had a dog or cat, and I loved them all
2. grandma hung the douche bag on the bathroom door (granny, what is that? never you mind, gal!)
3. throw panties in washer after hand wash
4. eat out every Friday night (and some Sundays)
grandma hung the douche bag on the bathroom door (granny, what is that? never you mind, gal!)
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Granny nuh easy. at fi har age, wha shi a duh still a douche? Nex ting shi guh accidentally put di ole bakkle a vinega inna di douche bag [img]/forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]
grandma hung the douche bag on the bathroom door (granny, what is that? never you mind, gal!)
[img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Granny nuh easy. at fi har age, wha shi a duh still a douche? Nex ting shi guh accidentally put di ole bakkle a vinega inna di douche bag [img]/forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif[/img]
Nursey, you're right! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] ...she was probably using it as a heating pad by then! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
mi biggest shock was my first trip downtown Toronto and seeing all de people sleeping on the sidewalk, begging
mi neva expect fe see dem dey kind of ting a farrin
mi come fram country an mi neva see dem dey kinna sittn before unless a mad smaddy and den usually the mad people dem wha mi kno have dem family who tek care a dem.
My mother, while in the hospital for a brief stay, had an old lady in the bed next to her who had a fever, so my mom took out her bottle of white rum and a wash rag and proceeded to rub the woman down with it.
The nurse come in the room shortly after and started to sniff sniff![img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] She tells my mom the she can't have liqour with her in the Hospital. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
I remembered this while on the train last nite....
When I first came up to the Bronx....my Aunt took me out with her on my first subway ride(mi nuh flag dung none)....so I got dressed and followed her out the house...
"Geneva...don't forget yuh pocketbook"
si mi face yah [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img].....anyway mi guh back eena the house guh get one likkle notebook and put it eena mi pocket [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
the ooman laff after mi suh till....till dis day I mad....but chooo mi did have broughtupsy mi nevah ask har a wah kinda foolishness she a call handbag [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
Chile mi know wat u mean, A same so wen mi sista did juss come back fram farrin a ax mi fi pass har 'pocketbook'. Sure ennuff mi go look if shi did ave a note book in har bag. To dis day, now dat I'm here.. mi nuh get it, Where di hell dem get di word "pocket-'book'" fram? A bag is a bag is a bag... Ole eediat dem [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
For me, it was taking the bus for the very first time in New York back then in the 80's. Being from Jamaica, I was used to "pushing and shoving" to get on the bus in the morning being a high schooler then. So when I tried to "push and shove" my way unto a bus for no apparent reason, everyone gave me a "staredown" of sorts. It was kind of embarassing then for a 17 year old who just came from Jamaica. I apologized in my then "thick" Jamaican accent.
A couple of years later after I finished college while working in Manhattan, it became apparent that "pushing and shoving" was necessary if you want to get on the train to head home. As anyone who is familiar with rush hour in Manhattan can tell you, being passive during rush hour will not get you on the train, much less a seat.
EP! as dere's a god mi agoh tell yuh sista sey u deh pan inet a tell lie pan har, nutten caan goh soh!!! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] You an Jah Youth mek wata come a yeye [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
Fi me, one shock was when mi deh a school an si pickney a gi teacha work write inna red ink.
My very first culture shock was actually seeing white people working,I couldnt believe my eyes,I was so used to seeing them in Jamaica looking stoosh with a camera around their necks it was a bit of a shock to me to see them looking dirty and just ordinary in their own environment.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.