Xavier thank you for your continued support. So many outstanding people have graced the "cover" of Jamaicans.com and I am am honored to be in thier company. Much luv tou and all of Jamaicans.com
The Fowl series originated from this board.. some mad people on here were discussing how much dem prefer fi chew pan Chicken bone a yaad..dan in America. Di post was very funny as people were going back and forth whofah bone taste betta.
I wrote the story back then but dusted it off, rejuvenated and modernized it for the book. Enjoy!
Happy reading Wendy @ MSU - You will do well (can just imagine you stush vice a read like Miss Lou). Dung that side have a large caribbean community so I am sure the students will enoy and understand your book/reading.
Here is my friend's 11-year-old daughter reading your book to us last Saturday evening in a Kingston restaurant. She was great! I have the video and she was giggling and reading at the same time
My friends, pals since high school days, were listening and laughing so hard that patrons in the restaurant became very curious about your book.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Happy reading Wendy @ MSU - You will do well (can just imagine you stush vice a read like Miss Lou). Dung that side have a large caribbean community so I am sure the students will enoy and understand your book/reading. </div></div>
Thanks St _bess .. LOL .. Di ting is dis book cyaan read wid stoosh vice. Di characters dem noh have nutten stoosh bout dem Pure legobeas in deh soh mi have to "act" like one when mi reading
That souns like Mommy's experience. She as in the waiting room waiting for her Doctor..reading crack up..tears a roll down and di people dem a ask whe shi get di book fram. Dat why shi got di courage to goh talk to di people dem at Sangters. No word from from Miss McKenzie yet. Frustrating to say the least!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WeNdY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's 6 hours until show time at Morgan State University! </div></div>
Got to Morgan around 4 pm and was met by two handsome strapting fellow - Hayden and Solomon, both from Trinidad. The CSA President designated dem to be my escort. What a nice girl eeh?
They had me on the Agenda for 4:30. While I was in the room, mi notice dat the group was very DIVERSE .. Jamaicans, Trinis, Bajans, Bahamians and Guyanese. One thing is for sure no matta where dem come fram, they were a cohesive group. Nuff joke mi get a siddung watch dem interact with each other. Wan adi bess joke mi get a when the secretary announce that there were several people who have not paid their dues. But hear how shi sey it:
<span style="font-weight: bold">"Some people dues are over due and if we do not get payment by March 3rd, you all will get a letter saying unu cyaan come back here. An wi not joking"</span>
She jus talk di tings straight soh. Here mi now.. Yes girl - A SOH WI DOT IT! Dem buss out a laff
So when it was my time, the CSA VP introduced mi and when si came to the part where she sey I am Jamaican, di Jamaican crew buss out - BLOP BLOP!!! Lawd Gad mi jus pap up.
Oh and I was surprised by a Boardie Yes a Boardie showed up to surprise mi. She lives here in MD so shi took the trip down to B'more to tek in event.
Anyway, mi introduce di book.,.run some joke wid dem and read two stories and they were well received. Mi offer dem a "Poor Callege Student Discount" off di book and some a dem seh dem a goh a bank an come back an mi muss tan right which part mi deh. Lawd mi neva lef deh til 7 'aclak last night. But what was funny was dis Jamaican guy. Hear im:
"Ms Wright, yuh waan si mi naah get pay til next week an mi nyam aff di laas pay check. Plus yuh hear di Secretry a hastle people fi pay dem CSA dues an all dat mi owe. Soh hear weh mi ago do, gi mi di links an mi wi goh get it pan Amazon when pay day come"
So I gave them all bookmarks as token gifts. So di same Jamaican guy come up to mi ask mi fi autograph the bookmark. Now the material the bookmark is made of cannot be written on. So mi a show im seh mi cyan sign it ..im can bring someting else fi sign.
Im neva waan hear dat ..im seh "<span style="font-weight: bold">Jus scribble, scribble somting pan it ..even if it noh mek sense. Mi wi try canvince mi fren dem seh a real signature"</span> OMG that guy was hilarious
Mi wi post some pictras sometime tonite when mi get home.. I had a ball
Most importantly, the President says she is going to reach out to Towson State and other University to have them contact me for similar events. She was such a nice girl.
A Miss Nicola from Sangsters Book store in Jamaica just called me. They want a copy of the book sent to them ASAP. Dem gi mi wan lang set a instructions of what they want in a letter accompanied with the book.
When they get it, from there they will contact me for the next steps in getting the book sold on their shelves.
Ackee an Saltfish and roasin bresse..this is a MAJOR step!!
God is good!!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.