Re: The parishs of Jamaica
Up de road and round de corner is infamous in Jamaica. A Jamaican will tell you that for a five minute walk and a five hour walk. Mek no diffrence. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Lawd god, whenever a Jamaican tells me something is "just dung de road," I just turn around and forget it, for just dung de road is generally a euphemism in Jamaica that means you are going to waste your entire day on a fool's errand and you'll never quite reach "dung de road," at least not today. And if you do, whatever you needed dung de road surely will not be available when you reach.
So whenever a vendor in Jamaica insists that all I have to do is go dung de road, mi just kiss mi teet dem, put on fimi screw fayce, get irritable -- as only a Jamaican can, and mek dem know sey mi not trodding dung hany road!!!
Thank you Mr. Winkler. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Oh yeah, and Miss Lady mussy tink sey she riyal. Aftah how much time she gwen refer to di colored ladies dem and giving audience. Such racism and superiority disgusts me, regardless of the historical context,
Up de road and round de corner is infamous in Jamaica. A Jamaican will tell you that for a five minute walk and a five hour walk. Mek no diffrence. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Lawd god, whenever a Jamaican tells me something is "just dung de road," I just turn around and forget it, for just dung de road is generally a euphemism in Jamaica that means you are going to waste your entire day on a fool's errand and you'll never quite reach "dung de road," at least not today. And if you do, whatever you needed dung de road surely will not be available when you reach.
So whenever a vendor in Jamaica insists that all I have to do is go dung de road, mi just kiss mi teet dem, put on fimi screw fayce, get irritable -- as only a Jamaican can, and mek dem know sey mi not trodding dung hany road!!!
Thank you Mr. Winkler. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Oh yeah, and Miss Lady mussy tink sey she riyal. Aftah how much time she gwen refer to di colored ladies dem and giving audience. Such racism and superiority disgusts me, regardless of the historical context,