Re: The parishs of Jamaica
Frome was probably the closest "big" town to us, though we were quite distant from there.
I remember just how excited we'd get when we'd come back home from foreign. All those different shades of green and red and every other color on god's green Earth ready fi greet wi.
And the excitement my brothers and I would feel as we left the pavement behind and heard our uncle moan about how dutty dut road gwen mash up im cyar. As we'd pass rows and rows of crops and cow and goat and hen as we approached closer to home.
Of course, back in dem day deh, we nevah have no lectriksity nor running watah. Drawing a bath was an all morning affair. (You had to actually "draw" a bath back then -- as in draw the water from the well, heat it up, and fill the bath with it.)
Frome was probably the closest "big" town to us, though we were quite distant from there.
I remember just how excited we'd get when we'd come back home from foreign. All those different shades of green and red and every other color on god's green Earth ready fi greet wi.
And the excitement my brothers and I would feel as we left the pavement behind and heard our uncle moan about how dutty dut road gwen mash up im cyar. As we'd pass rows and rows of crops and cow and goat and hen as we approached closer to home.
Of course, back in dem day deh, we nevah have no lectriksity nor running watah. Drawing a bath was an all morning affair. (You had to actually "draw" a bath back then -- as in draw the water from the well, heat it up, and fill the bath with it.)