you ever notice how people always say that jamaicans too uppity..
I used to hear this all the time when people start talking bout jamaicans..
A wonder why?
I don't think that it is pride i just think that we think before we move and not the other way around....Yes we do have pride in certain area ex: School work, working to make money and bettering ourselves.
de ones wid broughtupsi, u should say, like for example, me hate when me get home and me daughter a greet me tru de window....dat bex me esee...wait till me reach inna de house man, cha, [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
bway inna school dem used to always ask me if me madda work more dan 2 jobs. And me proudly sey yes..To dem it was a joke dat jamaicans eva ah wukk at least 2 jobs (memba living color) . But to me it was life. She worked de 2 jab dem fi mek sure sey me nuh beg nuhbody fi ah ting!
So yes, me full ah PRIDE!!
so...
everybody saying that this is a good ting..
countryman to countryman..
So why people bex with we so..??
why dem always a stomp pon the jamaican man?
cho..
Originally posted by 777:
[qb] you ever notice how people always say that jamaicans too uppity..
A wonder why? [/qb]
I have "heard" people who have problems with Jamaican people say, that for them to come from a third world country (that's what Americans believe even if Ja. don't) they come here, benefit from free schooling and other privileges, get a good job or two, then act as though they were raised with a silver spoon in their mouth. That's the sentiment of conversations I've heard about Jamaicans as well as Africans.
I personally know some Jamaicans who were born in the country and act like they were born in England. I have a couple who have a nice 2 story home. Now, they want to move because more black people are moving in their subdivision that don't keep their yard as emaculate as they do. They may have a car in the driveway that does not work. They "look" like troublemakers. They have teenagers who have too much friends over. All of this as though they were brought up this way all them life. It disgust me. Especially when it's blacks talking about blacks. If white people were to have these same sentiments, they would be called racist. When white people protest public transportation coming in their neighborhood, blacks get on edge. They believe that buses will bring in the rift raft and thieves.
It's always a good thing to move up in the world, but don't act like you're better than anyone else and as if you never had it hard. When you get there, send the ladder back down for someone else.
I know Jamaican people to be hard workers and they have a right to enjoy what they earn and have. Same as any other group of people. No need to turn snobbish though. Nobody's jealous or impressed. Chance happeneth to them all.
It seems they worked very hard to make their life to be what it is now and want their neighborhood to be as nice as it was when they moved in. The actions of the newer neighbors regardless of race seems to be what they are taking issue. This pride displayed seems to be pride of ownership.
Originally posted by Kia027:
[qb] It seems they worked very hard to make their life to be what it is now and want their neighborhood to be as nice as it was when they moved in. The actions of the newer neighbors regardless of race seems to be what they are taking issue. This pride displayed seems to be pride of ownership. [/qb]
Part of this is true. But they are very judgmental of their neighbors. One evening I was there and she was so upset because the neighbors daughter had 2 or 3 young men hanging around the house all day in the absence of her parents. She talked about how fast the girl was and this and this. She wanted to go talk to the parents. Her husband said she cannot dictate what goes on at someone else' house. She finally shushed.
A few days later, she told me that the young girl came over to play with her toddler. She found out the girl is a bright student with plans to get a job and go to college. Her parents work hard. And she already prejudged the girl as soon having a baby because of the boys at here house. She had to take back her words.
Originally posted by 777:
[qb] you ever notice how people always say that jamaicans too uppity..
A wonder why? [/qb]
I have "heard" people who have problems with Jamaican people say, that for them to come from a third world country (that's what Americans believe even if Ja. don't) they come here, benefit from free schooling and other privileges, get a good job or two, then act as though they were raised with a silver spoon in their mouth. That's the sentiment of conversations I've heard about Jamaicans as well as Africans.
I personally know some Jamaicans who were born in the country and act like they were born in England. I have a couple who have a nice 2 story home. Now, they want to move because more black people are moving in their subdivision that don't keep their yard as emaculate as they do. They may have a car in the driveway that does not work. They "look" like troublemakers. They have teenagers who have too much friends over. All of this as though they were brought up this way all them life. It disgust me. Especially when it's blacks talking about blacks. If white people were to have these same sentiments, they would be called racist. When white people protest public transportation coming in their neighborhood, blacks get on edge. They believe that buses will bring in the rift raft and thieves.
It's always a good thing to move up in the world, but don't act like you're better than anyone else and as if you never had it hard. When you get there, send the ladder back down for someone else.
I know Jamaican people to be hard workers and they have a right to enjoy what they earn and have. Same as any other group of people. No need to turn snobbish though. Nobody's jealous or impressed. Chance happeneth to them all. [/qb]
I would move from the neighborhood too if the neighbors don't have pride in the way they live.
Not all Jamaicans are use to living like that,and it make me feel sick to see people eho degrade themselves .
MsGoodyTS states"But they are very judgmental of their neighbors. One evening I was there and she was so upset because the neighbors daughter had 2 or 3 young men hanging around the house all day in the absence of her parents. She talked about how fast the girl was and this and this. She wanted to go talk to the parents. Her husband said she cannot dictate what goes on at someone else' house. She finally shushed.
Dudd: This has absolutely nothing to do with the topic. That is the behavior of one person,and I am sure you will find many people of every nationallity,and possibly in your own family that displays such behavior.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.