Re: The Book of Job...
Ok. I am familiar with that bit of discourse between Job and God. Job asks God "what's the deal?". God never answers. He puts on this display of power to intimidate Job. How dare you question me?! Can you do what I do!? The entire spech by God is nothing more than a circuituos way of avoiding Job's question. Why didn't God just come out and tell Job the truth? Did he doubt that Job could handle such a horrible truth?
It seems God tries to guilt Job into not pressing the matter. At the end God implies that Job might be haughty and proud - both vices not found in pefect men. Why the contradiction? The effect is obvious however, Job feels bad about questioning authority and drops the matter - letting God off the hook.
God's actions here are reminiscent of a parent with a guilty conscience: A parent does something wrong or stupid. Child asks "why mommy?" BLOW!! - one bax reach im. "Bwoy yu a smell yu aam. Nu paas yu place. mi a yu mumma - doa question mi". Display of force and authority to hide guilt and shame.
Originally posted by Compry:
[qb]I glad you said that Heretic. Read Job 38 - 41. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [/qb]
It seems God tries to guilt Job into not pressing the matter. At the end God implies that Job might be haughty and proud - both vices not found in pefect men. Why the contradiction? The effect is obvious however, Job feels bad about questioning authority and drops the matter - letting God off the hook.
God's actions here are reminiscent of a parent with a guilty conscience: A parent does something wrong or stupid. Child asks "why mommy?" BLOW!! - one bax reach im. "Bwoy yu a smell yu aam. Nu paas yu place. mi a yu mumma - doa question mi". Display of force and authority to hide guilt and shame.