Re: miseducating black/negro
anno me whey a sey dat. dat a whey dr carter g woodson wrote. mi juss like fi laff wen mi see da joke inna imm writing bout blllk realitee.
Originally posted by Tropicana:
[qb] Blugiant so ALL Black people who go to White churches are going there because they want to be among the righteous
Poppy cock!!
I go to a predominantly white church. I would LOVE to go to a predominantly Black church and believe you me, I have tried. If there were a vibrant evangelical Black church that was not Pentecostal I would happily attend. When I went back and lived in Jamaica, there was quite a variety in the styles of worship and it was easy to find a church that had a style with which I was comfortable. Personally, I just can't take the style of worship in the Black churches here. The 2 1/2 - 3 hour services, the praise and worship that goes for OVER AN HOUR WHILE STANDING
, the songs that drag on AND ON AND ON for 15 minutes, the sermons of over an hour, THE NOISE!!!!
Do you realize that I have to wear earplugs and even then I have NO difficulty hearing everything that is being said. Before you jump on me about it, it was the son of a Black Pentecostal minister who suggested that to me. (Hot looking guy former football player who ALAS is married....you guessed it to
...nevah mind... won't go there.) I also find that, all too often, the sermons just aren't relevant. What's the point of going on and on about heavenly matters and never addressing the very real struggles that people confront in their daily lives and how the Bible principles can help you deal with them? It does NOTHING for me.
Anyway, I am not putting it down. A LOT of people enjoy that style of worship but it ain't for me. Why is it SO hard to understand that this is not everyone's cup of tea? Why the need to put people down just because they are not comfortable with a particular style of worship? Do you think that people should force themselves to go to a Black church even if they are not comfortable with the sytle of worship in the Black churches in their area? [/qb]
[qb] Blugiant so ALL Black people who go to White churches are going there because they want to be among the righteous
Poppy cock!!I go to a predominantly white church. I would LOVE to go to a predominantly Black church and believe you me, I have tried. If there were a vibrant evangelical Black church that was not Pentecostal I would happily attend. When I went back and lived in Jamaica, there was quite a variety in the styles of worship and it was easy to find a church that had a style with which I was comfortable. Personally, I just can't take the style of worship in the Black churches here. The 2 1/2 - 3 hour services, the praise and worship that goes for OVER AN HOUR WHILE STANDING
, the songs that drag on AND ON AND ON for 15 minutes, the sermons of over an hour, THE NOISE!!!!
Do you realize that I have to wear earplugs and even then I have NO difficulty hearing everything that is being said. Before you jump on me about it, it was the son of a Black Pentecostal minister who suggested that to me. (Hot looking guy former football player who ALAS is married....you guessed it to
...nevah mind... won't go there.) I also find that, all too often, the sermons just aren't relevant. What's the point of going on and on about heavenly matters and never addressing the very real struggles that people confront in their daily lives and how the Bible principles can help you deal with them? It does NOTHING for me. Anyway, I am not putting it down. A LOT of people enjoy that style of worship but it ain't for me. Why is it SO hard to understand that this is not everyone's cup of tea? Why the need to put people down just because they are not comfortable with a particular style of worship? Do you think that people should force themselves to go to a Black church even if they are not comfortable with the sytle of worship in the Black churches in their area? [/qb]
Here is annoda of carter g woodson excerpt
"In this effort to imitate, however, these "educated people" are sincere. They hope to make the Negro conform quickly to the standard of the whites and thus remove the pretext for the barriers between the races. They do not realize, however, that even if the Negroes do successfully imitate the whites, nothing new has thereby been accomplished. You simply have a larger number of persons doing what others have been doing. The unusual gifts of the race have not thereby been developed, and an unwilling world, therefore, continues to wonder what the Negro is good for. "