dey put up dem feet
an pictures of kids they do show
I find ‘em good deals on clothes washers
After work mi drive dem to de doctors
Der’s likkle time to sleep
Or put up mi feet
For friends - mi have over 100!
Reggae, dancehall, a likkle mento
Mi play it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img] fi cheer em when day’s over
Now jerk mi can cook
But no mannish watah soup
Mi no match fi their fine Jamaican mammas
And when the last peach has been pick
The season is gone much too quick
I need to visit your island
No work clothes mi be stylin’
To meet their likkle ones and red stripe mi sip
My name is Jane Andres and I own an irie likkle Bed and Breakfast in Niagara on the Lake, Ontario. We live in a neighbourhood surrounded by the peach orchards and vineyards. Men begin arriving from Jamaica to work in the orchards as early as February. Some stay as late as November working in nurseries and vineyards. It has been my privilege the last few years to become very close friends with many of the men and their families back home. My family has been deeply touched by their kindness, generosity and amazing resilience when times are tough. My daughter Kate and son-in-law Josh have joined me in helping with the music at their church services and we can really raise the roof with our jamaican friends. They are not shy with the microphone!! In May we held the first ever Worker Appreciation night with over 350 ( including the mayor and Minister of Justice ) in attendance . We want to let our community know how fortunate we are to have such wonderful people living and working in our midst!
Along the way we have become aware of improvements that need to be made to the SAWP ( Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program ) This last year I have become very involved with health and social issues of workers. Last week my Canadian friends and I scored a huge victory in the battle for one Jamaican worker to remain in Canada to receive health care. You can check out info on the Facebook page we started at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=6462882564 .
I’ve been invited to talk about the workers in schools and churches in spring and want to help our locals understand what a sacrifice it is for the men ( and some women ) to leave their loved ones for such long periods of time in order to provide a better life for them. I hope to create more opportunities to build friendships between the workers and local families here.
In early February I plan to fly to Jamaica to visit and take photos of as many workers and their families as I can. I am scratching together money for airfare and will be staying with worker friends and their families in Clarendon and St.Andrew. I do not have a place to stay in St.Elizabeth. Some of the families I have to visit are in Burnt Savannah, Lackovia, and Santa Cruz area. Button Bay sounds like a quiet place to rest up from a year full of challenges and changes made and will give me the opportunity to write down many of the stories that I am compiling. This past summer I have been promoting Treasure Beach to my guests who are looking for winter getaways!
I may be short on the humourous side of this submission but I have sure made a lot of Jamaicans laugh when they are at their “home away from home” in Canada!
Many thanks for considering this!
Christmas Cheers from Canada!
Jane
Dear Santa,
I am a canadian momma
Who work so hard spring, fall and summah
When the snow melts in spring
It mek mi heart sing
For my jamaican friends soon be a commin’
After work they ride bikes to mi home
They never have to feel alone
Mi put on some tea
dey put up dem feet
an pictures of kids they do show
I find ‘em good deals on clothes washers
After work mi drive dem to de doctors
Der’s likkle time to sleep
Or put up mi feet
For friends - mi have over 100!
Reggae, dancehall, a likkle mento
Mi play it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img] fi cheer em when day’s over
Now jerk mi can cook
But no mannish watah soup
Mi no match fi their fine Jamaican mammas
And when the last peach has been pick
The season is gone much too quick
I need to visit your island
No work clothes mi be stylin’
To meet their likkle ones and red stripe mi sip
My name is Jane Andres and I own an irie likkle Bed and Breakfast in Niagara on the Lake, Ontario. We live in a neighbourhood surrounded by the peach orchards and vineyards. Men begin arriving from Jamaica to work in the orchards as early as February. Some stay as late as November working in nurseries and vineyards. It has been my privilege the last few years to become very close friends with many of the men and their families back home. My family has been deeply touched by their kindness, generosity and amazing resilience when times are tough. My daughter Kate and son-in-law Josh have joined me in helping with the music at their church services and we can really raise the roof with our jamaican friends. They are not shy with the microphone!! In May we held the first ever Worker Appreciation night with over 350 ( including the mayor and Minister of Justice ) in attendance . We want to let our community know how fortunate we are to have such wonderful people living and working in our midst!
Along the way we have become aware of improvements that need to be made to the SAWP ( Seasonal Agricultural Workers Program ) This last year I have become very involved with health and social issues of workers. Last week my Canadian friends and I scored a huge victory in the battle for one Jamaican worker to remain in Canada to receive health care. You can check out info on the Facebook page we started at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=6462882564 .
I’ve been invited to talk about the workers in schools and churches in spring and want to help our locals understand what a sacrifice it is for the men ( and some women ) to leave their loved ones for such long periods of time in order to provide a better life for them. I hope to create more opportunities to build friendships between the workers and local families here.
In early February I plan to fly to Jamaica to visit and take photos of as many workers and their families as I can. I am scratching together money for airfare and will be staying with worker friends and their families in Clarendon and St.Andrew. I do not have a place to stay in St.Elizabeth. Some of the families I have to visit are in Burnt Savannah, Lackovia, and Santa Cruz area. Button Bay sounds like a quiet place to rest up from a year full of challenges and changes made and will give me the opportunity to write down many of the stories that I am compiling. This past summer I have been promoting Treasure Beach to my guests who are looking for winter getaways!
I may be short on the humourous side of this submission but I have sure made a lot of Jamaicans laugh when they are at their “home away from home” in Canada!
Many thanks for considering this!
Christmas Cheers from Canada!
Jane