Re: Coming In From The Cold...an unremarkable trip report
Originally posted by SUMMER BREEZE:
[qb] Soul Hunter what a story you have here!!!!
I registered just so I can tell you how AWESOME your report is..Dude you got SKILLS!
I don't want this to end..Can't you stay another Month? [/qb]
Thanks SB, and again, welcome to the site! I haven't quite figured out a way to stay down there for a whole month yet, but mi a work pon it!
”lord give me strength, to face another day,
to journey along life’s road, carry my heavy load,
give me strength oh jah to carry on
oh, my lord...”
Luciano - Lord Give Me Strength
day 10 cont…
I return from dropping Verna home to find the house filled with family and friends. Uncle C.W. has arrived with Mama and quite a few of her relatives and friends in tow. Aunt M.J., the mc for the evening has also arrived from Montego Bay with Aunt P.E. The party hasn’t officially kicked off yet, but people are arriving and the most important guest of them all is present. To be honest, there was a point where I seriously thought this party wouldn’t materialize. Mama had advised Moms on at least 3 occasions that she wouldn’t be coming to any party given all she was hearing about aunt T.P.’s condition. Mom had become frustrated to the point of canceling certain plans that had already been made. The hotel room for Mama, the large fruit-bowl from the Ocho Rios flower shop, among others. It took her actually hearing aunt T.P.’s voice over the phone for Mama to acquiesce and attend the party.
Uncle C.W., recently arrived with his wife and son from Florida, made their way down to Spanish Town and snatched her up along with her entourage and brought them back to Ocho Rios. Uncle C.W. is quite a character. Mama had three sons and seven daughters – all with “Papa” who has been lying in Dovecot since 2003. One of her sons passed away shortly after he was born. Uncle C.W. is the eldest, with Uncle E.W. rounding out the trio. Whereas uncle E.W. is (well maybe we should say was…) the pretty boy of the group, uncle C.W. is Mr. “quiet dependable.” Need something fixed, he’s the one to call. He spent the better part of his life in Jamaica, knows the streets like the back of his hand, and once he’s in Jamaica, it’s like he’s never left. So keeping that in mind, and understanding the general mindset of an enterprising Jamaican, allow me to share the most hilarious story I heard on this entire trip…
Uncle C.W. arrives in Jamaica, let’s say on Friday. Prior to departing Florida, he and his wife shipped some personal effects for a house they own somewhere in the Kingston/Spanish Town area. Of course this stuff has to go through customs, etc, which generally means a trip to the wharf by the owner to pay whatever duty has been assessed and take possession of it. Uncle C.W. had this stuff shipped in advance so that upon his arrival, he could simply head to the wharf, get the stuff and keep moving. Well I’ve already told you that time, customer service, and expediency in Jamaica move on their own terms. Anyone who has had to deal with Kingston Wharf knows that you're generally looking at one of the longest days in your life! C.W. gets there the evening of his arrival and of course is told he’ll have to come back the next day.
So Saturday arrives and he jumps in his rental minivan to head down there. As he’s making his way out of St. Ann, it occurs to him that he’s driving a 7-passenger van. It also occurs to him that he’s passing a lot of folks on the street who keep trying to wave him down for a ride…So what does he do? “wheh yu a go boss? Linstead? Rope in – have u money ready.” “Which part unnu a go? Ewarton? Alright, come in – mek sure seh unnu have exact change seen?!”
I understand that by the time he finally reached the wharf, he’d made enough money from his improvised taxi operation to cover the costs of clearing his stuff…
Mom allows the guest to gather, and finally decides to kick off this shindig when the reverend from the church next door arrives. He says a few words of thanks and appreciation to Jah for Mama on her special day, sends up some special words for aunt T.P., and what feels like 30 minutes later, aunt M.J. takes the stage to emcee for the rest of the evening. Of course, she promptly calls upon various members of the family to say a few words about Mama, and I dutifully take my turn describing how this gentle but strong woman, taught me what it means to be a man.
aunt M.J. doing her thing while Verna, aunt P.E. and Maggie look on
People are hesitant at first, but soon the house is rocking with stories of appreciation to Mama. It’s also not lost among the crowd that nobody knows exactly how old Mama really is. We seem to have arrived at the number 82 – but Moms believes it may be closer to 85. You see, Mama was born on February 29th – a leap year. As far as she’s concerned, she might be 50 [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] Whatever her age, it’s clear she carries a heavy burden this day. And I am tremendously relieved that before this night is over, that burden is lightened and laughter fights its way through the barricades of worry.
Mama’s smile makes the entire thing worthwhile, and for that Moms shares a smile as well
And so we slowly make our way around the room, everyone with their own special story of Mama’s impact on their lives. Given that only a small fraction of the family in the States made it down for the event, and that half of Spanish Town is somehow related to Mama and couldn’t make it, it’s a testament to her influence on so many people, that this small group takes close to 2 hours to say a “few” words about Mama.
you know it’s old school when they break out the plaid!
Aunt P.E. came through in the clutch with the “foreign cake” and with the crowd cheering her on, Mama blows out the candles on her 82nd (or so we think…) birthday.
The order comes down from uncle C.W. to start the music, and I throw in some Beres, Gregory, Bob and D. Brown to get the vibes going. After about the 6th song, uncle C.W. yells out “a wha kinda business dem ya u a play?” I fire back “how u mean, u no see a Bob dat a play?” You can imagine my chagrin when he retorts “move man – Bob dead. We no deh ya fi listen to no dead people!” [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] He then heads out to his car and comes back with what I can only describe as old people music. He’s playing stuff that may have been produced before even Mama was born! But it works…before anybody realizes what’s going on, Mama has taken to the dance floor with this blasted e-diat (more on him later…)
Mama is killing this kid with a wicked two-step. Her spirit is inspirational, and in minutes people are dancing all over the place.
While uncle C.W. is working the wheels of steel…err…Mom’s boom box…his wife and uncle E.W. look on, no doubt chatting somebody!
Uncle C.W. takes a break from his “spinning” duties to converse with the ladies, and judging by aunt M.J.’s look here, whatever he’s selling, she’s not buying…
Realizing his theory is falling apart faster than the SS Minnow, he returns to his assigned duties, and snatches up wifey for a dance, with Mama looking on and directing…
aunt B in a serious red outfit with, as moms would so delicately point out, di hol’ a her business a print out
Somewhere around Guinness number 14, uncle C.W. hits his stride. He calls up some lady from the crowd (with all of us watching nervously to see if aunt B a go reach fi har blade…) and puts on one piece a slackness inna di place!
I don’t even want to know wha Mama a tink ‘bout as she a watch dis ya display ya…
But uncle C.W. is just getting started! He throws on some soca song, and proceeds to demonstrate how the dance for this particular song goes…
first u haffi pull out u shirt
then u haffi ben’ dung and touch u toe
then round out everything (no reference to uncle C.W.’s belly of course..) by whining up u waist!
The party is a resounding success, and aunt M.J. makes it a point to commend Mom for having the strength to carry it through, despite all that’s been going on in the family. Mama laughed the night away, and for a brief moment experienced some calm in the middle of a rather turbulent storm.
Mom’s concern that she’s perhaps made too much food is quickly put to rest. There’s nothing left at the end of the night. At 0200 in the morning, a family friend is still working the grill!
Mom’s house is impressive to more than a few of the guests at the house tonight. But there are no airs of pretension here. No distinction exists here, between the have’s and the have’s not. Everyone in the house feels as though they belong, everyone has a good time, and on this night we all broke bread together to honor a very special woman.
from the former ambassador to Japan and his lovely wife…
to David, the grounds man for the church next door, his wife Lisa, and her daughter Kadian – all together, for one purpose
Given aunt T.P.’s condition in Florida, it’s good to see Mama smiling again, and I hope the memories carry over to strengthen her while aunt T.P. navigates this very treacherous road she travels. I spend the next hour or so cleaning up outside before calling it quits and hitting the shower. It’s now close to 0430 and I know the sun will be up in a few. Tomorrow promises to be a long day, particularly since it’s my last full day on the island. Hard to believe the time has come and gone so quickly. Seems like it wasn’t so long ago that I kept saying time seemed to be moving slowly.
I’ll try and grab some souvenirs for folks tomorrow, but since Mama is spending the night, I know that won’t happen until she leaves, and finding places open in Jamaica on a Sunday is damn near like finding a Rasta man at a pork-eating contest…
Hi, another interested reader. I'm reading through this and just up to day 5 and Annie Palmer. Is that how she died? Decades back I borrowed a book on her (twice) - in England it was classified as fact & in Australia as fiction. I never managed to finish it either time. Rose Hall is one place I cannot bring myself to ever go to.
(((Soul Hunter)))
Lawd, I have been waiting on the P A R T Y! You did not fail me at all you hear. You had me laughing so hard with your description of your Uncle from the moment you said he questioned your choice of music. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
Him and the lady dancing, I picture Mama and wifey in the background looking on. Wifey bringing out her blade, you not easy at all! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
You can really bring a story to life.
Your Moms house is simply lovely! Mama is beautiful, her spirit comes thru on the picture, reminds me of my Big Momma, the Matriach of the family. She was taken away from us in 1999, you brought so many memories and emotions back for me in this trip report of the dynamics of the Family.
What a smile you brought to my face and heart this morning. Thank You, Thank you! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
SH - I love those two-step shots by the pool. Reminds me of my parents who have been two-stepping for 40 years. No matter how much my husband and I try, we can't match the smoothness of that old school Jamaican two-step.
Thank you for sharing your Mama's party with us. Looks like you were able to lift her spirits during this difficult time and that's good for her and everyone...
Soul Hunter, loving your report just got back from a trip myself cleansing of the soul and spirit so to speak my eyes misted over when I read this in your report
A middle-aged Jamaican guy is sitting in row 27-C, the aisle seat. A slightly older Caucasian woman occupies 27 –D, the opposite aisle, with her 23-year-old daughter in tow. JA guy and Caucasian lady take a look at each other. Then a double, then a triple take. Finally, Caucasian woman breaks the silence and asks, “[a]re you so and so?” JA guy responds in the affirmative. Caucasian woman gasps and exclaims “I’m ‘so and so’, your sister!”
I met my jamaican sister for the first time four years ago (me seemingly caucasian) she black, same Dad different Mom we hugged and cried in the Airport at Kingston. Just brought back memories I am only up to page 2 but plan on finishing this report soon
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.