Thought everyone would enjoy a likkle update on whagwan a Yaad in my neck of the woods.
About a week after I arrived this time (Jan.11) someone tief about half of my beads & pendants, 2 jewelry tools, 16 finished pieces, a pair of men’s shoes (used) and a garden sprayer from my back porch. I had been always working out there on a big table to produce my jewelry, then covering up the table at night….when we went to bed, I turned off the outside light…BIG MISTAKE!! I lost about $1,500. worth of materials and jewelry!…guess I was too trusting about leaving things out in the yard overnight, even though I have a fenced yard and locked gate, plus the back porch is hidden by bush and a wall, so is not even visible from the road….it was a real blow that I still have not recovered from yet.
Everytime I start working on a piece, I start looking for one next bead and it’s not there…plus I really need one of the tools that was stolen to do a lot of my work. Selling some of these works was something I really depended on to make $ to pay my bills while I’m here….just something I’ll have to get over.
There were 4 of us sleeping n the house that night & no one heard a thing…was very windy. I did report it to the police, but I guess they figured I was an idiot for leaving everything out at night and I guess I was….life teaches some hard lessons.
These days I’m spending A LOT of time trying to get all the interior painting done in the new addition. The door frames are a real bi-ch. It seems that it’s very difficult to get any high grade lumber in Ja., so I not only have to paint, but sand everything well, because it’s way too rough to pass my inspection. I’m a stickler about finishing, so when things aren’t done to my satisfaction I just do it myself.
It seems that Jamaicans are not so concerned about the finishing of the woodwork as I tend to be…most have said, once it’s painted, it’s o.k., even if it’s rough!…I’m learning a lot since I’ve been here.
On the bright side, I just found a great seamstress right in Duncans whose prices are very reasonable and I really like her….sooooo, I’m thinking to give her some of the sewing work so that I have more time to finish painting, work on the yard and make jewelry.
I will post this in segments again, so bear with me…..
About a week after I arrived this time (Jan.11) someone tief about half of my beads & pendants, 2 jewelry tools, 16 finished pieces, a pair of men’s shoes (used) and a garden sprayer from my back porch. I had been always working out there on a big table to produce my jewelry, then covering up the table at night….when we went to bed, I turned off the outside light…BIG MISTAKE!! I lost about $1,500. worth of materials and jewelry!…guess I was too trusting about leaving things out in the yard overnight, even though I have a fenced yard and locked gate, plus the back porch is hidden by bush and a wall, so is not even visible from the road….it was a real blow that I still have not recovered from yet.
Everytime I start working on a piece, I start looking for one next bead and it’s not there…plus I really need one of the tools that was stolen to do a lot of my work. Selling some of these works was something I really depended on to make $ to pay my bills while I’m here….just something I’ll have to get over.
There were 4 of us sleeping n the house that night & no one heard a thing…was very windy. I did report it to the police, but I guess they figured I was an idiot for leaving everything out at night and I guess I was….life teaches some hard lessons.
These days I’m spending A LOT of time trying to get all the interior painting done in the new addition. The door frames are a real bi-ch. It seems that it’s very difficult to get any high grade lumber in Ja., so I not only have to paint, but sand everything well, because it’s way too rough to pass my inspection. I’m a stickler about finishing, so when things aren’t done to my satisfaction I just do it myself.
It seems that Jamaicans are not so concerned about the finishing of the woodwork as I tend to be…most have said, once it’s painted, it’s o.k., even if it’s rough!…I’m learning a lot since I’ve been here.
On the bright side, I just found a great seamstress right in Duncans whose prices are very reasonable and I really like her….sooooo, I’m thinking to give her some of the sewing work so that I have more time to finish painting, work on the yard and make jewelry.
I will post this in segments again, so bear with me…..