Re: Top of Jamrock! - The Blue Mountain Peak, Kingston, Negril and Ochi.
me late but still just in time to read along [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img]
Hi Magic.. welcome Ms. L. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70365-flirt.gif[/img]
Wow great report so far and waiting patiently for more
Well folks I had to go to NJ today for my sister's B-Day, and going to work tomorrow night for a 4 days trip, but I'll do my best to keep installments coming. L. doesn't have internet at her new place yet, so it may be the weekend before she's back. I think she's hooked on Ja.com though [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] , I couldn't get her away from the Board Tuesday. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Jamaica Miss... looking forward to meeting you again [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]
Lady Zed, unfortunately no Portland this trip, but we're thinking about heading there in October [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
Goldilocks and IM, the control tower equipment is a little old, and the radar was installed not too long ago, but then again so is a lot of the equipment in the US too. The controllers there are a great professional bunch, and you don't have to worry about anything flying in Jamaican airspace.
Sands, Swedish, MTG, Wanda, Sinco, Seveen, Laurel, Ms. Sunshine, BB, Donnika, Shezuk, Englan Girl and other, thanks for the support. Got nuff nuff more pictures and stories for you. Just be patient, do mi a beg yuh.
Part 5 – Sunday Drive
Having not slept in nearly 40 hours we were out for the count and slept through midday Sunday. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70394-sleeping.gif[/img] Church missed us, but the Sunday Drive didn’t. The West End Road is my favorite direction when heading out for a leisurely drive, or a bicycle ride for that matter. As we snaked around the cliffs some of the works of Ivan could be seen. Particularly when we approached Rick’s. The vegetation on the beach was also rearranged by Ivan, but time heals all wounds and everything it already growing back. When we got to the lighthouse I was surprised to see a new fence all around the property. This kind of restricted picture taking, and I couldn’t fine any groundskeeper to let us in. I’m not sure what the situation now is with the lighthouse, but we pressed on south.
Can you guess what L. is doing in this picture?
We stumbled across a “For Sale” sign in front of an unfinished guesthouse/ small hotel. There is a lot of work to be done on the property, but our combined imaginations only took a few minutes to complete the construction. Looking across the Caribbean Sea, the strong summer sun was reflecting brightly off the turquoise waves, creating a ribbon of light leading out to the horizons edge. It appeared to be a silver lining stretched across the water. The name of the guesthouse would be “Silver Lining Hotel”. Our daydreaming sessions also produced an infinity pool, a dining terrace with a view of a lush tranquil garden, and a spiral staircase leading to the beach below the cliffs.
The Cliffs.
The scenic coastal road finally parts with the sea and ascends into the hills. We stop for a moment to admire the view, before we continue up the hill and into the district. A typical Sunday scene unfolds. Old ladies wearing their Sunday best are heading home from Church. A cricket test is in progress in the field across from the rum shop, where surely there must have been a passionate game of dominoes in progress. And easy and relaxes ambiance hangs in the air.
Cricket Test
Every time I pass it, I always envy this one person's garden.
One of my favorites.
We pull up to the Whitehall ruins and see that some squattas have took up full residence on the grounds. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] One yute meets us at the gate announcing that we have just entered a Whitehall Nature Preserve Historical Site (or some other foolishness). The man proceeds to tell us the names of all the trees and flowers there about, and even though I don’t know much about the subject, I can tell he knows even less. The most entertaining part came when he told us about this very fragrant yellow flowering bush that we’ve seen on the side of the road scattered though out the Parish of Westmoreland.
“Mi nuh no wah it name, yuh know, but is Ivan bring it!”
Ivan? Ivan as in the Hurricane? Where him bring it from? Africa? How exactly him bring it. Was is already 3 feet tall and yellow when it drop from the sky? Bwai dis one Ivan mussi keep busy all week fi mek de yellow bush bring come and tek up residence in half of Jamaica, eh? Usually you hear about Gilbert, Ivan and other hurricanes taking things away. Not in this case. Is Ivan bring it! Lord have mercy, we get a good belly laugh out of that one. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
What a WONDERFUL read!!!!
Magic - this is my first run taggin along with you ... as ViVi would put it - you can work a pen.
BOAL!! Your recount of your Whitehall guide!! Did you chat back your challenge in Patios to him?? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Would have loved to have seen that exchange!
Would love to visit you and Missie Lie's Silva Lining as well. What a lovely vision you both have put forth!
Looking forward to more great fun with you both!
Being patient - just as you asked. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
At Whitehall did you see the old cottonwood tree? You have to walk back a little. Also when they are in season, there are mangos and you just help yourself.
Yes we had a "guide" meet us and start his patter and then wanted a "small" amount for his services. Too funny. But he did tell me some things I didn't know about.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.