Re: Top of Jamrock! - The Blue Mountain Peak, Kingston, Negril and Ochi.
Part 7 - Negril to Kingston and a lesson in "Soon Come"
Today we are driving to Town! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] It seems as though I do this cross-country drive every summer. I don't mind it at all. As much as I hate driving in the US, it is actually a pleasant experience for me in JA. Maybe it's because the drivers here are more predictable. Yes everyone pass everybody, and the rate of speed may seem excessive sometimes, but Yard drivers to me know what they're doing. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] When driving in the US you can't never tell what the person in front is going to do. People drive slow in the fast lane, fast in the slow lane, pass when you're next to them, and catch you by surprise. Mi jus cyaan bodda wid dat, yuh know. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] Inna Yard, when someone pass they use the horn, when you're in the other lane they make room, and you're in the loop at all times. You don't ever hear me cuss behind the wheel in JA. Now two minutes won't go by on the potholed streets of Detroit without some bad word raining down on the Michiganders! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Before we push out we do a quick stop at the bank. The very upscale Scotia Bank at that. There are a couple of lanes, and I line up in the longer line that does currency exchange. L. drags me over to a shorter line that handles non-monetary transactions. The line, although shorter, is hardly moving. A woman knows best [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] , so I don't say nothing. But L. is tapping her foot impatiently, and kissing teet at the guys in line that chat up the phyne tellers behind the counter. That's when I have to remind her that we are not in Farrin again. Relax. Our turn a soon come. Kingston nuh go grow foot an run gwaan. I only wear my watch at work, and never at home or in JA. On arrival, I immediatelly slow my pace accordingly, and basically try to live my life at a rate not much faster. For L. coming from the rat race at home, particularly her job, it took a little longer.
Part 7 - Negril to Kingston and a lesson in "Soon Come"
Today we are driving to Town! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70371-jump.gif[/img] It seems as though I do this cross-country drive every summer. I don't mind it at all. As much as I hate driving in the US, it is actually a pleasant experience for me in JA. Maybe it's because the drivers here are more predictable. Yes everyone pass everybody, and the rate of speed may seem excessive sometimes, but Yard drivers to me know what they're doing. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] When driving in the US you can't never tell what the person in front is going to do. People drive slow in the fast lane, fast in the slow lane, pass when you're next to them, and catch you by surprise. Mi jus cyaan bodda wid dat, yuh know. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] Inna Yard, when someone pass they use the horn, when you're in the other lane they make room, and you're in the loop at all times. You don't ever hear me cuss behind the wheel in JA. Now two minutes won't go by on the potholed streets of Detroit without some bad word raining down on the Michiganders! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]
Before we push out we do a quick stop at the bank. The very upscale Scotia Bank at that. There are a couple of lanes, and I line up in the longer line that does currency exchange. L. drags me over to a shorter line that handles non-monetary transactions. The line, although shorter, is hardly moving. A woman knows best [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] , so I don't say nothing. But L. is tapping her foot impatiently, and kissing teet at the guys in line that chat up the phyne tellers behind the counter. That's when I have to remind her that we are not in Farrin again. Relax. Our turn a soon come. Kingston nuh go grow foot an run gwaan. I only wear my watch at work, and never at home or in JA. On arrival, I immediatelly slow my pace accordingly, and basically try to live my life at a rate not much faster. For L. coming from the rat race at home, particularly her job, it took a little longer.