Trini dishes it to Jamaica....Ministry strikes back
Re: Trini dishes it to Jamaica....Ministry strikes back
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Go back to the other thread on this and read Tuff Gong's posts.
He asked that why should the reporter have to go to the various Jamaican government ministries and the point is that what can one expect to get from them? Denials and attempts to mitigate the bad news that everyone already knows is true.
Rather than address the bad "news" by trying to rectify those problems; coming up with the solutions people are upset and are shooting the messenger and pointing fingers at T&T.
It is addressing the symptoms of the problems rather than the cause.
As usual. </div></div>
i couldn't care less about the ministry...ever heard the saying that those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones?
i may be a little dense on this and he has every right to report on anything he wants about jamaica; but it is strange that he totally ignores his own homeland which has made news in recent times for surpassing jamaica's murder rate...since he was touching on the caribbean, was this not relevant?
what am i missing here? fill me in
This why I don't like to quote Wiki...there is a glaring discrepancy here as to how the information is presented...at the same time if it is true, check it and draw your own conclusions...tbc
Statistics [FOR JAMACA]
GDP: purchasing power parity - US$11.3 billion (2004 est.)
GDP - real growth rate: 1.9% (2004 est.)
GDP - per capita: purchasing power parity - US$4,100 (2004 est.)
GDP - composition by sector:
agriculture: 6.1%
industry: 32.7%
services: 61.3% (2004 est.)
Population below poverty line: 19.7% (2002 est.)
Household income or consumption by percentage share:
lowest 10%: 2.7%
highest 10%: 30.3% (2000)
Inflation rate (consumer prices): 9.4% (1999 est.)
Labor force: 1.14 million (2004)
Labor force - by occupation: services 63.4%, agriculture 20.1%, industry 16.6% (2003)<span style="font-weight: bold">
Unemployment rate: 15% (2004)</span>
Budget:
revenues: $2.27 billion
expenditures: $3.66 billion, including capital expenditures of $1.265 billion (FY98/99 est.)
Industries: tourism, bauxite, textiles, food processing, light manufactures, rum, cement, metal, paper, chemical products.
Industrial production growth rate: NA%
Electricity - production: 6,386 GWh (1998)
Electricity - production by source:
fossil fuel: 92.7%
hydro: 2.21%
nuclear: 0%
other: 5.09% (1998)
Electricity - consumption: 5,939 GWh (1998)
Electricity - exports: 0 kWh (1998)
Electricity - imports: 0 kWh (1998)
Agriculture - products: sugarcane, bananas, coffee, citrus, potatoes, vegetables; poultry, goats, milk
Exports: $1.4 billion (f.o.b., 1999 est.)
Exports - commodities: alumina, bauxite, sugar, bananas, rum
Exports -<span style="font-weight: bold"> partners: United States 39.5%, European Union (excluding UK) 15.6%, United Kingdom 12.1%, Canada 11.5% (1998)</span>
Imports: $2.7 billion (f.o.b., 1999 est.)
Imports - commodities: machinery and transport equipment, construction materials, fuel, food, chemicals, fertilizers
Imports - partners: United States 50.9%, European Union (excluding UK) 9.5%, Caricom countries 10.4%, Latin America 6% (1998)
Debt - external: $3.8 billion (1998 est.)
Economic aid - recipient: $102.7 million (1995)
Currency: 1 Jamaican dollar (J$) = 100 cents
Exchange rates: Jamaican dollars (J$) per US$1 – 80.83 (January 2009), 70.0 (December 2007), 62.5 (September 2005), 45.7 (June 2001), 41.139 (December 1999), 9.044 (1999), 36.550 (1998), 35.404 (1997), 37.120 (1996), 35.142 (1995)
Fiscal year: 1 April–31 March
See also : Jamaica
Information for TnT
GDP: purchasing power parity - $22.93 billion (2007 est.)
GDP - real growth rate: 5.5% (2007 est.)
GDP - per capita: purchasing power parity - $21,700 (2007 est.)
GDP - composition by sector:
agriculture: 0.7%
industry: 57.7%
services: 41.5% (2006 est.)
Population below poverty line:<span style="font-weight: bold"> 17% (2007 est.)</span>
Household income or consumption by percentage share:
lowest 10%: NA%
highest 10%: NA%
Inflation rate (consumer prices): 7.6% (2007 est.)
Labor force: 618,000 (2006 est.)
Labor force - by occupation: agriculture 4%, manufacturing, mining, and quarrying 12.9%, construction and utilities 17.5%, services 65.6% (2006 est.)<span style="font-weight: bold">
Unemployment rate: 5.4% (2007 est.)</span>
Budget:
revenues: $6.591 billion
expenditures: $5.649 billion, including capital expenditures of $117.3 million (2006 est.)
Industries: petroleum, chemicals, tourism, food processing, cement, beverages, cotton textiles
Industrial production growth rate: 8% (2007 est.)
Electricity - production: 6.049 billion kWh (2004)
Electricity - production by source:
fossil fuel: 99.27%
hydro: 0%
nuclear: 0%
other: 0.73% (1998)
Electricity - consumption: 7.704 billion kWh (2007)
Electricity - exports: 0 kWh (2005)
Electricity - imports: 0 kWh (2005)
Agriculture - products: cocoa, sugarcane, rice, citrus, coffee, vegetables; poultry
Natural gas - production: 39.92 billion cu m (2007 est.)
Natural gas - consumption: 37.29 billion cu m (2007 est.)
Natural gas - exports: 21.03 billion cu m (2007 est.)
Natural gas - imports: 0 cu m (2007)
Natural gas - proved reserves: 702.8 billion cu m (1 January 2007 est.)
Oil - production: 120,000 bbl/day (2007 est.)
Oil - consumption: 24,770 bbl/day (2007 est.)
Oil - exports: 202,100 bbl/day (2004)
Oil - imports: 91,780 bbl/day (2004)
Oil - proved reserves: 605.8 million bbl (1 January 2007 est.)
Current account balance: $3.884 billion (2007 est.)
Exports: $14.13 billion f.o.b. (2007 est.)
Exports - commodities: petroleum and petroleum products, liquefied natural gas (LNG), methanol, ammonia, urea, steel products, beverages, cereal and cereal products, sugar, cocoa, coffee, citrus fruit, vegetables, flowers<span style="font-weight: bold">
Exports - partners: US 59.8%, Spain 5.3%, Jamaica 5.2% (2006)</span>
Imports: $6.477 billion f.o.b. (2007 est.)
Imports - commodities: mineral fuels, lubricants, machinery, transportation equipment, manufactured goods, food, live animals, grain
Imports - partners: US 30.6%, Brazil 12%, Venezuela 6.8%, Gabon 4.7%, Colombia 4.6% (2006)
Economic aid - recipient: $200,000 (2007 est.)
Reserves of foreign exchange and gold: $6.761 billion (31 December 2007 est.)
Currency: 1 Trinidad and Tobago dollar (TT$) = 100 cents
Exchange rates: Trinidad and Tobago dollars (TT$) per US$1 : 6.2842 (2005), 6.2990 (2004), 6.2951 (2003), 6.2487 (2002), 6.2332 (2001), 6.2697 (2000), 6.2963 (1999), 6.2983 (1998), 6.2517 (1997), 6.0051 (1996), 5.9478 (1995)
Stock of direct foreign investment - at home: $12.44 billion (2007)
Stock of direct foreign investment - abroad: $1.419 billion (2007)
Market value of publicly traded shares: $15.57 billion (2006)
Fiscal year: 1 October - 30 September
[edit] See also
Stolen from Littleman's thread because it sheds MORE light on what is really happening between TnT and Jamaica...there's more than meets the eye...There's no smoke without fire.
stolen from Littleman's thread
<span style="font-weight: bold">There are three areas where Jamaica has real cause for concern, one of which Mr Golding dealt with only tangentially. The first is the complaint his government has raised about the egregious trade barriers faced by Jamaica, whose imports, including oil, from CARICOM in 2008 reached US$1.68 billion, against exports of a mere $66 million. Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and Belize are the main, but not the only, offenders.</span>
..and:
<span style="font-weight: bold">This is not only an assault on a fundamental assumption of a seamless economic space but, more critically, it is a vulgar attack on the psychology of integration..</span>
"the psychology of INTEGRATION"...interesting...as far as *I* can remember, I never thought there was ANY integration, ever..
We remember even the attitude on the Parkway come the first Monday in September, when it was viewed as a strictly TnT affair and attitudes towards Jamaicans who were daring to be a part of it so go figgah...now/then they had NO choice BUT to INCLUDE other islands because they were up against the NYC establishment who were not only ready but willing to throw their arse off the Parkway; and they got smart and figured that it would be harder to "fight" so many other countries rather than TnT alone...[the Crown Heights Jews were hell bent on getting the parade off the Parkway]..so as simple, naive or even crazy as that sounds, there were and still are deep wounds festering that need healing. tbc
...and to keep the balance here: start of a long hot summer in Jamaica?
The piece from a website...published on Sunday. 5 July 2009...last edited..Friday, 19 June 2009
Sunday, 5 July 2009, 8:00PM - 9:00PM
Ep2
Episode:
Production house:
* Plum Pictures
Press contacts:
* Lyndsey Weatherall
[email protected]
Picture contacts:
* Peter Gray
[email protected]
In the second part of his journey, Sir Trevor discovers three parts of the Caribbean which all have one thing in common –<span style="font-weight: bold">they are all defined by money.</span>
He visits Barbados, a luxury haven for the rich and famous, and<span style="font-weight: bold"> the home of one man who is so wealthy he owns much of the island.</span>
He travels to poverty-stricken Jamaica, a country blighted by violence and drugs, and meets<span style="font-weight: bold"> the British girls who have been jailed for drug-smuggling</span> and the local women trying to turn their lives around through music.
And his first stop in the second programme is the Bahamas – the wealthiest<span style="font-weight: bold"> outpost</span> of the Caribbean where many of the 700 islands have been bought by rich foreigners.
World famous magician<span style="font-weight: bold"> David Copperfield</span> owns Musha Cay, the most expensive resort in the Bahamas, where he charges guests $350,000 for a week’s stay.
Trevor is whisked across the crystal clear blue sea in a James Bond-style speed boat to meet David for a guided tour of the 11 islands which make up the resort. He also takes him to his very own sand bank – two miles of nothing but pure white sand in the middle of the ocean.
David says: “It’s one of the most magical places on earth. It’s pretty much like heaven probably is. It is an amazing, one of a kind, special place.”
Trevor leaves the Bahamian paradise behind to board a seaplane bound for Jamaica and a very different Caribbean experience. As the plane touches down<span style="font-weight: bold"> Trevor admits to feeling anxious about exploring the country:</span>
“Jamaica is the most vibrant but also the most violent island in the whole region.<span style="font-weight: bold"> It has a dark side, and I arrived at Kingston airport full of anticipation but also trepidation as to what I would discover.”</span>
The country has regions of extreme affluence, like the Beverly Hills district with its luxurious mansions, but in the valleys life is very different. Debts run up in the 1990s have spiralled out of control and the country is in economic ruin. Many areas have been plunged into poverty and are run by dangerous gangs, resulting in a soaring murder rate which is 30 times higher than it is in Britain.<span style="font-weight: bold">
Trevor is shocked to see men with sub-machine guns patrolling the streets when he visits a market run exclusively by gangs. Colin Smikle, an ex-gang member turned social worker, explains that the police are not welcome at the market which operates outside of the law – as well as selling fruit and veg, dealers are illegally selling marijuana.</span>
Colin talks about Jamaica’s gang culture, which sees 1500 people a year murdered, and recalls his own brush with death - he was shot as he walked down the road. In Kingston Trevor visits a neighbourhood ruled by gangs, where straying on to the wrong side of the street could mean the difference between life and death.
Illiteracy is high in the city and<span style="font-weight: bold"> 75 per cent of people are unemployed </span>but Trevor meets two girls hoping to turn their lives around through the group Area Youth, a project aimed at uniting young people in the ghettos through music.
The group persuaded the gang leaders to let them run their project as an alternative to the devastation caused by gang warfare and now the gang’s ‘Godfathers’ are so supportive of this truce that they are prepared to punish anyone who breaks the peace.
Danille and Tisha invite Trevor to a special performance of a song they wrote which was inspired by the tragic shooting of a baby caught in crossfire. It stormed the charts in Jamaica last year. After listening to their performance Trevor visits the home of the founder of Island Records, where Bob Marley convalesced after being shot during gang violence.
Trevor says: “The inspirational Area Youth are the latest in a long line of artists who’ve tried to rise above the violence and poverty of Kingston. The most famous of all, of course, was Bob Marley. I wonder whether Danille and Tisha will ever be free of their area’s violence to carry forward Bob Marley’s legacy of preaching peace and one love.”<span style="font-weight: bold">
Jamaica has a reputation as the drugs capital of the Caribbean – marijuana is a leading illegal export and cocaine is smuggled into the country from South America on its way to the west. Trevor goes to Fort Augusta, one of three maximum security prisons in Jamaica, to visit some of the 19 British women serving time for drug smuggling.</span>
One 22-year-old, jailed for 12 months for smuggling 29lbs of marijuana, tells Trevor about the terrible conditions in the prison and how she lives in hope that when she is free she won’t fall foul of the law again and end up back in jail.
Trevor tells her: “You must more than hope, you must make sure.”<span style="font-weight: bold">
He adds: “Many of the women here are first time offenders, and very remorseful. It is sad seeing these young women wasting away precious years in a Jamaican prison four thousand miles from home.”</span>
Before leaving Jamaica, Trevor takes a trip up a perilous road to the Blue Mountain coffee plantation where David Twynam and his family battle to run their business in the face of adversity due to the unforgiving terrain and hurricanes which put the crops under threat.
The 45 degree slopes make picking treacherous and nine major hurricanes in the last ten years have ruined crops.
David says: “You can see bare bits of hillside where the hurricane has literally ripped trees out of the ground. That is symptomatic of what has happened to mine and other farms. It’s decimating. It’s not just the crop you’re losing, the trees take four or five years before they’re back again. It’s destroying not just that crop but crops for years to come.”
The plantation manager shows Trevor around the site and outlines the process from growing, picking and roasting the crop before giving him a sample of the coffee which sells for $40 per pound.
Trevor’s final stop in the Caribbean is Barbados where he visits the most famous celebrity haunt on the island, the Sandy Lane Hotel, which boasts many famous guests including Elton John and the Queen.
And he meets wealthy property developer <span style="font-weight: bold">Sir</span> Charles Williams who owns vast amounts of the island. Trevor visits him at his plantation mansion house where he lives with his wife and their pet pig, and he takes in a polo match where each and every horse on the field of play is owned by Sir Charles.
He shows Trevor his latest development,<span style="font-weight: bold"> a £425m golf course with luxury villas, and his most prized creation – the appropriately named Port St Charles marina,</span> haven for many high rollers, including Bill Gates who moors a yacht there.
Sir Charles built his empire from scratch, but his critics say with developments selling for $7m, the only people to benefit are the super-rich.[/b]
Charles says: “The Prime Minister made his message clear, he said, ‘Don’t do anymore.’ Because he said it was having an impact on the social structure, and I obeyed him, like a good boy.[/b]
“There were three ambitions I had, a pretty wife, a nice sports fisherman boat and a fast sports car, and all three cost me a fortune.”<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-size: 20pt">
Trevor says: “Charles is proof that if you have enough money the Caribbean can be a very accommodating place.”</span></span>
Last edited: Friday, 19 June 2009
**chukkle** aaaye sah, ashes cowl, maawga daawg liddun in deh
Now after giving this a little thought, I will not venture to kwestian what would motivate the<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-style: italic"> "Sir"</span> to stoop so low and allow himself to be used in such a despicable manner by the producers behind the programme; to be even ridiculed and become the object of intense angst, by his fellow West Indians</span> or is he no longer a "West Indian" so he can now perch himself on a pedestal and throw stones at Jamaica?
What could he bin smoking? Some bad herb? What could posses the "gentleman" to stoop so low...is this a case of "He stoops to Conquer?" or a case of "A comedy of Errors?" While it might rival "She stoops to Conquer" for comedy...it is more the latter in the true sense of the word...mi haffie tek bad sinting mek laff...
I don't think Jamaica or Jamaicans should let such humor ruffle them; afterall look who [I could have said "what"] "they" put in front to carry out their dirty work to lambaste Jamaica..
...but as *I* said before about the piece of yellow piece Journalism, "Sand and Sun" or something like that, the "orchestrators" of these pathetic pieces of "writing" that only serve to irritate and inflame, "they" need to look back at their history...and I will repeat..
I sincerely hope they remember the "violence" that Jamaica was founded on, the violence that the British and the Spaniards wreaked on the island in the earlier centuries that he is really talking about...the Buccaneers who used to pillage rape and rob to the extent that Port royal was dubbed the "City of Death/Blood"<span style="font-weight: bold">
By the 1660s, the city had gained a reputation as the Sodom of the New World where most residents were pirates, cutthroats, or prostitutes. When Charles Leslie wrote his history of Jamaica, he included a description of the pirates of Port Royal.</span>
...and all this was when black people in Jamaica were still slaves at this time, so they need to check their history.
Again, Jamaica might just be living out the curse, the curse wrought upon it by the white man who visited the shores and turned a once peaceful habitat into a jungle..just like any other place that they set foot on, including Mother Africa and India for starters..
Til now annitime mi hear bout pirates, mi immediately think of the stinking Bucaneers who used to jrink and p-iss up demself and Port Royal.
Did he turn down the assignment, but was forced to do it, or else?
While I haven't seen the documentary just reading the piece quoted above...it is clearly that some one is "short on the Facts about "TnT" and should have left it out of the equation..
The piece is clearly biased, not that there isn't bias in MOST journalistic work, but it lacks sensitivity on many fronts...here he was being figuratively<span style="font-weight: bold"> shoved around, slapped in the face</span> USED, with the fact that most of the properties in these islands are owned by whites while the blacks are still sucking salt from wooden spoons.
What a travesty!!
..and he couldn't even seet, he was too busy being used.....poor "Sir".
Now mi did post dose, err those pieces from Wiki [often unreliable] to do a little comparing and contrasting, and get a feel for where the "Sir" was hailing from...in any case, it isn't even worth the effort...if TnT has so much money evidenced in their exchange rate, and their economy is so thriving, why is it that their unemployment rate and crime rate rivals that of Jamaica?
Something is missing from the puzzle here.
Anybody heard why he had to go and visit the British drug mules?...look like seh, somebody has an axe to grind, no? Mebbie the motive is for the Jamaican government to give them early release from jail...
Note the deficit in the trade balance between them and Jamaica...we are killing each other to find money to buy their goods and boost their economy, while we are being shafted in the true sense of the word..Strange!
As I said, while there are many truths in the piece, there is room for a lot of skepticism as well...the motive alone would indicate that..I seriously doubt the "piece" about gangs marauding in Kingston with shotguns openly.
The quick draw Jamaican Police would see to that immediately...and the news would be saturated with reports HOURLY, if not minutely, reporting the "shootouts at Coronation Market et al"...so I think it is a blatant lie, and again raises question as to why someone would <span style="font-weight: bold">stoop so low</span> to be used a pawn in presenting falsehoods as these?
I will lay this to rest, by giving excerpts of writings depicting earlier Britain and what went down as some of their growing pains...
<span style="font-weight: bold">
Sir, I hate to say it, but you were used, JUST like a piece of toilet paper!</span>
<span style="font-style: italic">Selah</span>
<span style="font-size: 14pt">Divide and conquer</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"How such a professional, celebrated journalist could present such a biased, unbalanced view of Jamaica while pitting it against the perception of idyllic utopia of wealth and luxury of The Bahamas and Barbados, as if no crime, and/or poverty driven activities exist there, were clear signs of our colonial conditioning of divide and conquer," she said.</div></div>
The above is is asked and answered by Janet Silvera. No doubt, many Jamaicans are asking the same questions and why he went out of his way to belittle Jamaica... I am angry but not really surprised by this attempt. Jamaica seems to have become a whipping boy lately. Recently, we had a journalist from one of the UK publications asking the question: What has happened to PARADISE Island? and went on to paint a very negative picture of Jamaica. We were all chagrined and incensed by his portrayal of our homeland. I think and will say that these messengers of "ill-will" towards us, are cogs in a big wheel selected to do a "number" on us... A Trini from the country of Trinidad & Tobago, more "economically viable" than Jamaica was chosen to "rub salt in our wounds".... ~ <span style="font-weight: bold"> "Look what wi come to"!!!</span> ~ Personally, this bodders me...
These occurencies are not coincidents, To that end, they appeared to be orchestrated and delivered by design... "HOW MUCH OF THIS CAN WE TAKE" before we the Jamaican diaspora tell "them" to really <span style="font-weight: bold">back off?.</span> By them, I mean their UK masters and those dedicated to walk all over Jamaica. Earlier I said I was not surprised at this latest knock on us. Why? Sir Trevor McDonald, a "knighted" Trinidadian must have been delighted to take on this assignment at the bidding of his U.K. masters. ~ We Jamaicans are not liked or loved by these folks of the Lesser Antilles because they've always envied our role in the region and the world at large. Trinidadians are at the top of the list of those in the Caribbean <span style="font-weight: bold">who like us the least</span>...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-size: 14pt">Divide and conquer</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"How such a professional, celebrated journalist could present such a biased, unbalanced view of Jamaica while pitting it against the perception of idyllic utopia of wealth and luxury of The Bahamas and Barbados, as if no crime, and/or poverty driven activities exist there, were clear signs of our colonial conditioning of divide and conquer," she said.</div></div>
The above is is asked and answered by Janet Silvera. No doubt, many Jamaicans are asking the same questions and why he went out of his way to belittle Jamaica... I am angry but not really surprised by this attempt. Jamaica seems to have become a whipping boy lately. Recently, we had a journalist from one of the UK publications asking the question: What has happened to PARADISE Island? and went on to paint a very negative picture of Jamaica. We were all chagrined and incensed by his portrayal of our homeland. I think and will say that these messengers of "ill-will" towards us, are cogs in a big wheel selected to do a "number" on us... A Trini from the country of Trinidad & Tobago, more "economically viable" than Jamaica was chosen to "rub salt in our wounds".... ~ <span style="font-weight: bold"> "Look what wi come to"!!!</span> ~ Personally, this bodders me...
These occurrences are not coincidents, To that end, they appeared to be orchestrated and delivered by design... "HOW MUCH OF THIS CAN WE TAKE" before we the Jamaican diaspora tell "them" to really <span style="font-weight: bold">back off?.</span> By them, I mean their UK masters and those dedicated to walk all over Jamaica. Earlier I said I was not surprised at this latest knock on us. Why? Sir Trevor McDonald, a "knighted" Trinidadian must have been delighted to take on this assignment at the bidding of his U.K. masters. ~ We Jamaicans are not liked or loved by these folks of the Lesser Antilles because they've always envied our role in the region and the world at large. Trinidadians are at the top of the list of those in the Caribbean <span style="font-weight: bold">who like us the least</span>...
.. </div></div>
Hi Barosa, you have hit the nail right on the head.
As I said nobody should really get upset over this, filled with pity for the "Sir" but not angry.
They asked how does a "professional celebrated journalist?" What a misnomer! Anyone can write for the tabloids, hey! If he really wanted to come across as savvy in all this, he should have visited that hospital that I spoke about, where I heard that patients lay in the ER for as much as five days before they are seen...can anyone imagine this with all their money?
As poorly as Jamaica is, this sort of thing isn't happening there. In fairness, that is what the "Sir" should be focusing on, journalism to bring attention to society's ills; not biased reporting to inflame and incite.
What's this guy has done also is to show that "knighthood" don't mean chit...maybe it is just a sign of subservience and arse kissing; afterall, there are folks who have turned it down...he should have, that and the assignment..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hi Barosa, you have hit the nail right on the head.
As I said nobody should really get upset over this, filled with pity for the "Sir" but not angry.
They asked how does a "professional celebrated journalist?" What a misnomer! Anyone can write for the tabloids, hey! If he really wanted to come across as savvy in all this, he should have visited that hospital that I spoke about, whre I heard that patients lay in the ER for as much as five days before they are seen...
As poorly as Jamaica is, that isn't happening. In fairness, that is what the "Sir" should be focusing on, journalism to bring attention to society's ills; not biased reporting to inflame and incite.
What's this guy has done also is to show that "knighthood" don't mean chit...maybe it is just a sign of subservience and arse kissing; afterall, there are folks who have turned it down...he should have, that and the assignment..</div></div>
Brits, you sure are passionate when it comes to expressing your views especially when it comes to individuals who allow themselves to be used and blatantly so! I took one look at his photograph and decided that he was a <span style="font-weight: bold">sellout artist</span> working for his former colonial masters.. It's funny, but as youngster in Jamaica listening to elders discussing the pros and cons of Jamaican receiving "knighthoods", I came to my own conclusion that "it was no big thing"... When I realized that there were several orders of knighthoods and only the lowest ones were offered to Colonials... I'm sure "his" was no better but if it made him feel GOOD, all power to him, but he should keep treasure and keep "his" wihout trying to be a reporter on Jamaican affairs.
It's time that Jamaica establish some rules and guidelines for those who may wish to visit us to report and to scandalize our internal affairs however unseemly they may be... What they are trying to do is to damage our Tourist Industry and we should fight back... As an example, those who rub us the wrong way by "words and deeds" could be refused landing rights, "persona non grata" if you get my drift... We now have two well known ones for starters. To be honest, we are the cause of what has and is happening to us and what they are doing is likened to <span style="font-weight: bold">kicking a man when he's down...</span> Our leaders need to stiffen their backbones and declare <span style="font-weight: bold">Enough is Enough!</span> while they set a "new course" even if it takes a civil war to turn Jamaica around... If we are able to do that, then Trinidad and Guyana would compete for our title...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Brits, you sure are passionate when it comes to expressing your views especially when it comes to individuals who allow themselves to be used and blatantly so! I took one look at his photograph and decided that he was a <span style="font-weight: bold">sellout artist</span> working for his former colonial masters.. It's funny, but as youngster in Jamaica listening to elders discussing the pros and cons of Jamaican receiving "knighthoods", I came to my own conclusion that "it was no big thing"... When I realized that there were several orders of knighthoods and only the lowest ones were offered to Colonials... I'm sure "his" was no better but if it made him feel GOOD, all power to him, but he should keep treasure and keep "his" without trying to be a reporter on Jamaican affairs.
It's time that Jamaica establish some rules and guidelines for those who may wish to visit us to report and to scandalize our internal affairs however unseemly they may be... What they are trying to do is to damage our Tourist Industry and we should fight back... As an example, those who rub us the wrong way by "words and deeds" could be refused landing rights, "persona non grata" if you get my drift... We now have two well known ones for starters. To be honest, we are the cause of what has and is happening to us and what they are doing is likened to <span style="font-weight: bold">kicking a man when he's down...</span> Our leaders need to stiffen their backbones and declare <span style="font-weight: bold">Enough is Enough!</span> while they set a "new course" even if it takes a civil war to turn Jamaica around... If we are able to do that, then Trinidad and Guyana would compete for our title...</div></div>
I thought that I was the only one who looked at that photo and formed an opinion, but as I say, we won't shoot the messenger...pity definitely.
See what I mean, one would think that bearing the <span style="font-weight: bold">LABEL</span> of "Sir" would involve some automatic bestowing of common sense to some. [not all] Far from it, in addition to the fact that they are still beholden to the Crown...**chukkle* What a position to be in!!
Now, you touched on a very important issue here, the permitting/non-permitting of entry to our country. What I find hilarious is the sad joke that they come in to interview the average Joe Bloke who will say anything for a meal, [prolly like the "social worker/ex gang member] or even a FEE..and then they run off with it and say that they are reporting on Jamaica; when they don't realise that they have been given false information, in other words "gypped" for one square meal/bly.
This is a part of the "Comedy of Errors."
I do get your drift, and support it one hundred percent.... because of who we are, a people noted for our hospitality, plus tourist oriented... our doors are always wide open to anyone and everyone even if they come a-grinning with ill intent. In the same vein declaring <span style="font-weight: bold">persona non grata</span> in some cases seem highly warranted.
At the same time, we mustn't allow this bloke to further deepen the wounds between TnT and Jamaica, if so, then "they" would be able to say <span style="font-weight: bold">fait accompli.</span>
Hey Barosa et al,
Check this out from Ms. Gloudon:<span style="font-weight: bold"> Sir Trev-aw of Britain via Trinidad, is not the first British journalist to gain fame with a hatchet job on this country. It has become de rigueur to unmask Jamaica's dark side. It goes with the territory, but what can we do to make them stop "tekking liberty wid we"? We should know the answer by now, don't you think? Could it be that they're reading the headlines we create every day?</span>
A gwine ded..."Trev-aw" (rhymes with "maaaw" like cow maw..)
Ah wondah hiff dis guy knows how funny * some a wi* perceive him to be?
Just as yuh said, what tuh do tuh mek dem stap tekking libattie wid wi..
Yes, they might be reading the headlines we create everyday, BUT THEY ARE IN THE SAME PREDICAMENT, OR WORSE, although they have more money than Jamaica, so??
Any Jamaican dignify annie a dem dat much to bring their dirty linen to wash in the streets? At least we mind our own dutty bizniz.
Link.. heresoh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey Barosa et al,
Check this out from Ms. Gloudon:<span style="font-weight: bold"> Sir Trev-aw of Britain via Trinidad, is not the first British journalist to gain fame with a hatchet job on this country. It has become de rigueur to unmask Jamaica's dark side. It goes with the territory, but what can we do to make them stop "tekking liberty wid we"? We should know the answer by now, don't you think? Could it be that they're reading the headlines we create every day?</span>
A gwine ded..."Trev-aw" (rhymes with "maaaw" like cow maw..)
Ah wondah hiff dis guy knows how funny * some a wi* perceive him to be?
Just as yuh said, what tuh do tuh mek dem stap tekking libattie wid wi..
Yes, they might be reading the headlines we create everyday, BUT THEY ARE IN THE SAME PREDICAMENT, OR WORSE, although they have more money than Jamaica, so??
Any Jamaican dignify annie a dem dat much to bring their dirty linen to wash in the streets? At least we mind our own dutty bizniz.
Link.. heresoh </div></div>
Thanks for link britisha, I'm also drawn to this portion below.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It would be enlightening to know what is Sir Trevor's response now to the vehement reaction of the Jamaican Brits who have been "most wrought-ed" and have taken to dispatching vehement electronic messages to the Jamaican media, expressing their outrage at Sir Trev's lack of respect for this land we love.
Our High Commission in London has expressed its disfavour at how our nation's image has been tarnished yet again. The Tourist Board is not amused either. <span style="font-weight: bold">Already one can hear the horses of public relations being saddled to ride forth into Sir Trev's territory,</span> to defend our precious tourist trade from the slings and arrows of trepidatious smearing of our holiday trade. We already have that iniquitous ticket tax business to deal with.</div></div>
I guess the "Sir" Trevor, would most likely think of Britain as his territory. What I don't know is whether he was knighted in his native twin state of T&T or since he lived in the UK... It really shouldn't matter because he has lost stature in the eyes of Jamaicans everywhere!... When an immigrant from the WI living in Britain allows himself to be "used" for negative purposes against a member of his own geographic region, it tells us that he is a "big time Sellout"... As a "bawn Trni", he has further damaged the relationship between Jamaica and Trinidad and may be contributing towards affecting the relationship between Jamaica and the UK... He should be BANNED forthwith from visiting Jamaica again... People who tek libbati wid wi, both "User and Usee" should feel our wrath and by starting with him, it should send a message to others of his ilk that we will no longer accept such behaviour... Enough is Enuff!!!
"Enuff is Enuff" but who is to tell that this won't happen again and again?
They will find a way to sneak into Jamaica because first and foremost, I doubt we will be able to know what really brings them to o ur shores since they could LIE that they are there to visit as a tourist, among other things.
While some might call this a tempest in a teapot, I am moe and more inclined to think that there is something afoot.
I promised to post something about the British in their formative years as a nation, and I am now promising to post an article I read today with regards to Trinidad's attitude towards some other islands, including Jamaica and economics.
As I said before, <span style="font-style: italic">ashes cowl, maaga daawg liddung in deh</span>..
*sigh*
<span style="font-style: italic">mi soon cum back...gawn ketch a shuteye</span>...was up all nite last nite..