that's sad [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Re: map of volatile areas of kingston
map of ghettoes, bad areas, danger zones, garrisons of kingston
same article and map but with a feedback area
I wonder if the government is seeking help. Esp. since it's a country that's heavily depended on tourism? Some people some time ago were joking that they need a guiliani to clean the place up and I think one is really needed. that's ridiculous!
I wonder if the new PM is doing enough to get investment there as to produce more jobs?
So many companies are investing in China, India and so on, why not Jamaica?
We get a lot of so-called FDI, just has not produced any tangible results.
Trust mi if the GOJ si disyah map yah dem gwine goh ballistic…!
What's "GOJ"?
The Government of Jamaica.
Tivoli, did always bad from marning..from me eye deh a me knee..
how come a dont see the word Denham town..
dat was a place a Kingston dat did offa Spanish town road, where gunshot was prevalent..
U member dat deh tuff Gong... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
TG how u know the GOJ don't already know of these maps and update them every so often from green areas to amber to red and visa versa? They know of other maps the public may not know about too, like...
1. Maps of areas for tourism and future developments
2. Maps of areas of natural minerals and resources - chalk, bauxite, marble, gold etc.
3. Maps of areas of prime realestate and future devlopments
4. Maps of areas for businesses and future developments - plaza, banks, office buildings,hotels etc.
5. Areas where there are ethnic communities - chinese, asians, germans, jews, muslims etc.
If I was in the government these would be vital information for the development, investment, security and job creations . [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
If the GOJ don't know of green, amber and red spots in kingston and islandwide, then they are trully in the dark. Even banks and insurance comapanies in Jamaica, I would expect to know of green, amber and red areas for obvious reasons.
TG how u know the GOJ don't already know of these maps and update them every so often from green areas to amber to red and visa versa? They know of other maps the public may not know about too, like...
You have missed my point. I meant if they knew a map such as this was published.
Tivoli, did always bad from marning..from me eye deh a me knee..
how come a dont see the word Denham town..
dat was a place a Kingston dat did offa Spanish town road, where gunshot was prevalent..
U member dat deh tuff Gong... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
Tivoli was always bad?
There was a lot of shooting in all areas in the 70s.
Remember Tivoli Gardens is only about two City Blocks.
You have missed my point. I meant if they knew a map such as this was published.
OK, but I don't think they would go ballastic [img]/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
I have noticed that certain areas I used to frequent and thought were green spots are now amber spots - Constant Spring for example. My sister who lives there tells me the area has changed since I left the island. Her apartment have security at the gate with CCTV and you have to give your name and state your business at the gate to secuirty. They then ring the apartment over their intercom and if the residence decide to see you they open the big steal gate - which slides open and let you in. Even security with dem big gun, German Shepherds and Rottweilers patrol the grounds and fence parameter.
This is sad, it is like living in a prison. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
What's "GOJ"?
\0/
My sister who lives there tells me the area has changed since I left the island. Her apartment have security at the gate with CCTV and you have to give your name and state your business at the gate to secuirty. They then ring the apartment over their intercom and if the residence decide to see you they open the big steal gate - which slides open and let you in. Even security with dem big gun, German Shepherds and Rottweilers patrol the grounds and fence parameter.
This is sad, it is like living in a prison. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
Sounds like the building I lived in growing up in NYC, minus the gate. When I was little you could just walk in, by the time I was 12, step by step, they added intercom, camera, etc.
Isn't that fairly common in large cities?