LOL
Not used to claiming little blue cars, but yes, a fi mi!
New twist in the story..
Budget actually charges your card for deposit, instead of holding an authorisation for deposit amount. Just got my card statement. They charged me $10US more for the deposit that I signed for, and refunded $10 less. They claim that they didn't. At this point I think it's easier to dispute it with the credit card than fight the imbecils in Budget.
I don't normally condone any business on this site, but Budget in Jamaica ginnal AND teef!
Lotsa good advice here... I always drive when I go home.. and have used different companies at one time or the other - I have used:
HERTZ - Good customer service / cars in good condition / I think the prices are competitive - give or take a few dollars
AVIS - Outstanding customer service / good vehicles / prices go up and down (they saved me last year - I rented a 15 seater bus as I was traveling with a bag ah family - had to exchange twice with original rental company CHALIS because the tires were worn and skidded terribly - eventually just gave it back an rented from AVIS who had better prices and vehicles in better condition.
CHALIS - well see story above
DHANA - good experience with them - they even brought the car to Kingston although they don;t have an office there - didn't like the car / van though - the back windows didn't open an no one wanted to sit back there
Based on reviews here I may try ISLAND CAR - although I already have a reservation with DOLLAR.
Made reservation with them last month kept getting confirmation don't forget to pick up etc. Got to Montego Bay at noon no van, me ask when will it be ready sorry on van and they won't have any for the two weeks we would be there.
As I'm talking to them guess what came in on my phone..yep another email bout don't forget to pick up van.
Never leave the airport until 4:30pm because Hertz help us out
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bizi_Oh_Em_Gee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So, Island is the only place unu rent from??
mi a look a private rental inna de mobay/negril area </div></div>
have rented privately, but, like Xchangin money w/ the guy under the tree in the market
have vague misgivings about liabilit y etc. in a worse case scenario.
i am curious about renting from a company, but for a JA driver.
Have never rented a car anywhere, and wonder if ...under my name but somebody else drives --that kind of stuff. Is it allowed. Is there a way to make it all okay?? or what???
if you rent and someone else drives, you are liable if an accident occurs. now, if your ja driver is present and presents his drivers license you pay a surcharge for a second driver. that's the best option.
since i'm putting down the deposit, no one drives my rental.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ja. Jewel</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sooooooooooo, thinking about driving yourself dis trip, Bandi? ...good luck!...I been driving for awhile now and do OK without my "backseat" driver to make me nervous, but<span style="font-weight: bold"> it did take me awhile to </span> is not as hard for me as<span style="font-weight: bold">get used to it, but the OTHER side of the road</span> to site out the potholes, and you shouldn't have to deal with much of that if you stay on the new hwy.....no betta way fi learn den .jus dweet youself! </div></div>
Driving on the left feels natural as long as you have a car with the steering wheel on the right. They don't all, so make sure you get one that does
Driving around is <span style="font-weight: bold">great! </span>Easily the best way to see <span style="font-style: italic">all </span>of the island.
i think it is wise to use expedia or travelocity to search many car companies at once, because the rental companies listed have worked fine, they are all major players. eurocar is who i am to rent from in may. they are right in the airport and one week including taxes is going to be $190.35!! this is such a no brainer price for a four door with trunk toyota yaris car. to see jamaica by moving at your own pace and direction to me is the best. i am an experienced driver there but i think anyone that can handle cities in the u.s. should be able to drive there. the freedom is awesome. at present the low price seems to have moved up to $211 and change with taxes for one week..........
Has any one used Dhana car rental? The rates look good.
I read something on Trip Adviser to the effect of the collision damage waiver only covers over $3500 Does that mean you could be liable for the 1st $3500??????
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.