actually Laurel it's relatively reasonable, not too expensive at all compared to some, it's by no means a 'fancy shmansy' place, just well-appointed. that's what i loved about it, not all modern and glitzy, but with an 'old world' style vibe, very classy, very welcoming & homely. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] and Vi i can't wait to actually SEE the pictures! (when i reach home)
But since my typical budget is JahB's 35.00/nite - well, almost ANYTHING aside from my lil cottage is more than I am willing to pay~!
ok i ain't sayin i'm cheap [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] but, like we all do, i'm constantly doing the mental comparison calculation....... which goes something like "well GEEZ, i could stay X nights at JahB's for that" -- and once i have that thought in my head, i'm done! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] ~ BOAL ~!
VI!!!
Great report so far....as always anyway. I am going to keep up this time. I never even got to open your last report. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] So I am especially looking forward to this one.
BTW, what are the prices like at Rayon? That is if you don't mind sharing. It looks lovely, and Negril is the next stop for me.
OMGoodness COOL! how exciting I gotta save this till i get home [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70371-jump.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/icon_hug.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vi</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I wish I had spent more time on this patio…it overlooks a small garden. The lounge is mad comfortable. Great place for a evening nap.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">VI!!!
Great report so far....as always anyway. I am going to keep up this time. I never even got to open your last report. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] So I am especially looking forward to this one.
BTW, what are the prices like at Rayon? That is if you don't mind sharing. It looks lovely, and Negril is the next stop for me. </div></div>
OH Pepper!!!! No wonder you never responded to the food pictures me dedicate to you. Me did think you boycott de repart. Sorry you didn’t see it. Well, this one will remain and I’m so glad you are staying with the ride.
The prices are $100 a night peak season, for the room. I believe it drops to about $90 off season. When are you doing Negril. Would be great if it’s around my reach time. Would love to hang all night with you. You party like I do!!! Ahhh yeah! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/discosmilie.gif[/img]
Nanook, yes there are ground level room. Sammy and I had rooms on that level.
Sorry Luvsdaislands…got a bit tied up here at work. Oh, I don’t post on the weekends, so after this installment, check back on Monday afternoon. I plan to do a heap of writing before then. Soooo PLEASE stay with me. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
The Rayon
I’ve been getting emails asking about the location of the Rayon. It’s across the street (diagonally) from Coco LaPalm. Here are contact numbers: Ms. Pansy at 876-957-9166, Fax 876-957-9387, email [email protected]. Let her or the staff know where you heard about the hotel.
Get to the cambio and it’s packed. I want to leave because I don’t do well in small spaces occupied by a lot of people. But I stand in place and wait my turn because I have no Jamaica currency and all my US bills are large ones. I need to be here.
Finally after 25 minutes I’m next. I place three Benny’s in the slot under the Plexiglas wall shield by an iron grid. The voice from the other day asks for ID. Dyam. I tell him I didn’t bring it with me. He returns 2 of the Benny’s back to me and said he will cash one but bring the ID next time. I apologize, thank him and tell him in a very appreciative way. “I will bring it next time.” As he counts out the money, he adds. “Three sign pon the wall say ID required. You were in here long enough fe read de sign. But you made me ask for the ID and you noh have it.” He counts the bills again prolonging my embarrassment. Finally he slips it through the slot and reminds me again to bring my ID next time.
I get in the car and thank the driver for waiting. I tell him I forgot my ID and the teller gave me a little grief. “How you forget your ID, Vi? You need it to change you money.”
“I know…I just forgot.”
You would think I wouldn’t want that to happen again…but it did. I forgot my ID again. Remember, Tee??? This is NOT new, I have to show ID in states…well sometimes I think things here are so different when they aren’t.
“Where to now?’
“Back to the hotel, a friend arrives today and I want to be there when she checks in.”
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Vi</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">VI!!!
BTW, what are the prices like at Rayon? That is if you don't mind sharing. It looks lovely, and Negril is the next stop for me. </div></div>
OH Pepper
The prices are $100 a night peak season, for the room. I believe it drops to about $90 off season. </div></div>
Still feeling a little deflated after the cambio thing, I decided to sit by the pool for a while. The room phone rings…it’s Mokatee.
“Vi. How are you?”
“I’m good.”
“Sammy just called. She’s on her way.”
“Okay. Thanks, Tee.”
Suddenly hearing from Tee and she telling me Sammy has landed turned my mood completely around. Things got even better. While outside, I made two new friends.
I met his little cutie and her mother. I fell in love with Cee Cee immediately. I invited her and her mother in for sweeties and something cold to drink. Cee Cee went to town on a strawberry blow pop while mamma and I chatted. She’s young, but has a great head and a strong focus. She listened patiently to my motherly advice which made me feel good. I remember a Baby Phat purse I had with me and gave it to her. She loved it. I enjoyed their company so much I didn’t want them to leave. Cee Cee is only two, but has a vocabulary as strong as any 5 year old I know.
Our little visit came to end. I invited them back after I transfer to the Beach Club. We can take Cee Cee on the beach than back to my place for lunch. She said she would try. We exchanged contact numbers, stole 3 kisses and 2 hugs from Cee Cee and they left. I didn’t see them any more that trip, but we chatted before I left and since I’ve been home. I don’t want to lose contact with them.
I’m in Tee’s room when the knock on the door finally comes. It’s Sammy!
After the expected hugs, laughter and of course screams are out of the way, the party is on. Sammy is hungry and we are too. We decide on Chicken Lavish. We hop a taxi and jet. Talking and laughing all the way.
My first time eating here. We talk…A LOT filling Sammy in on the last two days.
My fried chicken was excellent.
Here is Sammy’s curry chicken. (photo by Sammy
I think Tee took more pictures then me. I was too busy stuffing my face and talking so I’m a little short on the photos from our first meal together.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.