<span style="font-weight: bold">Captains log: 12:30 PM, August 6th, 2008.</span>
With barely concealed excitement we place the last of our suitcases in the truck and head out the door… We do one last run through… tickets X check… passports X check… cameras X check… books X check… anything forgotten now is just not going to make the trip.
We will go by private car, taxi, airplane, and boat to get to our final destination… 6,291 miles… 13 hours to get as close to paradise as there may possibly be on this earth… Hula dancers, the exotic, heady scent of the Tiare flower, Leis and Volcanoes…. The South Pacific Ocean… French Polynesia!
We land in Papeete, Tahiti at approximately 12:30 AM August 7th… I am super tired not having slept well on the flight over. Not the fault of the Air Tahiti staff who are exceptionally friendly, and warm, and who go out of their way to ensure that the passengers want for nothing… more so because I am excited and my mind is racing and refuses to settle down… well, also because the seats in the plane are not the most comfortable… but who cares – I am in Tahiti and there is a welcome song and a lei, even at 1AM on a Thursday morning.

Accompanying the Lei is a smiling woman, who guides us to our driver who will take us to our hotel. Bags are safely stowed and we are off to the Sofitel Tahiti. Checking in is a breeze and we are too tired to do anything but fall into the bed… with vague plans to go to Papeete Market the next day.
With barely concealed excitement we place the last of our suitcases in the truck and head out the door… We do one last run through… tickets X check… passports X check… cameras X check… books X check… anything forgotten now is just not going to make the trip.
We will go by private car, taxi, airplane, and boat to get to our final destination… 6,291 miles… 13 hours to get as close to paradise as there may possibly be on this earth… Hula dancers, the exotic, heady scent of the Tiare flower, Leis and Volcanoes…. The South Pacific Ocean… French Polynesia!
We land in Papeete, Tahiti at approximately 12:30 AM August 7th… I am super tired not having slept well on the flight over. Not the fault of the Air Tahiti staff who are exceptionally friendly, and warm, and who go out of their way to ensure that the passengers want for nothing… more so because I am excited and my mind is racing and refuses to settle down… well, also because the seats in the plane are not the most comfortable… but who cares – I am in Tahiti and there is a welcome song and a lei, even at 1AM on a Thursday morning.

Accompanying the Lei is a smiling woman, who guides us to our driver who will take us to our hotel. Bags are safely stowed and we are off to the Sofitel Tahiti. Checking in is a breeze and we are too tired to do anything but fall into the bed… with vague plans to go to Papeete Market the next day.

Hope you are on the mend!

dem nuh know seh we transcend mere marriage and life eeh?