I would like to know if I have been visiting a different Jamaica. The reason for asking this is because I keep on reading how violent jamaica is and 1500 people died of violence in 2007. Each time I have been to Jamaica i have seen no violence and the people are friendly. Just woundering
Jamaican violence
Re: Jamaican violence
I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
He came up with alot of interesting stories of incidents in the area.. I recall a few years back they held up the Chinese store.. A few months back there was a shoot out just outside spauldings.. The petrol station in Spauldings was held up. I also know the Phamasy was held up but not reported.. A friedn of mine shot some one who was trying to steal his clothes in Mandiville.. There was a couple Cambios held up...Last year the Asian couple in Mandiville was kidnapped... but my favorite was when two guys with rented guns tried to hold up a Bar in Walderston.. The patrons were armed and one commpent was
"when deh bwoy a crawl out yu shoulda did hear im a beg fi im mada"..
Notice all the houses have burgular bars..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Notice all the houses have burgular bars.. </div></div>
dat is jus decorations[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img]When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
He came up with alot of interesting stories of incidents in the area.. I recall a few years back they held up the Chinese store.. A few months back there was a shoot out just outside spauldings.. The petrol station in Spauldings was held up. I also know the Phamasy was held up but not reported.. A friedn of mine shot some one who was trying to steal his clothes in Mandiville.. There was a couple Cambios held up...Last year the Asian couple in Mandiville was kidnapped... but my favorite was when two guys with rented guns tried to hold up a Bar in Walderston.. The patrons were armed and one commpent was
yu not suppose to tell ppl dese tings [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70390-shhh.gif[/img] ...dem will seh yu is a sell out [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
dat is jus decorations[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img] </div></div>
woieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
ahem [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img] yes notice the intricate details on the bars. sheer craftsmanship
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tek_weh_yuhself</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
dat is jus decorations[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img] </div></div>
woieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
ahem [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whistle.gif[/img] yes notice the intricate details on the bars. sheer craftsmanship </div></div>
Burglar Bars of the finest level of workmanship - of fine steel (a very good conductor of electricity)... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img]
Oh we have our share of voilence - just be glad that you have not met him...yet.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
I have a friend who is a Chief of police on one of the cities, in my fair state, and when he talks he always talk about crime. when I talk i do about the health and disease scene.
In other words if it is yoyr business to know aboyt th edrime you know about it. So his experience is not to be used as a yard stick to measure crime in Jamaica.
I have lived in Jamaica and visited for years, yet I have not witnessed a violent crime in person.
So crime is there,but you don't always come in comntact wit it, or you would avoi d the place antway.who would want to be in proximity to such happennings too often anyway??
<span style="color: #FF0000">Very, very</span> well put Dudd.
On a side note - I was robbed at gunpoint, in Ochi, broad daylight, in a grocery store with other customers, 3 years ago.
When I was home last month, a neighbor of our community was shot and killed while on his front porch.
That's just the beginning. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
______
<span style="color: #330000">Cover Story, Wed, 12 Mar 2008
79-y-o Businessman Slain
by Kevin Peart
A well-known senior citizen was shot and killed as he slept on his verandah in Gayle, St Mary, Friday evening.
Dead is 79-year-old Harold Tracey, a farmer and businessman, of Gayle in the parish. Mr Tracey was killed by a single gunshot wound to his head, at about 10:20 Friday night, March 7, while he slept in a couch on his verandah.
Report of the shooting soon spread in the community resulting in dozens of people at a nearby wake converging on the Tracey family house.
Tracey occupied a six- bedroom dwelling just outside the Gayle square along with his son, Lenworth Tracey and his wife, and their two (2) children.
Lenworth said he went home Friday night, at about 9:30 pm and saw his father, asleep in a couch on the verandah. He said he told him goodnight, and went inside the house to have dinner with his wife and children. He said he later left the house, at about 10:15 pm, to go to Gayle Square, which is about five (5) minutes drive away, to purchase a phone card.
While in Gayle, he said he received a phone call from his wife, who told him that she heard the glass breaking, and what sounded like two gunshots shortly after, andthat she and the two children were hiding inside the back room.
Lenworth said he quickly drove back to the house, to see what had happened. He said he approached the house cautiously, entering through the rear door. He said he crawled toward the verandah, to check on his father. Upon reaching the verandah, he said he called his father three (3) times, without response. Lenworth said that he looked on the couch where he had left him, and saw Mr Tracey lying in the same sleeping position, with his face and upper body covered with what appeared to be blood. He said he went to have a closer look at his father. He said he was not moving, and appeared to be dead.
Lenworth said he then called his brother who was in Ocho Rios and told him what had happened, and then the Gayle Police Station, to report the incident.
Lenworth said that police officers from the Gayle station arrived within minutes, to investigate the matter. He said he could see that a glass window on the verandah, near the couch where the elder Mr Tracey was, had been broken.
Lenworth said he and his wife and children were taken to the Gayle Police Station, where they gave statements.
Lenworth expressed his grief, as he remembered his father, for whom he had been planning an eightieth birthday celebration, in October this year. Tracey had ten children, four (4) daughters, and six (6) sons, one deceased.
Harold Tracey was a cattle farmer and land owner, who came to Gayle to live some forty five years ago, after moving from Moneague, in St. Ann. Tracey had previously worked at Reynolds Jamaica Mining Company, for several years before retiring.
He was still active, often traveling to Moneague area.
Area residents told The Times that whoever killed Mr Traey must have known of his habits because he often spent much of the evening on the verandah. A police source told the Times that there were reports of someone having a grudge over a land dispute that had been settled. However police had no leads.</span>
ST ANN ATTORNEY PERSON OF INTEREST ANGRY RESIDENTS BLOCK POLICE PATH AFTER FATAL SHOOTINGS 13-Y-O IN POLICE CUSTODY AFTER WOUNDING CLASSMATE WITH CHAIR OCHI HIGH STUDENT DIES AFTER ATTACK AT SCHOOL 2 COPS MAIN SUSPECTS IN ST MARY BUSINESSMAN’S MURDER LATEST NEWS NEWS 2 MEN FATALLY SHOT BY POLICE IN PORTLAND April 22, 2026 LATEST […]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
I have a friend who is a Chief of police on one of the cities, in my fair state, and when he talks he always talk about crime. when I talk i do about the health and disease scene.
In other words if it is yoyr business to know aboyt th edrime you know about it. So his experience is not to be used as a yard stick to measure crime in Jamaica.
I have lived in Jamaica and visited for years, yet I have not witnessed a violent crime in person.
So crime is there,but you don't always come in comntact wit it, or you would avoi d the place antway.who would want to be in proximity to such happennings too often anyway?? </div></div>
Whenever I read the news, I always have fear of going to Jamaica, but everytime I go I've asked myself what the fuss is all about and I go to Kingston 11, which is where my family members live and they are the ones I visit. I will hear on the radio that someone was killed the night before, but I usually spend at least a month and don't hear one gunshot, or experience any violence (thank God).
I am not trying to excuse what is happening, but I think these things can happen anywhere.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Sad_Puss</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
yu not suppose to tell ppl dese tings [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70390-shhh.gif[/img] ...dem will seh yu is a sell out [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img] </div></div>
who care bout some over-angry under-sexed idiot who cyaan tek an opinion for what it is, an opinion.
Talk di ting yahhhh, crime deh every weh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MrsMarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Sad_Puss</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I like the Spauldings area.. But there is violence there.. One of my best friends is now a Khaki suit and covered area 3....
yu not suppose to tell ppl dese tings [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70390-shhh.gif[/img] ...dem will seh yu is a sell out [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bubble.gif[/img] </div></div>
who care bout some over-angry under-sexed idiot who cyaan tek an opinion for what it is, an opinion.
Talk di ting yahhhh, crime deh every weh </div></div>
kikiki [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]