Sunday School Memory
at gilnoch church they had service first, sunday school after. so basically, the adults got to go home early, while us pickney stay behind and then go home when the sun was at its hottest and most merciless.
mrs pottinger was an okay sunday school teacher, i dont really remember any song she teach mi. once in a while she took pity on us and we hungry belly and give us some biscuit to hold us for the long walk back home inna sunhot. sometimes we got sweetie money, and we'd stop and buy icy mint at the shop halfway between church and home - IF it was open.
i dunno, i can't really say that i was shaped by anything i learned in sunday school. it was just some place you went because it was expected, though a lot of the boys got away with skipping it. the best time was christmas and easter, cause then they had lickle play and ting, and you got to perform.
in hindsight, it was a good thing that kids attended the full service with adults - i got to know so many hymns that stayed with me and that still i love and find a comfort to sing. when i got to canada and find that the kids were basically segregated from the adults at the start of the service, i thought the kids were really losing out.
We used to sit in church for the first half then right before the sermon we went to Sunday school.
One really hot humid day this little girl buck right off the front row bench and landed BOOM on her farrid on the tile floor. first time I ever saw a black man turn grey (the pastor in the pulpit)
I think UKBlacklady lived my life sunday all day, Sunday evening till 11pm some nights, Wednesday night prayer meeting, Saturday evening choir practice or youth meeting and various goh a sick people yaad fi pray fi dem any evening of the week (or many)
AND the long everlasting waiting for the Parents as they had long conversations with people they saw YESTERDAY
who could figet vacation bible school
we went couple years and then the parents realize it nah guh work out and it was back to country runnings
I can't even figure out why my madda did send us guh deh in the flipping fuss place
like seriously ???? vacation. bible. school.
Originally posted by mountaingal View Postat gilnoch church they had service first, sunday school after. so basically, the adults got to go home early, while us pickney stay behind and then go home when the sun was at its hottest and most merciless.
mrs pottinger was an okay sunday school teacher, i dont really remember any song she teach mi. once in a while she took pity on us and we hungry belly and give us some biscuit to hold us for the long walk back home inna sunhot. sometimes we got sweetie money, and we'd stop and buy icy mint at the shop halfway between church and home - IF it was open.
i dunno, i can't really say that i was shaped by anything i learned in sunday school. it was just some place you went because it was expected, though a lot of the boys got away with skipping it. the best time was christmas and easter, cause then they had lickle play and ting, and you got to perform.
in hindsight, it was a good thing that kids attended the full service with adults - i got to know so many hymns that stayed with me and that still i love and find a comfort to sing. when i got to canada and find that the kids were basically segregated from the adults at the start of the service, i thought the kids were really losing out.
No lie that is a majestic building, last time i passed it the front was almost runiate.. ...isnt that a bit far for u to walk....?
And shop was open on sunday ???? I guess that would have sold the gleaner... (as u are a bit younger than i my memory was the only shops that opened on sunday sold the gleaner.... and closed early 1 pm)
Mrs Pottinger was the wife of Mr Pottinger the principal of Steths ?
I disagree as to children sitting through those ponderous sermons, and that attempt speaky spokey, the reservation of front seats for prominent people...over starched clothes little boys with ties, gal picki....
i take my children to church on rare occasion, and they cater for the children. last month as they are members of the guides and the scouts they went to bless the flags and renew their vovs .. (now the scouts have taken god out of the their pledge) .. multi media displays vicar talks to them... less than an hour acknowledging the shorter attention span
Looking back mostly girls attended sunday school regularly, boys hated it only the tapanaris bwoy pickni... few of my friends ever attended with any regularity till they went through the "saved" phase....
blouse and skirt.....dat was cruety....Originally posted by Gen View Postwho could figet vacation bible school
we went couple years and then the parents realize it nah guh work out and it was back to country runnings
I can't even figure out why my madda did send us guh deh in the flipping fuss place
like seriously ???? vacation. bible. school.
Aha. There it is. You went to Sunday School because it was expectedOriginally posted by mountaingal View Post
i dunno, i can't really say that i was shaped by anything i learned in sunday school. it was just some place you went because it was expected, though a lot of the boys got away with skipping it.
Nice memory, Miss MG
it jogged mine of Summer holidays in Christiana and Sundays at Zorn Moravian Church.
Wahalla, yes it was that same Mrs Pottinger. A mild and well-meaning Sunday school teacher. I guess it must not have been fun for her either to be hanging around after all the adults gone home, minding a bunch of indifferent pickney.Originally posted by Wahalla View PostNo lie that is a majestic building, last time i passed it the front was almost runiate.. ...isnt that a bit far for u to walk....?
And shop was open on sunday ???? I guess that would have sold the gleaner... (as u are a bit younger than i my memory was the only shops that opened on sunday sold the gleaner.... and closed early 1 pm)
Mrs Pottinger was the wife of Mr Pottinger the principal of Steths ?
I disagree as to children sitting through those ponderous sermons, and that attempt speaky spokey, the reservation of front seats for prominent people...over starched clothes little boys with ties, gal picki....
i take my children to church on rare occasion, and they cater for the children. last month as they are members of the guides and the scouts they went to bless the flags and renew their vovs .. (now the scouts have taken god out of the their pledge) .. multi media displays vicar talks to them... less than an hour acknowledging the shorter attention span
Looking back mostly girls attended sunday school regularly, boys hated it only the tapanaris bwoy pickni... few of my friends ever attended with any regularity till they went through the "saved" phase....
as to kids sitting through the main service, i dont think it bothered us cuz we thought it was normal. we laughed and giggled among ourselves in the pews, we noted people who we would mock afterwards (people who would put in their false teeth for church then juggle said teeth as they tried to sing was always good for a laugh), and, as usual with anglican churches, there was nuff singing to pass the time. the worst part was always the sermon, long and boring most times, though that improved when eddie burke came to gilnoch. before him we had the canadian pastor, rev butterworth, i cant tell you a darn thing he said that i remember. his main claim to fame was his wife who got a nervous breakdown when ratbat flew into her head one time. i think i already told that story on here.
church was about the same distance from home as school was - just over two miles each way - but going to school morning and evening never exposed you to sunhot the way the travel from church did. also the road to gilnoch lacked tree cover under which to rest and shelter. the shop was the main resting spot. it did not open regularly, i think the owner was a bit of an alcoholic so i guess he opened on sunday when he didnt have much the night before and felt like relaxing on his shop paza.
st andrews gilnoch did not have the same level of class pretension as st matthews, which was the real society church and located right in Santa Cruz. my granny and great granny are buried at st matthews, my great aunt who raised me and my cousin i grew up with are buried at Gilnoch. the church a bit mash up now, yes, but i still have generation attending and being part of the mother's union. it will last as long as the surrounding communities last. only thing they replaced the wood floors on the altar with the supposed classier marble, a real disaster.