stranded
The only way he'll get back to the UK is if someone there in immigration -
* RE-reviews his case and has compassion and a sense of humanity
* he gets a damn good lawyer to file a waiver and fight for him
* if he keeps up the fight publicly and shame them in to letting him return
In practice, the UK don't really have to approve a damn thing. THEY didn't do anything wrong. It was HE who dropped the ball.
Very sad. I hope they do the right thing and let him return.

(lada massi - omuch YEARS! no mia preach seh peeps fi guh tek out dem citizenship! tiyad fi talk)
if he had legal resident status he would not need to become a citizen. he would still be able to travel back and forth.
he said he recently renewed his Jamaican passport. wonder if he knew he had no status in the UK even after all this time.
i think his wife or children might have to file for him now.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postif he had legal resident status he would not need to become a citizen. he would still be able to travel back and forth.
he said he recently renewed his Jamaican passport. wonder if he knew he had no status in the UK even after all this time.
i think his wife or children might have to file for him now.
curious why the jamaican high commission did not mention he needs a visa in his passport
and when he was leaving, did anyone look at his return ticket to see that he had the appropriate documentation to return?If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Ohhhhhh no, no, no.
The onus is on the traveler.
They don't know what a traveler's business is - all the what's why's and how comes they're traveling or if they're even coming back from where they're going to .
Originally posted by kia027 View Postcurious why the jamaican high commission did not mention he needs a visa in his passport
and when he was leaving, did anyone look at his return ticket to see that he had the appropriate documentation to return?
if you are leaving they only need to see that you have documentation to go where you are going ..they are not concerned about your return. although somebody should have told him if they saw he had a return ticketOriginally posted by kia027 View Postcurious why the jamaican high commission did not mention he needs a visa in his passport
and when he was leaving, did anyone look at his return ticket to see that he had the appropriate documentation to return?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
i dont think its that simple.
if he had no status in Uk they going to give him a hard time. he will have to go through an application process to get status.
he is going to need some kind of ministerial intervention to get him a compassionate entry visaWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Prezackly...
Far from simple to solve.

I feel it for the guy.
Really hope they do right by him.
We never seem to learn tho - so it's not the first and wont be the last.
Originally posted by RichD View Posti dont think its that simple.
if he had no status in Uk they going to give him a hard time. he will have to go through an application process to get status.
he is going to need some kind of ministerial intervention to get him a compassionate entry visa
P - where's it say he earns a pension?
Either way, I don't believe you need to be a citizen in order to earn a pension. I could be wrong but I know that to be the case here in the US.
Ur last point - that goes to my original post - something is way off here - not right. Are we sure that he was admitted as a British citizen? Is HE?! How do we know? Brah man didn't even realize that he needed to file whatsitnat ... !
Someone here will correct me but even the older peeps who gained UK Citizenship via times BEFORE independence, don't travel back INTO the UK on their Jamaica Passport. U must get a British Passport.
Originally posted by Peasie View PostBut he earns a pension in the UK
He was admitted to the UK as a British citizen.
before independence colonials were considered british citizens but once their home country got independence they had to apply to keep the british citizenship or sumtin like thatOriginally posted by Peasie View PostBut he earns a pension in the UK
He was admitted to the UK as a British citizen.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....