<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlakICE_Queen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Yuh tekk yuh meddikayshan yet or a refil yuh need?
Yuh coodnah run hout a di whole a dem suh kwik. Or cood yuh? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
Juss hawkskin. </div></div>
Is yu mi tink swallow wan hole bakkle ah medicayshun BlackIceQueen
Yuh nuh haffi any ting fi sey 'bout di topic of thread, so yuh fling yuh rockstone ah mi, mi see.
(good ting yuh nuh matta, nat to mi[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img])
Hiff yu had a ting fi'sey 'bout the thread tapic, yu wudda sey ie.
Yuh coodnah run hout a di whole a dem suh kwik. Or cood yuh? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
Juss hawkskin. </div></div>
Is yu mi tink swallow wan hole bakkle ah medicayshun BlackIceQueen
Yuh nuh haffi any ting fi sey 'bout di topic of thread, so yuh fling yuh rockstone ah mi, mi see.
(good ting yuh nuh matta, nat to mi[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img])
Hiff yu had a ting fi'sey 'bout the thread tapic, yu wudda sey ie.
den if she no matta why u a address har...u no easy...mi still wan see u dungtung eena u uniform...fi real...an u naw deal wid di thread wen u a ansa har.... kick ovah everying, slammmm di door, shat out di litebulb dem, set fyah to all poly an har cousin ester an post notice seh wata shawtage [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img]
No, blugiant is the poster child for black racist on jamaicans.com. His topics alawys focus on how the black race is made a victim by whites and always have "some sort of unsavoury connotation".
A topic like this with him being called out is to be expected.
Do you "surmise in error"? .....me thinks you surmise and dismiss blugiant's topics as a matter of your own convienence.... why not ask blu why he posts such controversial topic?.... It seems that WHITE topics have some sort of unsavoury connotation. </div></div>
wen yu aggo learn da meeninn aff racist ann y blakk peeps cyaan bee racist
didd yu see mii tredd bout y mzungu jesus racist since yu speakinn bout cantraversial tredd? cah yu ave natt cumm upp widd wan argument dat refute mzungu racism
RICHMOND, Va. — For years, Toinetta Jones played the dating game by her mom's strict rule. "Mom always told me, 'Don't you ever bring a white man home,'" recalled Jones, echoing an edict issued by many Southern, black mothers. But at 37, the Alexandria divorcee has shifted to dating "anyone who asks me out," regardless of race.
"I don't sit around dreaming about the perfect black man I'm going to marry," Jones said.
Black women around the country also are reconsidering deep-seated reservations toward interracial relationships, reservations rooted in America's history of slavery and segregation.
They're taking cues from their favorite stars — from actress Shar Jackson to tennis pro Venus Williams — as well as support blogs, how-to books and interracially themed novels telling them it's OK to "date out."
It comes as statistics suggest American black women are among the least likely to marry.
"I'm not saying that white men are the answer to all our problems," Jones said. "I'm just saying that they offer a different solution."
She reflects many black women frustrated as the field of marriageable black men narrows: They're nearly seven times more likely to be incarcerated than white men and more than twice as likely to be unemployed.
Census data showed 117,000 black wife-white husband couples in 2006, up from 95,000 in 2000.
There were just 26,000 such couples in 1960, before a Supreme Court ruling banished laws against mixed marriages.
Black female-white male romance has become a hot topic in black-geared magazines and on Web sites, even hitting the big screen in movies like last year's "Something New."
That film centers on an affluent black woman who falls for her white landscaper, a situation not unlikely as black women scale the corporate ladder, said Evia Moore, whose interracial marriage blog draws 1,000 visitors a day.
It features articles like "Could Mr. Right Be White?" and pictures of couples like white chef Wolfgang Puck and his new Ethiopian wife.
"Black women are refusing to comply with that message about just find yourself a good blue-collar man with a job, or just find a black man," Moore said.
She pointed to low rates of black men in college, a place where women of all races often meet their spouses.
Black women on campus largely are surrounded by non-black men: In 2004, 26.5 percent of black males ages 18 to 24 were enrolled in college versus 36.5 percent of black women that age, according to the American Council on Education's most recent statistics.
Even after college, Roslyn Holcomb struggled to meet professional black men.
"I wanted to get married (and) have children," she said. "If I was only meeting one guy a year, or every few years, that wasn't going to happen."
The Alabama author eventually married white.
"I think a lot of black women are realizing or feeling that the pickings are slim," she said.
They're made even slimmer, grumble many black women, by high rates of successful black men choosing blondes. For some, they argue, white wives are the ultimate status symbol.
"They don't want a dark chocolate sister laying around their swimming pool," Moore said.
Nearly three quarters of the 403,000 black-white couples in 2006 involved black husbands.
Meanwhile, psychological barriers have discouraged black women from crossing racial lines.
"Black women are socialized to stick by their men," explained Kellina Craig-Henderson, a Howard University psychology professor who studied 15 black women dating interracially.
She said modern black women agonize over breaking male-female bonds forged in slavery and strengthened through the Jim Crow era.
"It may be even more of an issue for educated black women who have a sense of the historical realities of this country, where black women often were abused at the hands of white men," Craig-Henderson said.
Jones remembered being troubled when a white man politely approached her around 1990. Her stance softened years later, after a sobering party experience.
"All the black men literally pushed (us) out the way to talk to the blondes," said Jones, who soon declared, "I'm going to date whoever."
Black men and women have openly feuded before.
At places like Atlanta's Spelman College, black women have rallied against black male rappers characterizing them as promiscuous.
But black men are voicing their own frustrations with women they feel regard them with suspicion. "They treat us all the same," said W. Randy Short, a Washington writer who dates across races. "The rapist on the TV is the same as me."
It's a frustration director Tim Alexander tackles in "Diary of a Tired Black Man," a frank film covering everything from black women's demeanors to their weight. Frustrated by black women, the main character dates a white one.
"To a certain degree, black people are sick of each other," Alexander said. "It would be better for black men and black women to open their options."
But Ayo Handy-Kendi, creator of Black Love Day, argues blacks are simply reacting to messages linking success with whiteness. She referred to a string of successful athletes with white partners, including golfer Tiger Woods.
"They normally rejected their culture and they went to the acceptable standard of success — a white woman," said Handy-Kendy, who thought it ironic high-achieving black women were mimicking the behavior.
Back in Virginia, Jones feels life is too short to ponder race when it comes to love.
As for mom, Jones figures, "she really admires the fact that I did something she may have really wanted to do, and never did."
</div></div>eediat artickle. lang thyme mzungu playting bow ann da realitee iss dat moas mzungu men neva ann still nah marry dem mzungu playtings bowkitties.
artikkle doan mekk a lick aff sense. ann mii doan feel like mekkinn sense outta nunsense
Racism is a belief or concept that inherent differences between people, in particular those upon which the concept of race is based, significantly influence cultural or individual achievement, and may involve the idea that one's self-identified race or ethnic group or others' race or ethnic group is superior.[1]
Definitions
As racism carries connotations of race-based bigotry, prejudice, violence, oppression, stereotyping or discrimination, the term has varying and often hotly contested definitions. Racialism is a related term intended to avoid these negative meanings. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, racism is a belief or ideology that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, especially to distinguish it as being either superior or inferior to another race or races. The Merriam-Webster's Webster's Dictionary dictionary defines racism as a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race, and that it is also the prejudice based on such a belief.[2] The Macquarie Dictionary defines racism thus: the belief that human races have distinctive characteristics which determine their respective cultures, usually involving the idea that one's own race is superior and has the right to rule or dominate others.
Legal definition
According to UN International Conventions, "the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life." [3] This definition does not make any difference between prosecutions based on ethnicity and race, in part because the distinction between the ethnicity and race remains debatable among anthropologists [4] According to British law, racial group means "any group of people who are defined by reference to their race, colour, nationality (including citizenship) or ethnic or national origin" [9].
Sociological Definitions
Some sociologists have defined racism as a system of group privilege. In Portraits of White Racism David Wellman (1993) has defined racism as "culturally sanctioned beliefs, which, regardless of intentions involved, defend the advantages whites have because of the subordinated position of racial minorities,” (Wellman 1993: x). Sociologists Noel Cazenave and Darlene Alvarez Maddern define racism as “...a highly organized system of 'race'-based group privilege that operates at every level of society and is held together by a sophisticated ideology of color/'race' supremacy. Racist systems include, but cannot be reduced to, racial bigotry,” (Cazenave and Maddern 1999: 42). Sociologist and former American Sociological Association president Joe R. Feagin argues that the United States can be characterized as a "total racist society" because racism is used to organize every social institution (Feagin 2000, p. 16). This stands in contrast to a definition that presumes racism to be an irrational form of bigotry that is not connected to the organization of social structure.
Definition of "Racism":
(my 1982 & 1910 versions of the Oxford English Dictionary ---
if you don't own the tomes - as I do, then you will have to go to a good library to read it for yourself; sorry, I know of no links online for the OED)
In my 1982 edition, "racism" is defined as "the theory that distinctive human characteristics and abilities are determined by ‘race’ ”.
Nota Bene: There is NO listing for "racism" in my 1910 edition of the OED. The term "racism" is later -- more modern than the 1910 edition of the OED, after the 1910 edition was published.
A "racist" is defined as "one who believes the theory that distinctive human characteristics and abilities are determined by ‘race’ ”.
There is NO better source for any English word definition than the OED. There is NOTHING within the OED definition of the words "racism" or "racist" that precludes ANY racial group (1) from the definition, or (2) from potentially being racist. The source is unimpeachable for any English word.
Therefore, it is patently untrue that "black people, or African diaspora people, or people of color, (or, for that matter - any people at all) cannot be racist".
Interestingly... I also checked Eric Partridge (another unimpeachable source).
Curiously, the only word entered in "Origins: The Encyclopedia of Words - Their Meaning, Etymology, and Uses Through History" (mine's an original edition - 1958, and signed by Mr Partridge himself) is "race", and in that entry, it merely says that the wrod "probably stems from the Latin - ratio" ... [and] means "species".
Now, certainly the words "racism" and "racist" had already fully been in use for a good amount of time before 1958!
This lack might merely mean that the definitions and etymology of the word endings of "-ism" and "-ist" are presumed to already be fully understood by anybody studying Partridge's august tome.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wen yu aggo learn da meeninn aff racist ann y blakk peeps cyaan bee racist
I know and understand the meaning of racism and racist and I also know that any person of any race can suffer from such an infliction. Since you are willing to converse with me at this time please explain why you have the obsession with the "white perpetrator" and black victim topics or just anti-white topics in general.
But had it been me starting this topic, I'd've called out the rest of the Blakk Tribeee as well as blugiant; Why single only blu out? Mek him compatriot dem seh kep him campany.
It just seems that his topics are most blatant and in your face.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Code:</div><div class="ubbcode-body ubbcode-pre" style="height: 34px;"><pre>ana wan 'pology fi dem deh who dislike mi use of Patois, cawse mi nat even wan likkle bit sarry -- an mi nuh gwaan 'pologize f'eet, eeder. Cho! )
</pre></div></div>
I appreciate your honesty and your use of patois. I can understand most conversations but, some things or words throw me off. I enjoy the challenge. I try to read as much as I can so I can understand. I do try and understand patois as I do try and understand why people think in terms of color. The harder things in life are most satisfying once you have them figured.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">an mi tink u a try tink wen it is obvious dat tinking is not fi u...it is obvious dat i dont view his topics as controversial....and since mi is not in dat view, does that make me one of the 'black racists' on this board...and if u hold that we r black racists, can we hold the inverse for u given ur apparent take language is a wonderful thing i keep on saying....isnt it though </div></div>
Oh, I see. No one else is allowed to think unless it meets certain criteria?..... No, did I say or mention your name? Why you feeling so pregnant?....Yes, language is wonderful, what is not so wonderful is some peoples interpretation of such language.
(DWL)I do appreciate you putting up with me and not taking all this to serious....the only way to understand each other is to keep asking the hard questions.....It may not make such sense to most but I truly mean no harm.
Racism is a belief or concept that inherent differences between people, in particular those upon which the concept of race is based, significantly influence cultural or individual achievement, and may involve the idea that one's self-identified race or ethnic group or others' race or ethnic group is superior.[1]
Definitions
As racism carries connotations of race-based bigotry, prejudice, violence, oppression, stereotyping or discrimination, the term has varying and often hotly contested definitions. Racialism is a related term intended to avoid these negative meanings. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, racism is a belief or ideology that all members of each race possess characteristics or abilities specific to that race, especially to distinguish it as being either superior or inferior to another race or races. The Merriam-Webster's Webster's Dictionary dictionary defines racism as a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race, and that it is also the prejudice based on such a belief.[2] The Macquarie Dictionary defines racism thus: the belief that human races have distinctive characteristics which determine their respective cultures, usually involving the idea that one's own race is superior and has the right to rule or dominate others.
Legal definition
According to UN International Conventions, "the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life." [3] This definition does not make any difference between prosecutions based on ethnicity and race, in part because the distinction between the ethnicity and race remains debatable among anthropologists [4] According to British law, racial group means "any group of people who are defined by reference to their race, colour, nationality (including citizenship) or ethnic or national origin" [9].
Sociological Definitions
Some sociologists have defined racism as a system of group privilege. In Portraits of White Racism David Wellman (1993) has defined racism as "culturally sanctioned beliefs, which, regardless of intentions involved, defend the advantages whites have because of the subordinated position of racial minorities,” (Wellman 1993: x). Sociologists Noel Cazenave and Darlene Alvarez Maddern define racism as “...a highly organized system of 'race'-based group privilege that operates at every level of society and is held together by a sophisticated ideology of color/'race' supremacy. Racist systems include, but cannot be reduced to, racial bigotry,” (Cazenave and Maddern 1999: 42). Sociologist and former American Sociological Association president Joe R. Feagin argues that the United States can be characterized as a "total racist society" because racism is used to organize every social institution (Feagin 2000, p. 16). This stands in contrast to a definition that presumes racism to be an irrational form of bigotry that is not connected to the organization of social structure.
Definition of "Racism":
(my 1982 & 1910 versions of the Oxford English Dictionary ---
if you don't own the tomes - as I do, then you will have to go to a good library to read it for yourself; sorry, I know of no links online for the OED)
In my 1982 edition, "racism" is defined as "the theory that distinctive human characteristics and abilities are determined by ‘race’ ”.
Nota Bene: There is NO listing for "racism" in my 1910 edition of the OED. The term "racism" is later -- more modern than the 1910 edition of the OED, after the 1910 edition was published.
A "racist" is defined as "one who believes the theory that distinctive human characteristics and abilities are determined by ‘race’ ”.
There is NO better source for any English word definition than the OED. There is NOTHING within the OED definition of the words "racism" or "racist" that precludes ANY racial group (1) from the definition, or (2) from potentially being racist. The source is unimpeachable for any English word.
Therefore, it is patently untrue that "black people, or African diaspora people, or people of color, (or, for that matter - any people at all) cannot be racist".
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">an mi tink u a try tink wen it is obvious dat tinking is not fi u...it is obvious dat i dont view his topics as controversial....and since mi is not in dat view, does that make me one of the 'black racists' on this board...and if u hold that we r black racists, can we hold the inverse for u given ur apparent take language is a wonderful thing i keep on saying....isnt it though </div></div>
Oh, I see. No one else is allowed to think unless it meets certain criteria?..... No, did I say or mention your name? Why you feeling so pregnant?....Yes, language is wonderful, what is not so wonderful is some peoples interpretation of such language.
(DWL)I do appreciate you putting up with me and not taking all this to serious....the only way to understand each other is to keep asking the hard questions.....It may not make such sense to most but I truly mean no harm. </div></div>
mi neva seh dat ...mi seh u a try tink an it not working out fi u...in odda words, u need fi try someting else...
no u neva mention mi name, but as i laid it out, seeing dat i agree wid etc etc, am i therefore included in di etc etc...and if i am included by virtue of etc etc. can i ascribe di said logic in evaluating ur bend...
an yes we on full agreement on people not understanding language...as to di who of the understanding, wellll now....
wat else...di asking di hard question bit, wellllllllll, so do we blacks wid our black topics which brought this all about an we say we mean no harm too..and despite dat the ray ray comes up everytimd...
the rest i will take wid a grain of salt an I is a Ras an u done know wi view bout salt [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/proud_jamaica.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Interestingly... I also checked Eric Partridge (another unimpeachable source).
Curiously, the only word entered in "Origins: The Encyclopedia of Words - Their Meaning, Etymology, and Uses Through History" (mine's an original edition - 1958, and signed by Mr Partridge himself) is "race", and in that entry, it merely says that the wrod "probably stems from the Latin - ratio" ... [and] means "species".
Now, certainly the words "racism" and "racist" had already fully been in use for a good amount of time before 1958!
This lack might merely mean that the definitions and etymology of the word endings of "-ism" and "-ist" are presumed to already be fully understood by anybody studying Partridge's august tome.
unimpeachable mzungu source yu seyy. mzungu knoo dat africa aa da troo source butt etymology chatt bout da mzungu source aff da wurd
witchee yu truly beeleeve wiki ann eric partrige ar unimpeachable sources. witch wan aff da partridge brothers dat mii doan memba watt tune imm sang
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wen yu aggo learn da meeninn aff racist ann y blakk peeps cyaan bee racist
I know and understand the meaning of racism and racist and I also know that any person of any race can suffer from such an infliction. Since you are willing to converse with me at this time please explain why you have the obsession with the "white perpetrator" and black victim topics or just anti-white topics in general. </div></div>
lonwolf mii doan ave noobaddee pon yah pon ignore. still mii gitt da criticism dat mii doan reed ann participate inn awl da tredd. dat too thyme cansuminn even fii mii
fii sey anneebadee caan suffa fram such afflickkshan shoo dat yu beeleevee dat blakk ave da same amount aff powa as mzungu ann mii knoo even yu natt dat deluded.
soo y mii absess widd tapikk like jenna six ann genarlow wilson. jenna six mzungu tryinn fii lynch blakk yuths wey sitt unda mzungu tree. genarlow wilson mzungu girl give blakk yuth brain ann dem triinn fii give imm ten ears inn jail fii wat dat mzungu gurl didd too imm. now wen a mzungu ask mii y doo soo manee tredd bout racist injustice [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img]
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.