before Boarding school i cant remember the time frame i jus know we used to late for school almost every day.
it was get up get read go wait int he car for my Father who had to go see bout his garden ..and do all kinda odda tings before we left home. finally one morning teacher start lock mi outta to classroom for coming late after that we used to get up early and go on the road go catch a ride wid somebody who we know used to pass early.
Saturday was freeness day. if we were ready we could get a ride to mandeville wid my father who used to go work aroudn 9 on saturdays. sunday we used to late for church but mi nuh remember what time that was.
at boarding school it was i think the first bell rang at about 6 then bell at 6:30 breakfast bell at 7 chapel bell at 7:45 first class at 8:05
cant remember what time we had to get up on weekends..but sunday chapel was at 8 i think.
eedah daddy or mommy would drop us at school, sometime dem tek one cyar sometime 2 cyar
sometime dem leff wi \0/ if dem going work early, and we had to bum ride wid next door neighbor.
after school, we would mostly get picked up, unless one a wi (or both had extra lessons) or in my case piano lessons
satdeh mawning madda bawl after us to get up early (just because) kmdt
sunday mawnig it was church, bredda and I had to leave out guh ketch taxi to guh to sunday school, and wait till parents get to church, and then we had to stay at big people church and then guh home wid dem
suh other than additional outings/extra curricular activites, it was church, school and home.
weekdays - wake up 6A get ready and breakfast must be done by the time calypso corner started (6:55AM), get ride to school. Get picked up and home for tidying up, studying, dinner and more study.
Weekends up by 7AM , do chores den mi used fi climb the breadfruit tree wid a book
Church on Sundays but we walked
boarding school - dang bell rang at 6A, ready by 6:45A, march down to breakfast, have to carry umbrella & raincoat if there was 1 cloud in the sky. After school, we had free time fi extra activities, had to be ready for study hall by 4P. Study hall 4-5P, dinner 5-6, free time 6-7; study hall 7-9P.. 4th form and up study hall till 10PM-- boarding school church on Sundays and early during the week on the holy days
School mornings:
6 AM wake up. Dress, eat breakfast, etc.
6:45 Mommy driving out the gate. If you miss her, you have to wait for Daddy to take you to school when he gets up at 9:00
7:30 Reach school
School evenings:
4:30 Meet mother at father's work place in Cross Roads.
5:30 Reach home.
Home work, eat dinner, bathe, study, likkle TV, get all clothes and school bag ready for next morning - lay out on chair or hanger. In bed by 9:00.
Some days I would take the bus after school to hockey practice/game up at Mona or to extra lessons. Daddy would pick up and take us home.
Saturday - chores OR drive to country or beach or general drive out.
What time did you have to get up in the mornings to go to school? How did you get to school? What about weekends?
My youth in Jamaica was structured around school, home, and church ... in that order
at 11 i went to high school,,,,,
I got woken at 0530......eat breakfast.... Start walking at 600.....walk to the bus spot got to be there by 715......got to school at 745..........Bus left school at 530....got to bus spot at 1800 walk the 5.5 miles got home at 745 or so.. .if i missed that bus walked the whole distance..(if the school bus was needed for other activities, atheltics, foot ball, quiz, the walk was an extra mile and half).... if light would go sort out the live stock..but there were few days in summer this happened..i never studied much till 5th year.....the thing was as i walked i read a book,,,,yeah dem did call mi mad....
Weekend / holidays was song of the banana man styleeeeee... ploughing and weeding digging and planting... looking after live stock...and collecting fire wood..fipulling coffee shelling piemento carry water pan mi head fi water mi sucka dem......House work... polish floor wid deh half coconut.....i learnt to sew...my fuss owna groun....was fus year af high school.......was red peas and callaloo.... and gungu as camoflauge for the real cash crop,,,As i am well built after about 13 i could labour so i would do day work in the holiday... never did get any of the govermnt christmas wuk doah..... just saw that still ah gwane,,,,
I was thinking on this today as i noted that the distance from where i live to the next town over was 5 miles...and i noted the yellow lights in the distance as i recalled my envy of those with electricity.....
never did the church bizniss...apart from the occasional rooster sacrifice fi deh zimmis dem....
bout 6am fighting an kicking, caa mi waa sleep! Walked to di bus stop, den tek two cross-town busses. It could bi only one, if mi waa walk di long distance tuh whe di second wan run, or if mi jus miss di fus wan. Same ting ah evening, but mi enjoy dat more caa mi usuallhy wid mi friends ah walk, sometimes wi jus walk di whole distance ah chat, an save di money, or use it fi stop ah shap fi buy snacks. Wi goh ah church ALL day, sometimes three or four times! Das why as soon as mi got tuh ah certain age an could mek mi own decisions mi neva went fi ah long, long, long time. Ah guess yuh could sey mi was burned out, or had ah church overdose.
Oh mi figet Satidey, dat ha mostly yaad wuk an help cleaning inside di house, maybi ah movie com evening if mi kept outa trouble. Mi was always ah night person, soh mi was up listening tuh mi uncle an di neighbours inna di yaas tell ghost, an big people stories.
My dad would get us ready, take us to the babysitter and then he would go to University. My Mom would pick us up.
Later we had a babysitter who came to the house. My Mom would comb and braid our hair every day and get us ready for her. No laying about for us. The babysitter was from a rich Jewish family from Austria that lost everything in the war. Played classical music for us, took us to art galleries, parks, and on long walks. She came to my wedding. We remained friends until she died.
Once school started:
We were close enough to walk. My Mom comb and braid our hair every day and she would get us breakfast until we were old enough to get it for ourselves. Then we would walk to school.
Ah can understand why yuh noh memba ah ting, caa yuh was alway dyam late.
wi did late for everyting...until i was well into my teens i never si the church part of a wedding because we always miss it.
wi reach funeral jus in time to go a grave yard.
my father always had sumtin going on ...as we a walk out somebody cal him ..or him have one stop to make to see a patient or a quick stop at the hospital
wi did late for everyting...until i was well into my teens i never si the church part of a wedding because we always miss it.
wi reach funeral jus in time to go a grave yard.
my father always had sumtin going on ...as we a walk out somebody cal him ..or him have one stop to make to see a patient or a quick stop at the hospital
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.